PDA

View Full Version : 84.43 (32bit): Direct3D is broken? Windows2003(32bit)+DirectX9.0c(feb2006)+84.43=BSOD


void_shambler_0
04-24-06, 07:57 PM
Well, I think I tried almost everything. Nothing seems to help.

When any application tries to access Direct3D, Windows shows me the kernel STOP message aka Blue Screen Of Death:

(hex values are stripped of leading zeros: 0x0=0x000000....000 )


STOP 0x50 ( 0xBC409908, 0x0, 0xF6816AB8, 0x2 )

nv4_mini.sys Addr 0xF6816AB8 base at 0xF67FA000 datestamp 4410CB0A

There may be a problem with my DirectX, but it worked ok with 81.98

Of course I tried uninstalling, reinstalling e t.c. everything, but it still doesn't work

|MaguS|
04-24-06, 10:29 PM
Considering that the majority of people are playing Direct3D games perfectly, its definetly not broken. Whats your system spec's?

AngelGraves13
04-24-06, 11:24 PM
I had ONE major problem in ALL Direct3D games with ForceWare 80 series.

If you have "Large System Cahce" enabled, then any Direct3D games that use Managed Code will not, I repeat WILL NOT work!

Try turning it off.

|MaguS|
04-24-06, 11:39 PM
I had ONE major problem in ALL Direct3D games with ForceWare 80 series.

If you have "Large System Cahce" enabled, then any Direct3D games that use Managed Code will not, I repeat WILL NOT work!

Try turning it off.

What game would that be? I have LSC Enabled and no game has given me trouble yet.

AngelGraves13
04-25-06, 02:41 AM
for me, FEAR and COD2 and Tomb Raider (only games w/ managed code that I own)

|MaguS|
04-25-06, 02:46 AM
All those games worked perfectly for me... Do you have a RAID Setup? It's known that setting LargeSystemCache to 1 can cause RAID systems to give write/read errors constantly.

saturnotaku
04-25-06, 06:17 AM
All those games worked perfectly for me... Do you have a RAID Setup? It's known that setting LargeSystemCache to 1 can cause RAID systems to give write/read errors constantly.

Check his signature. He does.

void_shambler_0
04-25-06, 06:32 AM
Oooh, sorry, forgot the specifications, LOL :)

CPU: Athlon 64 3000+ (single-kernel) Socket939
RAM: 512MB DDR2
MB: ECS NFORCE4-A939 <-- that IS it's model name ;)
Specifications are here: http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWeb/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?MenuID=90&LanID=9&DetailID=493&DetailName=Specification
CHIPSET: nForce4, obiviously
Drivers for MB: nForce4_amd_6.69_winserver_2003_32_international_w hql.
exe ; Ethernet, IDE, and Sound drivers are installed and running
RAID is turned off.
SVGA: GeForce 6200, 128MB RAM, PCI express x16 , ASUS
DirectX - 9.0c February 2006


I have tried turning that LargeSystemCache both on and off, and it haven't changed anything.

DirectDraw works in both cases, Direct3D produces a kernel halt in both cases.

That is my registry
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Se ssion Manager\Memory Management]
"ClearPageFileAtShutdown"=dword:00000000
"DisablePagingExecutive"=dword:00000000
"LargeSystemCache"=dword:00000000
"NonPagedPoolQuota"=dword:00000000
"NonPagedPoolSize"=dword:00000000
"PagedPoolQuota"=dword:00000000
"PagedPoolSize"=dword:00000000
"SecondLevelDataCache"=dword:00000000
"SystemPages"=dword:000c3000
"PagingFiles"=hex(7):67,00,3a,00,5c,00,70,00,61,00,67,00,65,00, 66,00,69,00,6c,\
00,65,00,2e,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,20,00,32,00,30,00 ,34,00,38,00,20,00,32,00,\
30,00,34,00,38,00,00,00,00,00
"PhysicalAddressExtension"=dword:00000000
"WriteWatch"=dword:00000001
"LargePageMinimum"=dword:ffffffff

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Se ssion Manager\Memory Management\PrefetchParameters]
"VideoInitTime"=dword:00000138
"EnablePrefetcher"=dword:00000002
"AppLaunchMaxNumPages"=dword:00000fa0
"AppLaunchMaxNumSections"=dword:000000aa
"AppLaunchTimerPeriod"=hex:80,69,67,ff,ff,ff,ff,ff
"BootMaxNumPages"=dword:0001f400
"BootMaxNumSections"=dword:00000ff0
"BootTimerPeriod"=hex:00,f2,d8,f8,ff,ff,ff,ff
"MaxNumActiveTraces"=dword:00000008
"MaxNumSavedTraces"=dword:00000008
"RootDirPath"="Prefetch"
"HostingAppList"="DLLHOST.EXE,MMC.EXE,RUNDLL32.EXE"

|MaguS|
04-25-06, 06:33 AM
How are you running DDR2 on a 939 Chipset? What version of windows?

