PDA

View Full Version : True x16 SLI, which one is true and which one is not

justinamanzer
04-06-06, 02:48 AM
Hi

im an sli noob and i am about to build a system that is sli enable. Ive been looking through several motherboards and found that each of them have several differences on the lanes of pci-e.

i also found out that on some motherboards if SLI has been enabled the bus speed that the graphics card will run is only in 8x and not use 16x not the full lane. they say that the 2 x16 pci-e will share the 16 lanes to 8. is this true? if so are there motherboards that will run in true x16 using the full 16 lanes and not share the 16 lanes if sli is enabled?

MUYA
04-06-06, 02:52 AM
Yes there are two SLI chipsets

The nForce 4-SLI which has two graphics port and when both are occupied, will run at PCI-e x8 each

Then the nForce4-SLI32 or something, that also has two graphics port but unlike the chipset above, each card on each graphics port will run at 16x PCI-e.
Actually benches show no much difference between them except when using SLI AA.

Dazz
04-06-06, 03:32 AM
At the moment there is no true dual PCI-express chips bar the ATi 3200 chipset.

Digital_Trans
04-06-06, 04:12 AM
True x16 PCI Express Support is here! Get an Asus P5N32-SLI Deluxe motherboard. I'm using it and it supports full x16 PCI Express in single lane and in SLI mode. (nana2)

MUYA
04-06-06, 04:43 AM
Thats right the poster hasn't mentioned which AMD or Intel platorm he intends to build his SLI system.

justinamanzer
04-06-06, 05:27 AM
yes full x16 support is available so i guess u have a virtual x32 bus support in sli mode. found it out after doing some research.

SLI™ mode supports:
- 2 x identical SLI™-ready PCI Express™ x16 graphics
cards (Note: In SLI mode, the PCI Express x16 slots work
at the full bandwidth of x16 each, for a combined
bandwidth of x32.)
ASUS Soft SLI Bridge
ASUS EZ Plug™
ASUS PEG Link for dual PCI Express graphics cards
ASUS Two-slot thermal design