PDA

View Full Version : So what Res/AA/AF settings are you playing @ ?


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

SH64
03-24-06, 12:27 AM
I noticed that changing res/aa/af dosent affect the performance that much esp outdoors .. it seems more like CPU/GPU limited in some way.
anyway i settled with 1280x1024 for the res & 4xAA/16xAF,Bloom or HDR,16xAF.
i didnt decide yet which to stick with .. HDR is good looking on some places & overdone in others while 4xAA & bloom looks good overall.

so what about you ?

SH64
03-24-06, 04:38 AM
1920x1200, 8x AF, ingame maxed out without self shadows, HDR.

There is self shadows ? hmm didnt know about that. whats the command for that ?

j0j081
03-24-06, 05:26 AM
I only have a moderate card by this week's standards so I play at 1280X1024 with 2 or 4 AA and 8 AF.

agentkay
03-24-06, 05:37 AM
There is self shadows ? hmm didnt know about that. whats the command for that ?

Itīs an ingame setting. If it isnīt called "self shadows", its most likely called "face shadows". Sorry, I donīt know for sure because I donīt have the game yet. :(

jAkUp
03-24-06, 05:42 AM
1600x1200 4xAF HDR on

mustrum
03-24-06, 06:06 AM
1600x1200 HDR + 8x HQ AF. Doesn't go lower then 30 FPS outside. Usually hovers around 45.
Using Grass density: 120

Blacklash
03-24-06, 06:19 AM
Well when I get it today :p I am going to try 1600x with 4xAA and 8xHQ AF and 1600x with 8x-16xAF with HDR. In some games using 16xAF with HQ AF gives very small returns as opposed to just sticking with 8x HQ AF.

I refuse to game under 1600x and will adjust accordingly.

SH64
03-24-06, 06:31 AM
Well when I get it today :p I am going to try 1600x with 4xAA and 8xHQ AF and 1600x with 8x-16xAF with HDR. In some games using 16xAF with HQ AF gives very small returns as opposed to just sticking with 8x HQ AF.

I refuse to game under 1600x and will adjust accordingly.

Thats right , but in this specific game AF is very important!! thats why i use the best filtering possible.(Nvidia 16xAF-HQ)

JamesDax
03-24-06, 06:31 AM
800x600 c/ 2x AA/4x AF and bloom on. My 6200 dosn't do HDR. :(

I'm still experimenting with trying to come up with the best balance of performance/eye-candy for my rig. If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. My rig is in my sig.

Mr_LoL
03-24-06, 06:43 AM
640 * 480 everything set to low. It still crawls. I think i will wait till next week when i get a 7900gt to play this properly.

jAkUp
03-24-06, 06:47 AM
800x600 c/ 2x AA/4x AF and bloom on. My 6200 dosn't do HDR. :(

I'm still experimenting with trying to come up with the best balance of performance/eye-candy for my rig. If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. My rig is in my sig.

Have you tried 2xAF? I noticed that AF seems to be a performance killer in this game.

|MaguS|
03-24-06, 07:16 AM
1280x1024 with all ingame graphics set to max and some graphics improving tweaks... thats all, no AF or AA. I set AF to 8x and didn't notice too much of an improvement worth the performance hit.

BioHazZarD
03-24-06, 08:24 AM
1280x1024 and HDR enabled but it lags like crap.

lapino
03-24-06, 08:29 AM
1280x800, 8xAF, distance max, all other sliders at medium; medium textures. still only getting about 20 - 40fps outdoors, very inconsistent. shouldn't be this way on my pc!! (AMD X2 3800+ / 7800GTX / 2gig ram / onboard audio)

ElderDruid
03-24-06, 08:31 AM
1280x1024 w/ HDR, 8x AF, max distance, large textures, most settings maxed, numgrids tweak, grass tweak, CP tweak.

20-30FPS outdoors

Tygerwoody
03-24-06, 08:38 AM
1600x1200
HDR on
4af

I haven't installed Fraps, but I have 0 lag. Runs smooth :cool:

pibrahim
03-24-06, 08:49 AM
1920x1200
All in-game settings at max (bar self-shadowing which looks awful)
HDR
16x AF

Average around 30-40FPS outside (drops if there's tons of grass), much higher in the cities.

OWA
03-24-06, 08:59 AM
I noticed that changing res/aa/af dosent affect the performance that much esp outdoors .. it seems more like CPU/GPU limited in some way.
so what about you ?

Thankyou! I thought maybe I was alone in that but in a lot of the areas (especially low framerate areas), none of the settings (res, AA, HDR) really affect my performance so I thought I was CPU limited. Because of that, I've been working on the framerate at 1920x1200 trying to get it as smooth as possible in the more normal framerate areas. My reasoning was, if it was still going to hit those same mins no matter what, why bother lowering the settings if I could get my desired settings working acceptably in the more normal framerate areas. So, I'm still trying to use 1920x1200 with 16xAF and HDR trying to see if I can make that work out. Also, in the low framerate area I was checking, one thing I didn't test though was the AF. Later, doing some other comparisons I saw that turning AF to app control basically increased the framerate by 10fps so I need to see if that occurs in the low framerate area I've been checking.

Check the tweak thread also. The INI has a bunch of settings that can be changed although so far, only a few of them seem to helpful.

Soon, I hope to actually start playing the game for real. :) So far, I've just been tweaking, comparing and trying to learn how to play the game.

ElderDruid
03-24-06, 09:02 AM
I am using 8x AF through the nVidia profile for oblivion.exe.

So I should be letting the game do this somehow? Is it something in the ini?

Thanks.

Marvel_us
03-24-06, 09:07 AM
Max everything, self shadows off. 1600x1200, HDR + 8AF, a couple ini tweaks.

EDIT: Fixed Typo

CaptNKILL
03-24-06, 09:14 AM
1280x960, 8xAF (Quality), self shadows off (look like poo :p), HDR, all settings maxed. A few minor tweaks to the ini. Runs good :)

Blacklash
03-24-06, 09:20 AM
Thats right , but in this specific game AF is very important!! thats why i use the best filtering possible.(Nvidia 16xAF-HQ)

If you believe that to be the best available:

http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/4594/opt16x8dm.png

I guess you have never seen this:

http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/3632/atihq16x6cy.png

SH64
03-24-06, 09:23 AM
Check the tweak thread also. The INI has a bunch of settings that can be changed although so far, only a few of them seem to helpful.

Soon, I hope to actually start playing the game for real. :) So far, I've just been tweaking, comparing and trying to learn how to play the game.

Yep i did some tweaks like the water reclections , HUD tweak & shadows on grass.

just like you i didnt play for real yet hehe .. i wanna play ASAP & stop wasting my time tweaking :/

pibrahim
03-24-06, 09:25 AM
Thankyou! I thought maybe I was alone in that but in a lot of the areas (especially low framerate areas), none of the settings (res, AA, HDR) really affect my performance so I thought I was CPU limited. Because of that, I've been working on the framerate at 1920x1200 trying to get it as smooth as possible in the more normal framerate areas. My reasoning was, if it was still going to hit those same mins no matter what, why bother lowering the settings if I could get my desired settings working acceptably in the more normal framerate areas. So, I'm still trying to use 1920x1200 with 16xAF and HDR trying to see if I can make that work out. Also, in the low framerate area I was checking, one thing I didn't test though was the AF. Later, doing some other comparisons I saw that turning AF to app control basically increased the framerate by 10fps so I need to see if that occurs in the low framerate area I've been checking.

Check the tweak thread also. The INI has a bunch of settings that can be changed although so far, only a few of them seem to helpful.

Soon, I hope to actually start playing the game for real. :) So far, I've just been tweaking, comparing and trying to learn how to play the game.

I use 1920x1200. I tested with 1024x768 - only about 5FPS more. Very odd indeed...

SH64
03-24-06, 09:29 AM
If you believe that to be the best available:



I guess you have never seen this:


Is the lower one ATi's ?? anyway i'm running this game on nVIDIA rig since its running with no probs unlike my X1900 rig which offers no AF for me with the new 6.3 cats & some other glitches.

performance is about the same on my 7800GTX SLI & X1900XTX rigs FYI so i'll stick with nvidia on this one.