PDA

View Full Version : is my PSU will run dual 7900GTX's ?


Super KW
04-07-06, 06:20 AM
i have CoolMax 650W SLI with dual 12V @ 19 each 38A total
and in slizone its not listed in 7900 or 7800 512 PSU !

|MaguS|
04-07-06, 07:19 AM
I never heard of CoolMax, no clue if it can stay stable or not.

Dazz
04-07-06, 12:38 PM
I an't sure myself, on the most part my Thermaltake 680w dual PCI-Express connectors, 15A, 15A, 8A (38A) should take it and it does but in demanding games so far only Oblivion the system will turn it's self off the the PSU gets real loud so the more pressure on the 12v lanes the more likely it will fail, i just ordered a 700W FSP Epsilon FX700-GLN PSU and this has quad 15A lanes with 60A so this should be enough i would say as it is SLi certified. Also i heard it's quiet too :)

jAkUp
04-07-06, 01:01 PM
Hmmm, that will probably be ok for the 7900GTX's

Golden Sample
04-07-06, 01:13 PM
i have CoolMax 650W SLI with dual 12V @ 19 each 38A total
and in slizone its not listed in 7900 or 7800 512 PSU !

Hi

Will work for sure! See my sig: I have totally stable rails! 12V@12,4, 5V@5,1 and so on!

Good Luck with your upcomming SLI ;-)

Sven

Marvel_us
04-07-06, 01:17 PM
Yea that's the same PSU I have. Works fine for me but I only have 1 GTX.

Super KW
04-07-06, 01:33 PM
i get it couple month ago and i dont want to buy anew one !

merlin18x
04-20-06, 11:30 AM
I was wondering if the Silverstone ST60F will be able to handle dual 7900GTX's.

The link to the product specs http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-60f.htm

john19055
04-20-06, 08:34 PM
I have the SilverStone Zeus ST56ZF 560watt which is has 3.3v-38amps,5v-40amps and 12v-38amps with peak of 45 amps ,and it is rock steady ,the voltage is steady as a rock.

verboten
04-21-06, 07:28 AM
I was wondering if the Silverstone ST60F will be able to handle dual 7900GTX's.

The link to the product specs http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-60f.htm

It's been stable as a rock for the past three days. Played FEAR completly max, 4xAA, 16AF, Soft Shadows, @1280x1024 for hours. After that I played oblivion for a few hours and not a single problem.

My only gripe is I no longer have room for my x-fi card and on board audio sucks compared to the x-fi.

merlin18x
04-21-06, 09:47 AM
Thanks for the info folks, should be getting my cards today and I'm pretty excited to see what it's capable of.

The Bigman
04-21-06, 10:14 AM
Im moving up to a better one aswell. Im looking at a 700 watt one but its from ocz. not sure how they are but i read about the zeus sivlerstone 680, and will most likely go with em.

HeavyH20
04-21-06, 09:36 PM
There are two I would go with that have good, but limited reviews. I bought the Fortron 700 W to handle a couple of OC'd 7900 GTX cards, watercooling, and a dual core @ 2.9 GHz. Runs great. The OCZ 600 Watt SLI PSU I previously used was not enough. It caused issues by starving the cards.

BTW, the Fortron can peak to 22A on each rail if needed, but not all at the same time. Also, while 15 amps is the nominal rating of each rail, you cannot net 60 amps total. The load is limited to 680 Watts max, then you have to allow 5V and 3.3 V loads, so around 50 amps max to the 12V rails. Still great, however.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104015

The other is the 750 W XClio. The few reviews I did see were positive and surprising. They normally make OEM server supplies. The plus is 4 x 12 V rails with 18 A each and a 14 cm cooling fan. I think I would have picked this over the Fortron, but did not see it at the time I purchased.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817189011

scaryogre
04-21-06, 10:07 PM
I hope not to hijack this thread, but i hate to start another on an (almost) identical question...

I have a 480W power supply. I am considering an upgrade of my motherboard to an Asus A8N32-SLI and a 7900GTX. Will my power supply be capable of handling this? I will not have SLI right now.

Thanks,

scaryogre

john19055
04-22-06, 02:22 AM
It depends on how many amps it puts out on the 12v rail

Super KW
04-22-06, 03:08 AM
my crapy coolmax just drop to 11.71 load :thumbdwn:
only 1 card this is to bad , i well wait for anewer PSU's
Thermaltake Toughpower or silverstone 750w quad rail 18 each

Stanley Pain
04-24-06, 10:02 AM
A word to the wise about PSUs.

Just because a PSU is rated at a higher wattage then another, doesn't necessarily mean it's better.

Specifically when it comes to the 12v rails. A lot of the time, they crank thge 3.3/5v rail amps to get the high watt numbers.

I've seen good 500w PSUs with higher 12v rails then 600/700w ones.

hemmy
04-24-06, 03:26 PM
You cant add 12v rails and get a number, it doesn't work that way

hemmy
04-24-06, 03:27 PM
my crapy coolmax just drop to 11.71 load :thumbdwn:
only 1 card this is to bad , i well wait for anewer PSU's
Thermaltake Toughpower or silverstone 750w quad rail 18 each

silverstone=good quality
thermaltake=ok quality