PDA

View Full Version : More ram or better gfx card?


Pages : [1] 2

tmmuk
04-06-06, 04:31 AM
Hi, I am looking at upgrading my pc. I have been talking to people on another forum and have pretty much sorted out a spec:

-AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
-DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Sli-D SKT939 DDR400 PCI-E SLI ATX
-Gainward BLISS GeForce 6800 GS "GLH" 512MB
-OCZ 2GB (2x1GB) EL DDR PC-3200 Dual Channel Platinum Kit
-Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB (SATA2, 16MB cache)
-LG 16X Dual Layer Dual Format DVD±RW Writer
-Themaltake Tsunami Dreams (Black with side window)
-Hiper 580W Type-R Modular PSU - Blue
-12" UV Cathode (x2)

You can see the thread on the other forum here (http://www.buildyourown.org.uk/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=13156&whichpage=1) (note - there are 5 pages of the topic).

The current ram / gfx card prices are £145 / £162.
Would it be better for me to get 1GB ram (2x512) for £65, and spend the left over on a better gfx card? I could get one of these using the left over cash:
Gainward Bliss "GLH" 7800GT (http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=17929495541&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=105498)
Gainward Bliss 7900GT (http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=17929495541&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=108309)

Or would I be better off with the extra ram?

Note: I already have screen / keyboard / mouse from my old pc - read topic linked above for more info...

tmmuk
04-06-06, 05:43 AM
29 views, no reply - someone must know something about this?

Lfctony
04-06-06, 06:42 AM
The gain will be greater with a better video card, preferably the 7900GT. Not a whole lot of games use that extra system memory, but some do like FEAR and BF2. My opinion, go with a better video card and add another GB later on.

tmmuk
04-06-06, 06:45 AM
Ok.

Should I get PC4000 instead of PC3200 ram? I am planning on OCing the CPU. Will the DFI Sli-D support PC4000?

And is there a big performance diff between 2GB and 1GB in other applications (multitasking etc)?

jcniest5
04-06-06, 06:55 AM
Ok.

Should I get PC4000 instead of PC3200 ram? I am planning on OCing the CPU. Will the DFI Sli-D support PC4000?

And is there a big performance diff between 2GB and 1GB in other applications (multitasking etc)?

So, you want more memory instead of a better video card? Okay, then do you know that the DFI is a monster in term of OCing? If you do, well, then get the PC4000 instead of the PC3200. I don't see why you should go with the PC3200 if you are talking about OCing. As far as performance/multitask is concerned, you will see a big difference/jump from the 1GB to the 2GB. Everything will run smoother with the 2GB. I myself plan on getting a 2GB kit as well, although it may not be the same speed.

MUYA
04-06-06, 07:09 AM
2 GB will help you achieve less disk thrashing when going between memory intensive programs.

PC4000 will allow you to do all sorts of abuse to it (memory frequency), the HT clock and/or reference fsb clock etc

7900 GT will kick arse over the 6800. Higher resolution gameplay with AA and AF enabled or HDR (if games support it) and AF.

tmmuk
04-06-06, 07:22 AM
Ok, thanks for the replies guys.

Do you think that I should Get a 2GB pc4000 kit now, as well as a 6800gs "GLH", and then upgrade the gfx card in about a year when the DX10 cards are out and not so expensive? I will probably go to vista eventually, probably at least half a year after it eventually comes out (unless it is not worth the upgrade and overpriced).

And I did know about the DFI's OCing abilities - reason why I selected it. I want to get at least 2.5GHz out of the X2 3800+ (stock 2.0GHz)

Or should I go with 1GB (2x512 or 1x1024?) ram and the 7900/7800GT "GLH" card? Is the 7900GT really better than the "GLH" 7800GT 512mb?

Which ever one I would like to run memory in dual channel.

If I get a 2x512 dual channel kit and then another one later, it will fill up all the slots, meaning I cant add any extra past 2GB.

tmmuk
04-06-06, 08:47 AM
btw I have a 19" tft so I won't be needing resolutions over 1280x1024.

Lfctony
04-06-06, 11:13 AM
Definitely 2x512 for 1GB, or no dual-channel. Also, if you do plan to upgrade in a year, just go with 2GB and the 6800 you quoted, that should be enough. If you intend to keep that card any longer, go with a higher model and less ram. You can always add more ram later.

CaptNKILL
04-06-06, 11:21 AM
Id get 1Gb stick of OCZ PC4000 and a 7900GT. You can add another gig stick later and it wont cause any problems (where as 4x512mb can limit what you can do with your ram settings). OCZ PC4000 Gold is some awesome ram, I cant recommend anything else.

tmmuk
04-06-06, 11:39 AM
I think I will go with the 2GB (2x1GB) G.Skill PC4000 kit here (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/G_Skill.html) (first one on page). I want the option of being able to go beyond 2GB in the future.

As for gfx card, is there something in-between (price-wise and performance-wise) the 6800GS and the 7900GT? Or should I just spend the extra £80 and get the 7900GT? Is it really worth the £80 extra?

And is that OCZ pc4000 ram better than the G.skill set in this post? Its here (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Performance_Series.html) (for the 2x1GB kit). It's £25 more than the G.Skill - is it better?

MUYA
04-06-06, 11:41 AM
you are talking almost twice the performance mate....

tmmuk
04-06-06, 11:45 AM
you are talking almost twice the performance mate....

