PDA

View Full Version : Frame rate and SLI problems


Pages : [1] 2 3

Garulfo
03-22-06, 04:10 PM
I use nHance for the profiles. I have the latest 84.25 drivers. My configuration is as follow :

4800+ AMD 64
Asus Deluxe a8n SLI
2GB Kingston RAM (2x1GB 3-2-3)
Two 7800 GTX 512MB in SLI

I play the game in 1200x1024 resolution, Large textures and draw distances for trees on high, and the rest on medium or low. I use HDR on. Vsync on or off doesn't show any difference. Distant rendering are all checked.

Here is the frame rate I get in Single mode and AFR mode... :


Frames Time (ms) Min Max Avg
1)Single Mode 1445 25000 49 64 57.8

2)AFR mode 1362 25000 46 65 56.48


I did that doign the exact same path just outside of the first sewers. I just don't get it.

I enabled the show GPU balancing to make sure both GPU is being used, and I get the two white vertical bars to the left of the screen... So, my framerate is fine, but the SLI jsut seems to make no difference at all...

Any idea why? Is there anything I should know about profiles to make sure the SLI adds to the performence? Anyone? Anything? Puhleaase?

DansFace
03-22-06, 05:10 PM
I think I'm having the same sort of problem with my 7800GT SLI.. i was getting maybe 15 fps in spots at night with NO HDR, AA, and bloom...

Epyx
03-22-06, 05:11 PM
Hmm it is working for me. Tried Single GPU and was getting about 32fps in one spot...switched to Sli multi gpu and went up to 47fps...so not great but definately working.

Are you using Global Settings/Driver and manually selecting AFR? Have you tried the Oblivion profile in the driver?

pibrahim
03-22-06, 05:28 PM
Same probs with me, SLI doesn't seem to make much difference.

Also odd is that I'm running in 1920x1200; if I drop down to 1280x1024 then there's very little difference in the framerate. Dunno how the heck that works!

jAkUp
03-22-06, 05:31 PM
Yea, performance isn't too hot here either.

And I can't try those new drivers because of no x64 support!! :(

pibrahim
03-22-06, 05:44 PM
Lots of people struggling with framerate here - http://www.elderscrolls.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=279427

Something definitely seems amiss. People with high-end rigs getting absolutely awful framerates...

Epyx
03-22-06, 05:48 PM
Again check your settings as mine is working fine. You might have missed something minor.

pibrahim
03-22-06, 05:54 PM
In Oblivion:
-Everything set to max. HDR on, AA off.

In Coolbits:
-SLI set to AFR (with load balancing on just to confirm SLI is working).
-AF forced at 16x.
-VSync off.
-All optimizations off.

If I lower the res, very little change. If I turn off the AF, there's some improvement but not a drastic one.

I generally get between 20-40ps. However, I'm sure I shouldn't be hanging around near 20fps (occasionally below) with 7900GTXs.

Epyx
03-22-06, 06:42 PM
You are right you shouldn't be hanging that low. Have you tried selecting the Oblivion profile SLI driver that is included in the 84.20+ driver?

Try it and let us know with the same test you did.

Garulfo
03-22-06, 07:02 PM
What do you mean by "selecting the oblivion profile"?

I mean the profile is there in both Nvidia' s control center and nHancer.

I thought profiles were used when the oblivion.exe is launched, automatically. I didn't know you had to "select" it.

If by select you mean making sure it is set on AFR, then yes it is.

killahsin
03-22-06, 07:15 PM
he means pick out the profile out of the list, i.e. oblivion.exe in the nvidia profiles section of the control panel.

pibrahim
03-22-06, 07:35 PM
I could be wrong, but I think the only thing the default Oblivion profile forces is AFR. Everything else is left as it is... Can't check now as I deleted it to replace it with my own, but I'm pretty certain AFR was the only thing it forced and I've enabled that anyway in my own profile :-/

Epyx
03-22-06, 08:29 PM
Hey just trying to help you out because I have an Nvidia SLI setup as well and while the frame rates aren't as stellar as I had hoped I do get a performance boost when I compare single vs multi...

Strange that you don't so just trying to think of little things that might make a difference. Other than that Im not sure :( /shrug

Garulfo
03-22-06, 08:39 PM
I am grateful for your help Epyx, jsut didn't understand what you meant by "selecting" the profile.

Could anyone please post a screenshot of what an AFR config with "Show GPU LOAD" enabled looks like?

I do see white lines When I play the game there is a green column between the 2 lines that gets bigger and smaller. But that is one green columns. Not two.

So I do see 2 white lines. But... Well. It's weird. If anyone uses AFR, a screenshot would dissipate doubts for sure.

Garulfo
03-22-06, 08:46 PM
More confusion....

On this page http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/msi_geforce_nx7800gtx_sli/page_4.shtml they talk about the Horizontal line not moving in AFR. I do not get a horizontal line in AFR. I get in in SFR and it moves around like crazy, but in AFR I only get the vertical green bar.

