PDA

View Full Version : 6800GT 256mb AGP


HarryDude
03-25-06, 02:23 PM
Would I be able to run Oblivion at 1024*768, or even 1280*1024 with decent graphics and framerate? (I don't mind about HDR and AA)

My system is an Athlon xp 3000+ 32bit
2GB RAM
Geforce 6800GT AGP clocked at Ultra.

FearMeAll
03-25-06, 02:27 PM
Would I be able to run Oblivion at 1024*768, or even 1280*1024 with decent graphics and framerate? (I don't mind about HDR and AA)

My system is an Athlon xp 3000+ 32bit
2GB RAM
Geforce 6800GT AGP clocked at Ultra.
I think so. I'd turn off grass shadows in the menu and crank most everything else up. Also HDR will kill the framerate on a single 6800. Bloom will have to do. You could probably use a little FSAA too. although your processor puts a damper on things. I don't know how an athlon xp would perform in this game and it pretty much uses everybit of my dual core.

SH64
03-25-06, 02:27 PM
With some performance tweaking , i believe you can @1024x768 .. why not! :)

HarryDude
03-25-06, 02:29 PM
:) thanks, I'm looking forward to getting this for my birthday, if all else fails I'll hijack my brother's computer and use that (it has a 7800GT :p)

jolle
03-25-06, 02:33 PM
Im running on a 6800GT aswell, it works ok..
Its a bit slow, specially out in the wild, and the graphics is toned down.. I went with the "Autodeteced" settings at first, then disabled HDR and enabled 4x AA which performed better indoors atleast..

My bro is getting his 7900GT on tuesday I think, thing is he is away all week so Im gonna give it a test run before he gets back hehe..

SH64
03-25-06, 02:34 PM
I'd recommend the hijack (that if your bro didnt get addicted to it aswell! :p)

HarryDude
03-25-06, 02:35 PM
Haha cool :p
If I can't run it at 1280*1024 I'll see how well 2xAA works and no HDR or bloom works, they can look aweful sometimes anyway.

SH64
03-25-06, 02:41 PM
I'm playing @1280x1024,2xAA,16xAF,bloom yet the games looks brilliant!!
this is one of those games that look good even in low res/settings :)

XxDeadlyxX
03-25-06, 05:47 PM
I'm running 1280x1024, 4x or 8xAF, with most ingame options at default for my card, but I turned Tree Canopy Shadows on which doesnt have any performance hit but looks alot nicer, and I have HDR on. This is with A64 Venice @ 2.5ghz, 1x 6800 Ultra PCIe, 2GB Ram.

I did try using the ini tweaks to get more draw distance but the performance was too bad, with my current settings I get over 30fps inside, and between 15-30 outside, which is playable. I've found the game is playable at anything over 15fps, under that it is way too laggish.

The game looks BEAUTIFUL with HDR on, everything has a wonderful glow effect, I compared it with Bloom and Off, there is no substitute for HDR in this game, it gives everything life :D

Great game too.

nrs421
03-26-06, 01:06 AM
i have a 6800GT and i'm running it @ 1024 * 768 with everything in default....i get pretty decent framerates....very playable, no AA or AF but HDR is on...

oneils
03-26-06, 03:05 AM
I have a 6800GT and I switch between my 17 inch CRT - 1024x768 with Bloom and 2xAA and most graphical settings on high - and my 20.1 inch LCD at 1600x900 (widescreen is pretty nice) with Bloom on, most graphical settings in the middle. I've had to turn off the "distant" objects, though, to play at 1600x900.

After trying the second set of settings out I prefer it over the first simply because my LCD's picture quality is greater than the CRT I have. I hadn't used my CRT in over a year until this game came out. My 6800GT could handle most previous games 1600x1200...but it didin't handle Oblivion too well. When I switched back and forth from the CRT to my LCD...I realised how much better the LCD is. So I sacrifice a bit on the extras like view distance and stuff. On the LCD, gameplay is like: Indoors the game runs fine (30-40 fps); Outdoors I get 20-25 fps; and in outdoor combat I start to get hit by low frame rates of 14-20 (average is around 18 or so for outdoor combat). So far, though, I am just exploring the wilderness and fighting in the Arena and the dungeons where I get good fps.

Hope this helps.

Bladestorm
03-27-06, 12:21 AM
My brother has an XP2500+, 512mb ram, and a 128mb 6600GT. He's running it at 1280x1024 medium textures with HDR and everything else maxed out except shadows. It actually runs very well, almost too well with that hardware. :scarey:

Dr@Home
03-27-06, 09:02 AM
I run at 1600x1024 and it plays great. I had to turn the grass all the way off though, as it was killing the framerate all the way down to 640x480... :/

Nutty
03-27-06, 12:17 PM
Yeah, I'm running 1680x1050 on 6800GT and its fine.

MustangSVT
03-27-06, 01:31 PM
The game runs quite well on a 6800GT I'd say.

I'm on a 6800GT @ 400/1100, XP-mobile 2.4ghz, 2x512mb ddr400.

The default settings are 1024x768, most of the settings maxed, and HDR on. I run it at 1280x1024, HDR and same detail settings as default which look good. The game is choppy at times (average of 25-30fps for most part), but it looks really beautiful and it's still playable for me.

glObalist
03-27-06, 05:34 PM
Has anyone else encountered a terrible framerate loss (I'm talking about a 4-5 FPS slideshow here) when looking at:

1) One of the ships in the Waterfront.
2) The stables right outside the main city?

These two places are giving me hell when I'm walking past them. This engine, however beautiful, needs a patch very bad. :thumbdwn: