PDA

View Full Version : XFX 7900GTX problem with BF2 !


Super KW
03-24-06, 01:55 PM
Just install it with driver 84.25
check the black lines in pictures

Smokey
03-24-06, 02:22 PM
I think that the gpu core maybe getting too hot, try lowering the core speed, even if this means underclocking it, just to see if it is indeed that. If it isnt that, then try the samething with the memory, Im pretty sure its on the core though that causes that effect.

Super KW
03-24-06, 03:00 PM
GPU temp is 55 load

shabby
03-24-06, 03:05 PM
Temp doesnt matter, lower the core/mem to see if it helps, otherwise try different drivers.

Super KW
03-24-06, 03:41 PM
i lowerd the core and mem now its work fine :)
but is that xfx issue or do you think nvidia will came with new driver

einstein_314
03-24-06, 03:59 PM
I don't think it could be a driver issue could it? I mean, if you have to lower the clock speed just to get it to work correctly, that is XFX's problem. Were you running the card at it's default clock speeds? Or were you already over clocked? I just can't see how a driver update could change how the card overclocks...

shabby
03-24-06, 04:57 PM
How much did you have to lower the core/mem?
I would get in contact with xfx and see if they can replace the card.

Super KW
03-24-06, 05:53 PM
default clock was 675/1700
now 650/1600 work fine

Dazz
03-24-06, 05:55 PM
That sort of issue is a core clock, snow will be memory.

Crazy Chuckster
03-24-06, 07:38 PM
Look familiar?

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/6742/screen0036co.th.jpg (http://img124.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screen0036co.jpg)

Check the sticky at the top of this section about 7900GTX problems. You may want to set up an RMA.

Super KW
03-25-06, 04:33 AM
RMA and get the same that not fixing a problem they should release a bios or somthing to fix this

Vik1dk
03-25-06, 08:52 AM
My card are clocked(default) 665/1630 but get the same when going 675-680 on the core, maybe a limit for some of the chips, mem does 1700 with no problem tho

Super KW
03-25-06, 11:30 AM
can i flash the card to the normal default clock 650/1600 i dont want the overclock crap ?
and wher can i found it ?

parecon
03-25-06, 04:41 PM
I would RMA it. You paid for those clock settings, they are backed by warranty. You don't want to flash it to default speeds. I know it sucks your gonna be out of a card for a week or two, but you'll be much happier in the end.

Super KW
03-25-06, 04:49 PM
I would RMA it. You paid for those clock settings, they are backed by warranty. You don't want to flash it to default speeds. I know it sucks your gonna be out of a card for a week or two, but you'll be much happier in the end.

well if i RMA it they will send me the same one ! 675/1700 = problem
did XFX knows about this and would they release a bios to fix that ?

$n][pErMan
03-25-06, 04:53 PM
I got that once a long time ago with certain drivers and have yet to ever see it again. SO yes... It COULD be driver related.

parecon
03-25-06, 07:31 PM
well if i RMA it they will send me the same one ! 675/1700 = problem
did XFX knows about this and would they release a bios to fix that ?

The card that you have is the problem, not the clock settings. They will send you a 675/1700 that works (hopefully). The chances of it artifacting again is very slim, but you can always RMA it again until you get a working one.

The overclocked cards are suppose to work at those speeds, I paid for a 690/1750 XFX card and my card gets no artifacts after gaming BF2 even at 705/1800. If it did, I would RMA until they sent me a working one at those speeds, since it did cost me an extra $100.

Super KW
03-26-06, 04:57 PM
well iam not in the United States so icant do RMA :(
thats why i would like to flash the bios or wait till they figer out how to fixing the problem

Dr.No.pt
03-27-06, 01:28 AM
You can't RMA because you're NOT in USA ??

Since when ?

LOOL

Of course you CAN and you SHOULD RMA that crap back ...

:D

Fathertime36
03-27-06, 03:32 AM
I' m pretty sure tearing is core related errors and artifacts are memmory related errors, what your screenies are showing are tearing so it is a core related problem, do 1 thing though, go to your cards manufacture site and browse their forums to see if anyone else is having issues with the same card, then check out their support page, they might have a new bios you can flash it to....takes a couple of minutes and might fix it without rma ing it and being withouta vga for a couple of weeks.

Super KW
03-27-06, 04:29 AM
I' m pretty sure tearing is core related errors and artifacts are memmory related errors, what your screenies are showing are tearing so it is a core related problem, do 1 thing though, go to your cards manufacture site and browse their forums to see if anyone else is having issues with the same card, then check out their support page, they might have a new bios you can flash it to....takes a couple of minutes and might fix it without rma ing it and being withouta vga for a couple of weeks.

yes many in XFX forum having problems with this card and XFX just watching no bios update no driver

Fathertime36
03-27-06, 09:56 AM
Well then rma it, or if possible return it, especially if you bought it through newegg or tiger, and don't flame me here but if you can return it consider and evga or bfg maybe, they seem to be the top nvidia card vendors, either way it sucks for you, they'll probably offer you cross shipping with a deposit from your cc, sorry man, you have the best of the best and your having these problems.....frustrating:(