PDA

View Full Version : 7800GT - 2 displays, forcing an aspect ratio for full screen mode?


tommo123
04-14-06, 04:10 PM
i have a 2405 dell as my main display and the secondary is my sony hs50 projector, both connected to a 7800GT. i have given up trying to match resolutions between both (ie outputting a 1920x1200 display to the sony but resized to 1280x720) so am using the projector to watch videos through - full screen mode.

problem is, some of my clips are not in the right aspect ratio on the screen. if i watch them in media player classic then on my monitor the video is fine, but on my projected display the image seems squashed in (vertically).

this doesnt happen with all videos. just some. it seems that if i have an avi or whatever with a non standard res, then the thing gives up and screws the display up.

i have checked a few files and for example:

1920x1080 - fine
1280x720 - fine
1912x1080 - not fine
1920x1072 - not fine

videos below HD resolution arent affected. the odd thing is that all of the vids that dont work properly via the projector no matter what res they are, all appear the same - vertically squashed. they appear to be squashed from 16:9 to 16:5 for example (really obviously squashed!)

none of my attemps to correct this via media player classic have any success so it appears its to do with the graphics card itself. i cant seem to find any options to force a different aspect ratio in the display options. it even ignores the built in AR that exists in my h264 encoded clips so have to be the graphics card doing this.

anyone else had this problem? and how did you overcome it?

tommo123
04-15-06, 05:04 PM
how about this instead? i mean using 2 different resolutions from my 7800GT.
i'm using forceware 78.03/XP with a dell 2405 monitor and a sony HS50 projector.

in short what i want to do it output 1920x1200 as normal to my dell monitor, but send out 1280x720 to my sony. i cant get 2 different resolutions going since what i really want is a clone mode going on so i was thinking if its possible to have a 1920x1200 display but resize the outgoing signal to 1280x720 for the sony?

can anyone help on this?

tommo123
04-22-06, 09:47 AM
anyone?

saturnotaku
04-22-06, 09:49 AM
Have you tried selecting Fixed Aspect Ratio Scaling through the driver control panel? It's located under "Digital Flat Panel" settings.

tommo123
04-22-06, 09:53 AM
ah no, will give that a go tonight. thanks :D

tommo123
04-22-06, 07:54 PM
tried it, but no joy. with both screens connected i went through all 4 options in there:


# Display Adapter Scaling
# Centered Output
# Monitor Scaling
# Fixed Aspect Ratio Scaling

no diff. each one was the same. perhaps that would make a smaller resolution fit onto a bigger screen but it doesnt seem to work the other way around (make a 2650x1600 fit within a 1920x1200 display)

any other suggestions? :(

saturnotaku
04-23-06, 06:38 AM
If I'm reading you correctly, what you're looking to do would be impossible. The two displays run independently of each other. You can't try to force onto a smaller screen a larger resolution that the display itself doesn't support.

tommo123
04-23-06, 08:27 AM
If I'm reading you correctly, what you're looking to do would be impossible. The two displays run independently of each other. You can't try to force onto a smaller screen a larger resolution that the display itself doesn't support.

i swear i read something about sending a resized signal to 1 display. cant find it now at all of course.

if i span the displays then that of course works fine but overlay doesnt work properly. is that a limitation of the nvidia card?