You can see both bars in this screenshot:
http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/msi_geforce_nx7800gtx_sli/images/load_balancing_afr_s.jpg

christos
03-22-06, 09:11 PM
AFR = one green bar on left.
SFR = line across the screen.

I have 7800gt sli'd and found the only setting which made a difference is AFR. SFR and AFR2 both did nothing for me.

To change the setting to a specific mode you may need to run the coolbits registry tweak to enable the advanced settings. From there you can modify the existing oblivion profile then 'save as' and apply.

I went from averaging 20-30's outdoor to 30's-50's at 1920 x 1200, most everything on max.

OWA
03-22-06, 09:36 PM
Below are some results I made earlier tonight in case you're interested. I definitely don't understand your results unless you're testing in an area that is CPU limited. In that case, the overhead of SLI might make your single GPU score higher than your SLI score.

With both CPUs running at stock (2.4ghz), 1920x1200, HDR on, 16xAF forced on, optimizations disabled

2006-03-22 20:00:10 - Oblivion (7800 GTX 512 SLI forceware 84.25)
Frames: 2947 - Time: 64699ms - Avg: 45.549 - Min: 23 - Max: 71

2006-03-22 20:03:06 - Oblivion (7800 GTX 512 forceware 84.25)
Frames: 1814 - Time: 65616ms - Avg: 27.646 - Min: 13 - Max: 43

2006-03-22 20:25:00 - Oblivion (X1900 XTX Cat 6.3s)
Frames: 1866 - Time: 64704ms - Avg: 28.839 - Min: 15 - Max: 44

-----------------------------
optimizations on, hmm, I forgot to do SLI with opts on, I'll do that shortly

2006-03-22 21:19:41 - Oblivion (X1900XTX)
Frames: 2363 - Time: 66378ms - Avg: 35.599 - Min: 24 - Max: 49

2006-03-22 21:24:32 - Oblivion (Single 7800 GTX 512)
Frames: 2160 - Time: 65093ms - Avg: 33.183 - Min: 18 - Max: 48

Edit: Quality results for SLI:

2006-03-22 23:21:24 - Oblivion
Frames: 3480 - Time: 64826ms - Avg: 53.682 - Min: 28 - Max: 76

pibrahim
03-22-06, 10:09 PM
Epyx, your attempts to help are definitely appreciated.

I'm just a bit fed up that I have to tinker so much with what is an expensive rig in order to get decent performance... should've bought the 360 version instead, methinks. Oh well, back to playing around in Coolbits... :D

OWA
03-22-06, 10:30 PM
Epyx, your attempts to help are definitely appreciated.

I'm just a bit fed up that I have to tinker so much with what is an expensive rig in order to get decent performance... should've bought the 360 version instead, methinks. Oh well, back to playing around in Coolbits... :D
You shouldn't have to though since the profile was already there. Have you tried checking other areas and not always the same place?

Also, I don't see a huge difference when changing resolutions if I'm testing in an area that is a min even though I'm lowering the res, turning off HDR or AA or whatever. I'm not sure if that says I'm cpu limited there or what but maybe something like that is going on (if you're testing in an area like that).

Epyx
03-22-06, 11:11 PM
Hey no worries. I'm on your side on this. I know how frustrating it can be when a game isn't performing properly. Im also interested because you have a similiar family of hardware.

The oblivion profile I was referring to was the one in the pull down menu in your performance and quality settings. Where it says Active Profile -> Global Driver Settings you can select Oblivion on this list. However, as you stated your manual settings to the default profile should be working.

Let me ask you this. Have you checked framerate inside the city for example where terrain isn't randomized on each reload? IE face a highly detailed wall and see your framerate first with you manually disabling SLI mode...then again with you enabling it. In other words move your test indoors just to take the randomization out of the equation.

If this makes no difference I would uninstall the current Nvidia driver delete the Nvidia install folder from your root drive. Then re-install and don't touch anything on your driver settings...no coolbits, no rivatuner etc. Then compare SLI enabled vs disabled again in the city.

Really it has to be some kind of driver hiccup...perhaps the installer of either nvidia (not as likely given other games prolly work fine) or Oblivion (more likely)...so the other option would be to uninstall Oblivion..manually delete the install folder and re-install.

NoDamage
03-22-06, 11:47 PM
2006-03-22 20:03:06 - Oblivion (7800 GTX 512 forceware 84.25)
Frames: 1814 - Time: 65616ms - Avg: 27.646 - Min: 13 - Max: 43

2006-03-22 20:25:00 - Oblivion (X1900 XTX Cat 6.3s)
Frames: 1866 - Time: 64704ms - Avg: 28.839 - Min: 15 - Max: 44

-----------------------------
optimizations on, hmm, I forgot to do SLI with opts on, I'll do that shortly

2006-03-22 21:19:41 - Oblivion (X1900XTX)
Frames: 2363 - Time: 66378ms - Avg: 35.599 - Min: 24 - Max: 49

2006-03-22 21:24:32 - Oblivion (Single 7800 GTX 512)
Frames: 2160 - Time: 65093ms - Avg: 33.183 - Min: 18 - Max: 48Hmm, I do find it kind of strange that the single 7800GTX512 is keeping up with the X1900XTX while others are reporting that the X1900XTX is reasonably outperforming the 7900GTX. I wonder if there is something wrong with the 7900 series, given how many people are having issues with it (in both SLI and single card mode).