XxDeadlyxX
04-25-06, 07:27 AM
This is identical to problem I'm having with Vista 5365, 5342 etc, any app tries to access Direct3D and same BSOD, nv4_mini.sys, and also earlier drivers work for me up to 82.12.

|MaguS|
04-25-06, 07:35 AM
For Vista you should only be using the Vista Drivers since they are the ones built to support Vista.

OWA
04-25-06, 08:20 AM
Do you pass the various dxdiag tests?

SLippe
04-25-06, 12:21 PM
Another game that doesn't like LSC is Painkiller, but one of the patches may have taken care of that.

void_shambler_0
04-25-06, 03:05 PM
How are you running DDR2 on a 939 Chipset? What version of windows?
How to distinguish DDR and DDR2 ? I might have made a mistake, and my memory is plain DDR, not DDR2. By the way, it doesn't matter at all.

Windows version is:
Microsoft Windows 2003 Enterprise Server Russian + Service Pack 1 32-bit
Winver displays version Windows NT 5.2 Build 3790 (Russian)

No, the problem is NOT in the non-englishness of windows, as system kernel remains the same, save the boot logo, which is localized a little. The SYS file shouldn't be accessing any localized areas of OS.

This is identical to problem I'm having with Vista 5365, 5342 etc, any app tries to access Direct3D and same BSOD, nv4_mini.sys, and also earlier drivers work for me up to 82.12.

Thank you, I'll try 82.12 too.

Well, I don't have XP too.
Note that win2000 is actually "WindowsNT v5.0", winXP is "WindowsNT v5.1", and win2003server is "WindowsNT v5.2", so my kernel is different from XP-ish one.

That fact shouldn't affect anything, because of backward-compatibility, but that is with a perfectly written driver. I think there is an error, that makes all Windows versions newer than XP fail.
(Some of you might heard of a unix-like OS called OpenBSD: it has the same story against buggy linux programs: while absolutely correct linux progs run ok there, the bugged ones die almost immidiately, because memory layout is very different. )

Do you pass the various dxdiag tests?
As I said earlier, every application that doesn't try to use Direct3D works as usual, while an attempt to initialize Direct3D shows BSOD. So, DirectDraw tests succeed, but Direct3D ones produce a system halt.

AngelGraves13
04-25-06, 04:04 PM
All those games worked perfectly for me... Do you have a RAID Setup? It's known that setting LargeSystemCache to 1 can cause RAID systems to give write/read errors constantly.

strange, I have another computer same motherboard, processor, 660 GT, and same memory, and I still get the same problem. It saddens me to read the official FEAR forum where hundreds of users have the same problem as me, except I solved mine. The game would start up fine, and load, but all you would see is the gun and hud, no world...all black. And it would go a frame every 5 seconds.

void_shambler_0
04-26-06, 02:57 PM
Could someone please give a WORKING download link for the driver version 82.12 for win 2000/XP/.. 32-bit edition?

UPDATE: I have just found older nV drivers here: http://www.filehippo.com/download/b98fdc2f965dfdb0e166fbdae2a0843e/download/

john19055
04-27-06, 12:26 AM
When I did a fresh install of windows and install the FEB version of DX9c I had some problems with some of my games and then I installed the DEC version of DX9c and it fix my problems.

void_shambler_0
04-30-06, 02:01 AM
Oh, I did the same thing fresh-installing Feb2006 DX9.0c, then installing drivers.

Please tell me, how did You manage to install previous version of DirectX over the later one???

By the way, I started trying to update the driver because I had problems with running a game called VTMB (Official site (http://www.vampirebloodlines.com/) fansite (http://gamebanshee.com/vampirebloodlines/))
It loaded and displayed the main menu. But upon it trying to 3D environment it killed the driver off! After the game crashed the screen was either blank until reboot (system desktop aka "Ctrl+Alt+Del menu" sometimes showed up normally, but at 640*480 resolution), or, if the game was started in a window, only VGA (640*480*16colors) mode was avaliable for selection in display settings, but the monitor was still running 1280*1024*32bit_color at the same time!

The game is VERY buggy, and it tends to leak out all of my 512MB of memory, and also Troika, it's creator, does not exist anymore; the newer patches are actually from some fans who, as far as I know, don't even have any source code.(so, updating the game to a patch past 1.2 is pointless)


UPDATE: Same goes to GTA3:San Andreas, but it crashes after 2-5minutes of playing.

Still, Warcraft3, for example works fine.