PDA

View Full Version : Quake 4 Expert Mod Available NOW!


Goner
04-14-06, 01:47 PM
http://www.castellcomputers.com/images/personal/expert_logo.gif

The Quake 4 EXPERT mod is now available
for use with all native Q4 game modes (DM, TDM, CTF, etc.)
(though CTF is where it really shines!)

There are versions compatible with the 1.1 FINAL patch and one with the 1.1 BETA patch (you choose)

Download the files HERE:
http://expertctf.net/q4downloads.htm

More information about the mod HERE:
http://www.expertctf.net

More information to come on both the http://www.expertctf.net site as well as the http://www.planetquake.com/expert site as well. Keep your eyes peeled.

In the mean time, enjoy the features of the Expert mod:
-Silky smooth off-hand hook for true 3-dimensional combat
-Balanced Weapon damage
-All weapons given upon spawn (no scavenging around picking up weapons when you could be fighting!)
-Ammo and Health regen (no scavenging around picking up ammo and health when you could be fighting!)
-All-new Q2-style hand grenade primer weapon
-Triple rail shot
-Balanced scoring bonuses that award team play in CTF mode
-Timed flag runs
-Increased movement speed over Q4 defaults (who wants to play as if they're wading in knee-deep water?)
-2-bounce Grenade-launcher (no more laying minefields of spam)
-Increased visibility skins
-... and MORE!

Share your comments here:
http://www.expertctf.net/forum/index.php

GlowStick
04-14-06, 02:33 PM
zomg my fav quake2 mod comes to q4 :D

OWA
04-14-06, 05:08 PM
Nice, thanks for the link.

Goner
04-14-06, 05:35 PM
Who'd you play as in Q2, Glow?

Glad to hear some people remember Expert! Now pass the word to server admins who are tired of seeing their servers empty! (nana2)

GlowStick
04-14-06, 07:15 PM
glow[stick]
mannix[qr]

(nana2)

Goner
04-15-06, 01:17 AM
haha, DUH... Why didn't I guess that?

Well, I've been running the last q2 expert server forever.. it recently went down, I think, for good.. Q2 expert, RIP.. :cry:

So, does [Stick] wanna play 'Lil in a scrim? I've seen Drum and Toadz pop up recently..

ynnek
04-15-06, 01:31 AM
I gotta tell my friend.. He used play Expert Q2 CTF like crack all day long in college.. He was rediculously good too it.. He'd never touch the ground, and he was amazing with all the guns...

Heh.. I tried it, but never got very good at it.. then I figured out you could grind servers to a hault by continuously dropping ammo.. lmao! THen after a while they put a change to fix that.. heh.

Goner
04-15-06, 02:09 AM
yep.. that's just about the idea.. don't touch the ground, never go straight and always have the right weapon handy for the area of the map you're in... Can't hurt to spam every doorway you see and you zip by at 100 mph in FOV 120 either.. :D

ynnek
04-15-06, 02:27 AM
yep.. that's just about the idea.. don't touch the ground, never go straight and always have the right weapon handy for the area of the map you're in... Can't hurt to spam every doorway you see and you zip by at 100 mph in FOV 120 either.. :D


LMAO.. I forgot about the FOV too.. Watching him play Expert CTF gave me a headache... with the FOV, the speed, and his spastic, but deadly aim... We all joked that he was a bot, in RL...

GlowStick
04-15-06, 10:31 AM
Hm anyone have a ip of a working expert server? And i hope i just didnt read something but is there no offhand grapple :(

Goner
04-15-06, 11:29 AM
Oh yeah, there is definitely an off-hand hook.. I have put up a server on a lame computer and DSL connection, so, max of 4 players... sorry. Should have another one up soon on a better connection.. hoping some real servers pop up otherwise, though...

IP: gonersvc.dyndns.org:28004

That's the latest expert on the 1.1 final (the one ID pulled back due to the widescreen bug thing.. hey.. I havent got a widescreen monitor.. so bah. lol)

See you there! :)

ynnek
04-15-06, 11:38 AM
1.1 final is back on the id site..

also, if I understand the widescreen bug, you have to select a rez/refresh rate that doesn't work, and then sit there and furiously try it over and over again as fast as you can, for a few minutes, until your monitor gives up. As they stated, it may be more of a monitor issue, than Q4 itself.

Goner
04-15-06, 01:12 PM
I agree... It's ridiculous that anyone at Raven/ID even listened to the fools who hit the 'YES! Put my monitor into a resolution which might damage it!' hundreds of times and then were mad when their monitor was killed... Shame those fools actually got the patch pulled when Q4 is at such a sensitive juncture, patch-wise... Kudos to them for putting it back out there.. Hopefully it's exactly the same version (or at least directly compatible) meaning that I won't have to patch my server (or client) once again...

MattC
04-15-06, 10:08 PM
1.1 final is back on the id site..

also, if I understand the widescreen bug, you have to select a rez/refresh rate that doesn't work, and then sit there and furiously try it over and over again as fast as you can, for a few minutes, until your monitor gives up. As they stated, it may be more of a monitor issue, than Q4 itself.

http://www.idsoftware.com/games/quake/quake4/index.php?game_section=updates

Shows 1.04

Can't see any mention of 1.1 on the site. The readme etc. and download were always there, but "officially" we're still at 1.04.

Goner
04-16-06, 11:09 AM
yeah, but if you visit the (lame) official Q4 flash site, it has the 1.1 (final) patch downloadable from:
http://www.quake4game.com/patch/quake4_1_1_patch.exe

and here's a mirror: http://mirrors-av.club-internet.fr/pub/games/nofrag/quake4/Quake4_1_1_Patch.exe

Goner
05-20-06, 10:22 AM
1.2-compatible version of Expert out now!

4 servers running Expert CTF and DM!

Download and learn more here: www.expertctf.net

(the forums contain the server lists and whatnot)

Cheese[stick] sez hi :)