PDA

View Full Version : Triple LCD gaming setup with SLI?

swaaye
03-24-06, 02:02 PM
Is it possible to run 3xLCDs in a spanned resolution mode with a SLI setup? Like 3 20" Dell screens @ 5040x1050? (1680 * 3)

Q
03-24-06, 02:11 PM
Is it possible to run 3xLCDs in a spanned resolution mode with a SLI setup? Like 3 20" Dell screens @ 5040x1050? (1680 * 3)

I'm not completely sure. I know that you can't even run two monitors and have SLI enabled. If you disable SLI, you can do dual monitors, however. I think I've heard that even with SLI disabled it will only let you push two monitors, but I'm no expert.

TierMann
03-24-06, 02:13 PM
With SLI enabled you can only use one monitor. This is supposedly being worked on, but so far hasn't been implemented in drivers (as far as I know).

With SLI disabled you can use 2,3 or 4 displays for gaming depending if the game supports it or there's a way to tweak it to use multiple displays (the game's config files, or using windowed mode, etc).

swaaye
03-24-06, 02:40 PM
So to run 3 monitors you'd be using 1 video card for all the rendering and there is no way around this?

Q
03-24-06, 02:43 PM
With SLI enabled you can only use one monitor. This is supposedly being worked on, but so far hasn't been implemented in drivers (as far as I know).

Tiermann, this isn't directed towards you, but what a load of ****, man. NV has promised to get multi-mon support with SLI for literally years now and haven't came up with a real solution yet. This is my MAIN reason that keeps me from going SLI.

swaaye, regarding your last post...
If you have SLI mode turned on, you will only have ONE display being used. The other two will simply be blank no matter what.

If you have SLI mode turned OFF, you can push up to FOUR displays, but there will be no added acceleration that you would enjoy using SLI.

SignorSalad
03-24-06, 02:56 PM