PDA

View Full Version : bad water textures need help


ShaolinMaster
03-26-06, 06:51 AM
ineed help with the water textures
if i set ugrids to load higher than 6 (5 is default)
i got flickering reflections and bad clipping
the option u dephts grid dont work

maybe someone got a working idea

PaiN
03-26-06, 07:00 AM
you need to do this: uNumDepthGrids = 1 "(it's 3 by default), when you do that...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=66785

ShaolinMaster
03-26-06, 09:17 AM
thanks for the tipp but that wont help
i want to increase the viewing distance without loosing the water textures
but the problem is that the option
uNumDepthGrids=1
seems to have no affect on the water the same as before

AstroCat
03-26-06, 09:19 AM
thanks for the tipp
i want to increase the viewing distance without loosing the water textures
but the problem is that the option
uNumDepthGrids=1
seems to have no affect on the water the same as before

This is the huge problem with using anything but Grid=7. Here is a screenshot of the issue:

Reflection Problem with =7 (http://www.astrocat.net/images/temp/uNumDepthGrids=3.jpg)

I wish there was a fix but right now there isn't so I am using Grid=5(default)

ShaolinMaster
03-26-06, 09:27 AM
in fact that is the problem
and there is no way to play it with a good distance and no grafik problems
im very disapointed with the game
i got a good gaming pc :

Pentium 3,4 Ghz Ht
Xfx 7800 Gs Extreme Edition 1380 Mhz 470Mhz
1024 Mb Ram Corsair Pc 400 Cl 2
Wd Raptor 10000rpm Sata
Asus P4c Deluxe
Creativ Xfi Extreme Music

and there is no way to play it
i wish i bought it on the 360
THANKS BETHESDA FOR THIS GOOD WORk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AstroCat
03-26-06, 09:33 AM
in fact that is the problem
and there is no way to play it with a good distance and no grafik problems
im very disapointed with the game
i got a good gaming pc :

Pentium 3,4 Ghz Ht
Xfx 7800 Gs Extreme Edition 1380 Mhz 470Mhz
1024 Mb Ram Corsair Pc 400 Cl 2
Wd Raptor 10000rpm Sata
Asus P4c Deluxe
Creativ Xfi Extreme Music

and there is no way to play it
i wish i bought it on the 360
THANKS BETHESDA FOR THIS GOOD WORk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It's much worse on 360... with the tweaks I've done so far on my game, I would be so bummed if I was stuck with the xbox version.

ShaolinMaster
03-26-06, 09:40 AM
ive found some settings in another forum maybe someone could be interested
i have to try them later if anyone could post if it works????

Default Values:

uGridDistantTreeRange=15
uGridDistantCount=25
uGridsToLoad=5

I Changed mine to:

uGridDistantTreeRange=25
uGridDistantCount=30
uGridsToLoad=9

To fix the water:

Default:

[Water]
fTileTextureDivisor=4.7500
fSurfaceTileSize=2048.0000
uNumDepthGrids=3

Edited:

fTileTextureDivisor=3.7500
fSurfaceTileSize=7168.0000
uNumDepthGrids=4
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO READ THE REST TO GET THE BEST RESULT FOR THE VALUES YOU USE

You should note though that fTileTextureDivisor and fSurfaceTileSize values will help you remove the missing/gaps in water but the uNumDepthGrids setting is the setting to fix the reflection error, depending on what value you used for uGridsToLoad

It is also very important to note that all of the above water values are all proportional to each other and have to be set correctly or you will have serious problems with rendering errors in water, and so i have determined that when you want to have a lot more exterior cells rendered with a high Draw Distance
in this case with a setting of uGridsToLoad=9 you have to set the uNumDepthGrids=4 for the water to reflect everything properly

I'm Guessing alot of you will have trouble with getting everything perfect on your specific system because of each so to give anyone a helping hand:

The fTileTextureDivisor values are best to include .2500 .5000 or .7500, you can experiment with another value like 5.2500/5.5500/5.7500 or 2.2500/2.7500 etc. this setting is also dependant on the fSurfaceTileSize so you will have to experiment

The fSurfaceTileSize values are best to be kept in multiples of 1024, the default value is 2048 so for example i used 1024x7= 7168 to correct water rendering issues in the distance


I hope i explained this properly


Finally I know a lot of you may have noticed the settings already but you can also have everything reflected in the water with the following settings:

bUseWaterReflectionsMisc=1
bUseWaterReflectionsStatics=1
bUseWaterReflectionsTrees=1
bUseWaterReflectionsActors=1

Also, if you carefully look through the oblivion.ini you will also notice that you can set everything to have a shadow, just like what was originally intended, but devs decided not to be able to alter the settings in game as i can see performance will be an issue for anyone without a 7900/x1900 and maybe the 7800GTX 512MB also, the same can be said for the above tweaks

It would be great if the devs released a patch to increase the LOD in game with sliders rather than have to spend hours tweaking the ini and then testing the game

AstroCat
03-26-06, 09:53 AM
Testing...I'm getting some results at =7, need to tweak more...

Can you tell me where that forum is?

ShaolinMaster
03-26-06, 10:49 AM
ive tried the settings and they wont work
blue stripes and missing textures on the water
(sorry for my english)

here is the link
http://www.elderscrolls.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=297831

AstroCat
03-26-06, 11:26 AM
Thanks.