OWA
03-23-06, 12:00 AM
Hmm, I do find it kind of strange that the single 7800GTX512 is keeping up with the X1900XTX while others are reporting that the X1900XTX is reasonably outperforming the 7900GTX. I wonder if there is something wrong with the 7900 series, given how many people are having issues with it (in both SLI and single card mode).
Maybe settings differences could be causing some of it, like Nvidia users running in HQ mode while ATI users are running with Cat AI enabled, for example, or maybe things change in other areas of the game. The framerate really flucuates a lot so it's really hard to figure out how it's running. One guy here didn't think his SLI rig was working very well b/c he had seen my results and his were much lower but after trying the same sort of path I took to get my results, his results matched up well. So, I think a lot of that sort of thing might be going on as well.

NoDamage
03-23-06, 12:23 AM
I just came across this (http://www.elderscrolls.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=282064) in the Elder Scroll forums. Apparently using CoolBits and changing "Max frames to render ahead" in the Advanced Direct3D options from 3 to 0 is giving people a good performance boost. There's another potential solution to add to the list.

Garulfo
03-23-06, 11:50 AM
Hey no worries. I'm on your side on this. I know how frustrating it can be when a game isn't performing properly. Im also interested because you have a similiar family of hardware.

The oblivion profile I was referring to was the one in the pull down menu in your performance and quality settings. Where it says Active Profile -> Global Driver Settings you can select Oblivion on this list. However, as you stated your manual settings to the default profile should be working.

Let me ask you this. Have you checked framerate inside the city for example where terrain isn't randomized on each reload? IE face a highly detailed wall and see your framerate first with you manually disabling SLI mode...then again with you enabling it. In other words move your test indoors just to take the randomization out of the equation.

If this makes no difference I would uninstall the current Nvidia driver delete the Nvidia install folder from your root drive. Then re-install and don't touch anything on your driver settings...no coolbits, no rivatuner etc. Then compare SLI enabled vs disabled again in the city.

Really it has to be some kind of driver hiccup...perhaps the installer of either nvidia (not as likely given other games prolly work fine) or Oblivion (more likely)...so the other option would be to uninstall Oblivion..manually delete the install folder and re-install.

I did not try that. I will try shortly and post my results.

To change the setting to a specific mode you may need to run the coolbits registry tweak to enable the advanced settings. From there you can modify the existing oblivion profile then 'save as' and apply.

Is nHancer the same as coolbits? I have not seen a "save as" and "apply" option in nHancer which kinda confuses me. I never know if the new settings I try are working. For example when forcing AF from 0 to 16x I only notice a 3FPS average loss. With no AF optimizatio. I would think it should be much more...

I guess I will try coolbits and see.

Thanks again for the help. I will post results for these new tests this afternoon.

Garulfo
03-23-06, 01:36 PM
Ok here are screenshots on me standing up close to a wall in a house somewhere. 4 screenshots total with different SLI settings:



SLI ON - Coolbits NOT installed - Using Official/default Nvidia's Oblivion
http://www.picfury.com/2/SLI%20On%20%20coolbits%20%20AFR%20on-1.html
FPS:215

SLI OFF - Coolbits NOT installed - Using Official/default Nvidia's Oblivion
http://www.picfury.com/2/SLI%20Off%20%20coolbits%20%20%20AFR%20on-1.html
FPS:246

SLI ON - Coolbits NOT installed - Using Official/default Nvidia's Oblivion http://www.picfury.com/2/SLI%20on%20%20no%20coolbits-1.html
FPS:221

SLI OFF - Coolbits NOT installed - Using Official/default Nvidia's Oblivion profile
http://www.picfury.com/2/SLI%20disabled%20%20no%20coolbits-1.html
FPS:241

As you can see I seem to actually lose FPS, and quite a bit, by turning SLI on. The FPS are all very high (200) but keep in mind that 1)I am standing in front of a wall, and 2)My FPS is always ok, I jsut would like to make my freakin SLI work. Even if it is jsut al ittle bit. I gotta justify the $700 expense somehow...

I also benchmarked with Fraps while running around in the building I was in, always on the same path, for 25 seconds. I got an Avg of 81FPS SLI OFF, and I got 79FPS SLI ON. So very close overall. But still a bit lower, or equal.

I am desperate here. Why would SLI reduce my FPS. An average of 5 to 10 extra FPS with SLI on, and I will die a happy man...