PDA

View Full Version : S-ata Question (speed ?)


Neophyte
04-25-06, 03:48 PM
Hi all

Somehow i have the feeling my s-ata HD isnt setup right.

lemme start of with some graphics.

http://members.lycos.nl/revenge2004/Sigs/BuzzFuzz/Uploaded/HDT.jpg

It's showing 137.9 MB/s (sometimes 133.)
Doesn't it need to be higher then that ?

Second Picture....

Hope you guy's can make sence out of it, couse it's in dutch.

http://members.lycos.nl/revenge2004/Sigs/BuzzFuzz/Uploaded/Hardware.jpg

The list here doesn't say anything special about having a s-ata harddisk or the like.
Did i forgot something in my procedure ? (drivers, In the beginning of windows installation, or anything like...)

p.s. I don't have any IDE hard disks, only one DVD / CD burner that sit's on IDE channel 1 were you normally put the Master IDE HD on.

Grz.
Neo....

Q
04-25-06, 05:26 PM
Your speeds are about right. SATA isn't that much faster than PATA; the disk technology just isn't this fast yet, regardless of the interface. Do you have the Nforce drivers installed? If not, this would be why the controllers don't show up right.

wheeljack12
04-25-06, 06:02 PM
he doesn't have the drivers in. That is what shows when no nforce drivers are installed. If and when you install the drivers, there is also a speed test in the device manager for a particular controller that will show you in numbers the same as this test. Your best average speed comes from the western digital raptor 150gb at about 88mb/sec average read speed.

betterdan
04-25-06, 09:17 PM
I just checked in the device manager test and my 200gb Seagate Sata drive got 64.5mbps sustained speed and 86.5mbps burst speed.

Neophyte
04-26-06, 01:48 PM
Well i did install the Mainboard drivers, but i never installed the Nvidia IDE, and i believe the storrage driver...
Well i only didn't install the Onboard audio Drivers now and this is what i got.

http://members.lycos.nl/revenge2004/Sigs/BuzzFuzz/Uploaded/speed.jpg

So i guess all is fine ? when i compare it for example to last replyer's status.

tacos4me
04-26-06, 03:27 PM
EDIT: Nevermind, found it. Hehe. Here's the test results from my WD 320gb SATA2. Pretty much the same as yours is. Your speed is normal.

Neophyte
04-28-06, 12:36 PM
Hmmm,

There's a slight Problem.... (now i know why i never installed the IDE drivers)

The system will lock up on the Windows loading screen with them installed....

When i Press the reset button and enter Save Mode.. it loads normal to the desktop.

I dunno but somehow the Nvidia IDE drivers Lock up my Computer on loading windows.

I uninstalled the Nvidia IDE drivers true save mode... and system boots fine again.

SLippe
04-30-06, 03:10 AM
Got a new HDD today. I love it! (see Sig for details)

Here's what I got just now on HD Tach 8mb test...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=17815&d=1146381001

einstein_314
04-30-06, 03:15 PM
Got a new HDD today. I love it! (see Sig for details)

Here's what I got just now on HD Tach 8mb test...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=17815&d=1146381001
I have the same hard drive and I also love it. I just ran HD Tach for the heck of it to compare with your results, and it seems that my burst speed is much higher and my average read is slightly slower. Weird. I wonder why the burst speed is so much different. Hmm, mine's on the nVidia NF4 Sata Controller. Which controller do you have yours one?

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/9606/hdtach3js.jpg

Shaitan
02-05-07, 02:41 PM
How do i get the nVidia NF4 Sata Controller?

I am using the Crosshair m/b Silicon Image SATALink controller. Thx.

nekrosoft13
02-05-07, 02:45 PM
well for one, you have board based on nforce 680i, so you can't get nf4 controller

Shaitan
02-05-07, 02:53 PM
Well, tested with HD Tach, and my Sequential Read speed is in the 80s as per mb/s, and burst speeds in the 250s as per mb/s. This is good.... yes? Thx.

CaptNKILL
02-06-07, 02:13 PM
Also, don't forget to switch over the jumper on the drive. Most drives have SATA 150\SATA 300 jumpers and every one I've seen so far has defaulted to 150 for compatibility.

Switching it won't do a whole lot for your overall speed (i dont think) but your burst speed in benchmarks will go up significantly.

einstein_314
02-06-07, 04:27 PM
Also, don't forget to switch over the jumper on the drive. Most drives have SATA 150\SATA 300 jumpers and every one I've seen so far has defaulted to 150 for compatibility.

Switching it won't do a whole lot for your overall speed (i dont think) but your burst speed in benchmarks will go up significantly.
Yeah the seagates have a jumper...neither of my Western Digital SataII drives have one though...they just figure it out I guess.