PDA

View Full Version : ForceWare v84.43 and PureVideo doesnt work anymore.


Hase1
04-26-06, 05:06 AM
ForceWare v84.43 and PureVideo doesnt work anymore.
WindowsXP SP2 with latest Patches
XFX ExtremeGamer NVIDIA Geforce 7800GT
Mainboard ASUS A8NSLI-Premium latest BIOS 1011-006
ForceWare v84.43 Drivers Default Setting.

I have same System and settings as before it seems the nVIDIA PureVideo Decoder v1.02.196 the HW Overlaymode is no longer in use.
doesnt work with ForceWare v84.43 in v84.25 v84.26 it worked.
http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/7336/neu23if.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Jepp its Fact PureVideo is broken in the ForceWare 84.43 Drivers
ive testet v84.26 Drivers an it worked same Settings. see SecondScreenshot.
The Playback of MPEG2 + MPEG2 TransportStream *.ts HD Material.

ITS THE nv4_disp.inf File some CONFIG SETTINGS must be Wrong in the Org INF File from v84.43.
I used for testing the v84.26 nv4_disp.inf FILE with a new Installation of ForceWare v84.43 and it works also with HardwareOverlay.

i guess in the 83.43 nv4_disp.inf is something wrong because the HardwareOverlay isnt available in PureVideo isnt Active only Software Overlay.
http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/9205/neu22ye.gif (http://imageshack.us)

betterdan
04-26-06, 07:44 AM
I downloaded the trial version and tried it and dvd movies made the purevideo icon appear in the system tray but watching any HD files (like the Step Into Liquid file from Microsoft) didn't bring up the systray icon at all and the cpu usage was 55-65%.

sharangad
04-26-06, 08:07 AM
I have same System and settings as before it seems the nVIDIA PureVideo Decoder v1.02.196 the HW Overlaymode is no longer in use.
doesnt work with ForceWare v84.43 in v84.25 v84.26 it worked.
http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/7336/neu23if.gif (http://imageshack.us)

[b]Jepp its Fact PureVideo is broken in the ForceWare 84.43 Drivers
ive testet v84.26 Drivers an it worked same Settings. see SecondScreenshot.
The Playback of MPEG2 + MPEG2 TransportStream *.ts HD Material.


I have forceware 84.43 and the PureVideo decoder and it doesn't use software YUV modes on mine, insteading using DXVA MPEG2_Mode A or Mode B. I think you've got some other codecs like DivX G400 for adjusting aspect ratio or something in teh codec filter chain.

Try playing back the clip with the freeware version of Zoom Player and seeing what other codecs are in the filter chain. Alternatively, you could use GraphEdit. I'm 100000000000000% sure that you have some other codec in the chain. Have you installed any other codecs recently, such as a codec pack?

Some MPEG-2 HD TS files cause teh PureVideo decoder to go flaky. Opening and playing back a clip sometimes causes it to render in software mode. Closing it and reopening it will usually fix it. I've had this happen to me quite a few times.

sharangad
04-26-06, 08:15 AM
I downloaded the trial version and tried it and dvd movies made the purevideo icon appear in the system tray but watching any HD files (like the Step Into Liquid file from Microsoft) didn't bring up the systray icon at all and the cpu usage was 55-65%.


The Purevideo decoder is an MPEG-2 decoder. You'll only see it for MPEG-2 files both standard def and HD.

Step into Liquid is a WMV HD file and at the moment the only WMV HD decoders available are Microsoft's ( built into Windows ) and Nero's.

To get hardware acceleration ( also known as the Purevideo video features of the GF6/7 family, not to be confused with the PureVideo DVD/MPEG-2 decoder* ) of WMV HD you need Microsoft's kb888656 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888656/)and the associated security patch and then set WMP to VMR Overlay or VMR High Quality mode. This should produce a reduction in CPU usage with WMV HD clips which are 720p or 1080p.

