PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?


HarryDude
04-06-06, 12:18 PM
I am to get a new computer fairly soon with a Geforce 7900GT 256mb, 2gb ram, and an althlon 64 3000+, I was just wondering if anyone else in here has similar specs to this and could tell me the kind of performance they get on oblivion?

Slybri
04-06-06, 12:27 PM
Just got the 7900gt and an Amd 64 4000+

Performance is great, especially after tweaking and oc'ing. I'm getting 24-37fps outdoors, with HDR, everything high, at 1600X1200. I've got teh card oc'd @ 550/1600 and the CPU oc'd @ 2.76.

the 7900gt is a kickass overclocker at a good price. It should last you until the dx10 games start coming out late next year.

If you can afford it, try to get the 3800+. I hear they are amazing overclockers.

nV`andrew
04-06-06, 12:59 PM
i have a 7900gt co superclocked and it handles the game great and i only got a gig of ram but a dual core 3800=

HarryDude
04-06-06, 01:19 PM
If you can afford it, try to get the 3800+. I hear they are amazing overclockers.

This depends how much money I get from people at my upcoming birthday party ;) but atm I only have enough for the 3000+, which I may overclock.

AirtelGuy
04-06-06, 02:12 PM
I have a opty 148 oced to 2.8ghz, 2gb ram and leadtek 7900gt at stock and im running everything at MAX except self shadows and shadows on grass at 1280X1024 and works great, sometimes at outdoors in large areas can drop to 20 maybe a little below 20 but its still playable.

deadman_uk
04-06-06, 03:46 PM
This depends how much money I get from people at my upcoming birthday party ;) but atm I only have enough for the 3000+, which I may overclock.

Then wait until you get some more money. Seriously that 3000 will be a big bottleneck in the future, at least get a 3500 like I have.

I ordered a 7900GT yesterday, should get it Monday but I only have 1 GB of ram.

HarryDude
04-06-06, 04:34 PM
I have decided I will probably get a 3700+ that should be ok shouldn't it?

deadman_uk
04-06-06, 04:37 PM
I have decided I will probably get a 3700+ that should be ok shouldn't it?

Yep thats fine, go with whatever you can afford. I recommend anything over 3500 for Athlons.

CaptNKILL
04-06-06, 05:09 PM
My 3000+ overclocked like crazy, well worth it IMO if you're into overclocking :)

Pegasus*
04-09-06, 08:21 AM
i'll tell you what a gd cpu is, a 3700+ sandiego!!!
My friend overclocked his to fx56 (or w/e it is) speeds on stock cooling lol, i think hes way best fx56 speeds now though, he evn overclocked his radeon x850 to x1800 xl speeds lol

glObalist
04-09-06, 10:34 AM
i'll tell you what a gd cpu is, a 3700+ sandiego!!!
My friend overclocked his to fx56 (or w/e it is) speeds on stock cooling lol, i think hes way best fx56 speeds now though, he evn overclocked his radeon x850 to x1800 xl speeds lol

OMGWTFBBQ!!111!!! LOL

But seriously dood, FX56 has two cores so you can't quite compare the performance there...

nV`andrew
04-09-06, 10:38 AM
OMGWTFBBQ!!111!!! LOL

But seriously dood, FX56 has two cores so you can't quite compare the performance there...

if you're talknig about the fx-60 yes its 2 cores, but fx-55, no. or fx-57 ? lol

glObalist
04-09-06, 11:02 AM
if you're talknig about the fx-60 yes its 2 cores, but fx-55, no. or fx-57 ? lol

Heh didn't even noticed that, thought I was seeing FX57 in his post :D

HarryDude
04-09-06, 02:47 PM
I am now able to get an athlon 64 x2 3800+ :) That will do fine :D