Ok, that is worth it. Won't I need to upgrade it tho for Vista? (will probably get that in about a year). And will I need to get a DX10 card to play games on vista.

And what about the ram - which brand (see post above)?

MUYA
04-06-06, 11:47 AM
mate when vista comes out, and a dx10 card and a dx10 game comes out, you will need another overhaul. Coz I can garauntee you that the dx10 game will stress any new GPU out then, but will play games which stress now like Oblivion...easily. ;) Vicious circle!

I wouldn't stress too much about Vista right now really.

tmmuk
04-06-06, 11:50 AM
Ok.
The DX10 cards will work with that mobo right? They'll still be pci-e right?

I don't mind eventually upgrading gfx card but I dont want to have to do a complete system overhaul in ~1yr.

MUYA
04-06-06, 11:52 AM
Mate they will. You are worrying too much ;) Throw caution to the wind, save on the pints by not getting the last round when you are on the piss about town and wallah! :D Heheh nah mate I reckon them dx10 cards will work fine present day PCI-E mobos.

tmmuk
04-06-06, 12:58 PM
Alright, I've decided - I'll get the 7900GT and 2GB of ram.

Should I get the 2GB (2x1GB) G.Skill PC4000 kit here (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/G_Skill.html) (first one on page).

Or the OCZ pc4000 ram kit 2GB (2x1GB) here (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Performance_Series.html) It's £25 more than the G.Skill - is it better?

Lfctony
04-06-06, 01:19 PM
Jump on the OCZs 4000 NOW! They're on offer for a week at 129 + VAT. :)

tmmuk
04-06-06, 01:42 PM
That makes them the same price as the G.skill kit. Which is the better one? (as far as OCing, performance etc.)

nV`andrew
04-06-06, 02:51 PM
That makes them the same price as the G.skill kit. Which is the better one? (as far as OCing, performance etc.)

i hear that both companies provide the best overclockers. i would go with ocz though especially since it is the same price

tmmuk
04-06-06, 03:42 PM
OK, I'll probably get the OCZ (unless I can't order till next week or whenever).

And which 7900GT should I get? (please link to a good one on ebuyer.co.uk or overclockers.co.uk, thanks)

EDIT: I will probably get the BFG 7900GT (here (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/7900_Series.html)), unless you think there is a better alternative?

EDIT2: I just found the Leatek 7900GT extreme, which is clocked higher. I will get that (see link above in this post), unless anyone else has suggestions?

tmmuk
04-07-06, 04:40 AM
I just found this (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_This_Week_Only_25.html#aMY_2d001_ 2dPA). (Patriot 2x1gb pc5300). It's cheaper than the OCZ or the G.Skill, and it's faster. Would It be better? Or would It not seeing as it doesnt have heatspreaders?

tmmuk
04-08-06, 04:40 AM
So what do you think? I will probably get the Leadtek 7900GT extreme, but what about the ram? (see both posts above)?

AliceCooper
04-08-06, 08:08 AM
Well I've got 2gb OCZ ram (2x1gb matched pair) and a Gainward Bliss GLH 512mb 7800gt. I can certainly vouch for both.

The GLH card is faster than a 7800gtx 256mb and only a little slower than a 7900gt. Anyone telling you as 7900 is 2x faster is having a laugh.

The 7900's are just a die shrink and faster core and memory. My GLH 7800gt runs at 450 (o/c's to 520) and memory 1.4ghtz (o/c's to 1.5). With 512mb vram you can play Doom 3 & Quake 4 at ultra settings , 1280x 1024, 4x AA at 60fps!
Half-Life 2 and Far Cry also benefit from the extra Ram. I don't have Battlefield 2 but most reviews state u need 2gb for good gameplay.

I'd save the £90 as you will probably be updating again come Vista.

Cheers

Fathertime36
04-08-06, 03:06 PM
I just found this (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_This_Week_Only_25.html#aMY_2d001_ 2dPA). (Patriot 2x1gb pc5300). It's cheaper than the OCZ or the G.Skill, and it's faster. Would It be better? Or would It not seeing as it doesnt have heatspreaders?
DUDE....that is ddr2 ram, only works with intel cpu's currently, that is supposed to change mid summer, but only if you buy a 940 amd and associated mobo that supports both the 940 chipset and ddr2 ram, just thought you might want to know that, I 'm kind of confused, at the begining of this thread you list already having 2gb of ram, you should also know that ram and cpu can be independently overclocked, you don't need super elite speed ram to do a good overclock of your cpu, another thing to take into consideration when clocking your ram is that bandwidth is key, even at the exspense of timming, you can lax the timmings to get higher bandwidth (which =through put) from your ram, a lot of people place too much priority on timming, bandwith is what will yield you the most gain in performance, hence tight timming t1 -2-2-5 at a 1:1 ratio for example sounds good but wont allow you to run the ram at as high ammount of mhz as opposed to a more laxed/loose timming of t2.5 -4-4-10....I mention one other thing, pay attention to what voltage the ram requires and the max voltage you can push to it, generally speaking ram that requires lower voltage runs cooler and gives you more head room to up the voltage to stabilize the ram, some ram needs more than many motherboards can or will provide, DFI is I think the only mobo that provides more then 2.85volts for memmory adjustments in the bios, and yeah you need a good psu if you plan to oc, you will be using more power then you would otherwise at default settings so take this also into consideration. K so I lied you also want to be running a matched set of ram of the same exact size so you will be running in a dual channel format, never run mixed sizes or odd ammount numbers of dimms.