H264 decoding, which is another PureVideo feature of Geforce 6/7 cards is available with a third party decoder such as the ones available here:

http://www.nero.com/enu/NVidia.php

and here

http://www.cyberlink.com/oem/nVidia/0602/enu/index.jsp

This should allow for playback of H264 video such as Apple's Quicktime HD clips. Once again you won't get a PureVideo decoder icon for WMV HD or H264 clips as these are decoded by something else.

nekrosoft13
04-26-06, 09:12 AM
coreavc and coreacc is much better at playing H264 files and supports hardware decoding also

AngelGraves13
04-26-06, 04:33 PM
I had the same problem after a fresh install of windows sp2. After I installed DirectX 9.0c (april 2006 managed code) it went away. It now shows hardware. Also, you might want to check out VMR 9 mode.

betterdan
04-26-06, 06:19 PM
Ok thanks sharangad. I didn't know about all that before but now it makes sense.

betterdan
04-28-06, 08:38 AM
Thanks again sharangad, I just downloaded and installed those patches. Now when I play back an WMV HD clip (Step Into Liquid) the cpu usage stays between 30-50% with an average of about 36% I'd say. :)

Morrow
04-29-06, 12:35 PM
To get hardware acceleration ( also known as the Purevideo video features of the GF6/7 family, not to be confused with the PureVideo DVD/MPEG-2 decoder* ) of WMV HD you need Microsoft's kb888656 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888656/)and the associated security patch and then set WMP to VMR Overlay or VMR High Quality mode. This should produce a reduction in CPU usage with WMV HD clips which are 720p or 1080p.

I cannot get this to work, 1080p WMVHD videos still need 70% CPU-time on my first CPU core. I tried 84.43 and 84.56 drivers with no luck.

I really hope that his hardware decode support is build-in in WMP 11 so that we don't have to play around with "secret" MS patches to enable the support.

sharangad
04-29-06, 04:47 PM
I cannot get this to work, 1080p WMVHD videos still need 70% CPU-time on my first CPU core. I tried 84.43 and 84.56 drivers with no luck.

I really hope that his hardware decode support is build-in in WMP 11 so that we don't have to play around with "secret" MS patches to enable the support.


All 6800 Ultras and 6800 GTs had broken programmable video processors.

All AGP cards with 6800 in the name ( therefore based on NV40 ) have a broken PVP ( i.e. 6800 vanilla, 6800 GS, 6800 XT, 6800 Ultra, 6800 GT ).

All PCI-E 6800 cards which are not GTs nor Ultras have working PVPs ( i.e. 6800 vanilla, 6800 GS, 6800 XT and so on ).

The full list of supported features on each card can be seen here:

http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

I dunno if this applies to you.

Morrow
04-29-06, 10:23 PM
I got a 7900 GTX, driver newer than the 84.12 indicated on nvidia's purevideo page and WMP all patched up to the latest version. That's why I was wondering why 1080p WMVHD still need that much CPU time.

sharangad
04-30-06, 04:14 AM
I got a 7900 GTX, driver newer than the 84.12 indicated on nvidia's purevideo page and WMP all patched up to the latest version. That's why I was wondering why 1080p WMVHD still need that much CPU time.

Did you switch to VMR HQ or VMR overlay mode in WMP10's Tools menu, options, Performance tab, advanced?

Morrow
04-30-06, 07:14 AM
Did you switch to VMR HQ or VMR overlay mode in WMP10's Tools menu, options, Performance tab, advanced?

I just did some test on my X2 4800+ and I found out that when using the overlay mode, CPU0 is running at 80% and CPU1 at 0%. With HQ mode, CPU0 is using 50% and CPU1 30%.

In the end the overlay utilization is the same, only the HQ mode makes better use out of my dualcore but I cannot anyhow notice hardware decode acceleration with my 7900GTX. Something's wrong

sharangad
04-30-06, 10:14 AM
I just did some test on my X2 4800+ and I found out that when using the overlay mode, CPU0 is running at 80% and CPU1 at 0%. With HQ mode, CPU0 is using 50% and CPU1 30%.

In the end the overlay utilization is the same, only the HQ mode makes better use out of my dualcore but I cannot anyhow notice hardware decode acceleration with my 7900GTX. Something's wrong


There shouldn't be a difference between VMR HQ and VMR overlay in terms of CPU utilisation. Try disabling VMR (untick use video mixing renderer ), so that it runs in plain Jane overlay. See what the CPU utilisation is like then. That should be the real test of how much is being offloaded.

On my Athlon 64 2800 @ 1.8 GHz, with acceleration on older drivers, the CPU utilisation is at most 77%. So if yer 4400+ is really two Athlon 64 2400 cores running, the CPU utilisation sounds about right. I'm guessing if you disable VMR altogether you proly won't be able to play it back without hitting 100%.

That's actually weird. The Microsoft WMV decoder is supposed to be multi-threaded and made excellent use of hyperthreading, making an unplayable clip on a Pentium 4 3 GHz without HT playback perfectly with HT turned on. Have you installed the AMD CPU driver for XP?

betterdan
04-30-06, 11:06 AM
He should be getting way less than 80% cpu utilization with an X2 4800+ I think.
What file are you using to test, Morrow, and where can I download it just to see what I get?

Morrow
04-30-06, 12:29 PM
ok, I did some further tests using "nVidia_PureVideo_1080p.wmv"

Using the overlay mode, my first CPU core is running at 80%, the second at 0%.
Disabling VMR at all, result the first CPU core running at 90%, the second still at 0%.

So, there is a 10% increase of free CPU ressources when enabling VMR. Somehow this seems to me being very low, I expected much more from the 7900GTX purevideo features than a mere 10%.

For those who might not know, a X2 4800 is composed of two A64 4000+ single CPU cores. So, the result should be comparable to a A64 4000+ with 1mb of cache because my second core is actually not used at all when playing videos with WMP.

To answer the last question sharangad, yes, I have the latest AMD CPU X2 drivers installed.

sharangad
04-30-06, 03:51 PM
ok, I did some further tests using "nVidia_PureVideo_1080p.wmv"


The nVidia PureVideo clip unfortunately isn't the best clip to test with. On my ATi Radeon X1600 Pro, this clip even stutters in some places and the CPU reduction isn't particularly dramatic.

You're best off testing everyone's reference clip which is "Step into Liquid 1080p".

You can get this from Microsoft at:

http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/a/d/eadb9b42-728b-42b0-bfdf-b472fa2a2464/Step_into_Liquid_1080.exe

I suspect with this clip you'll find a significant reduction in CPU utilisation. For some reason the Purevideo demo clip isn't particularly well accelerated by any hardware. My AGP 6600 GT doesn't accelerate any WMV HD with the current drivers. When I tried the Radeon X1600 Pro, I thought that ATi weren't providing as much acceleration as nVidia were on their PCI-E cards. I guess I was wrong and both camps can't accelerate this particular clip.

Step into Liquid 1080p is an 8 Mbps, 1440x1080 clip ( 16:9 anamorphic ) clip. The Purevideo demo is an 8 Mbps 1920x1080 clip. There're other 1920x1080p clips which play back perfectly at 8 Mbps. In particular, the Alexander trailer springs to mind:

http://download.microsoft.com/download/4/3/d/43dc9661-f69b-4735-9797-b3c98199085e/Alexander_Trailer_1080p.exe

This has DRM on it as well and so should be more taxing.

I suspect when it comes to actually playing back HD-DVDs and stuff the GPU based solutions proly won't stand a chance. I say this because the first wave of HD-DVDs are 1920x1080p24 clips recorded at an amazing 20 Mbps and are allegedly transparent to the master and don't have any artefacting whatsoever.

There's a whole slew of WMV HD trailers at:http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/musicandvideo/hdvideo/contentshowcase.aspx

There're also WMV HD DVDs ( ordinary DVDs with high def transfers which playback only on PCs ) from Germany (http://www.hd-tec.com/magazin.html) They have disc based DRM which means unlike Terminator 2: Extreme Edition which required you to obtain a license everytime via the internet ( and you had to have a US IP address as this was a method of enforcing a region lock. My copy is unfortunately unplayabale since I'm outside the US).

betterdan
05-01-06, 06:41 AM
Ok I just downloaded and played that nVidia_PureVideo_1080p.wmv file. Most of the time it stayed under 40% cpu usage. It spiked high 3 times and only for a few seconds. When it showed the bubbling water up close it spiked to 75%, when it showed the cars rushing around it spiked to 74% and near the end when it showed the raindrops hitting the water up close and rippling it spiked to 74%.
Overall I would say the whole clip averaged about 40% cpu usage. That purevideo clip was pretty impressive with some great visuals.

I also downloaded from Nero Digitals site the Into The Blue_Cin_ASP file and the Into The Blue_Cin_AVC file. I played the clips with Nero Showtime 2 (I am using the player from Nero 6, I don't have Nero 7) first and it averaged around 38% average for Into The Blue_Cin_ASP but the Into The Blue_Cin_AVC file played at about 55% average.
Next I tried the Quicktime player but the Into The Blue_Cin_ASP would break up and pixellize and the IntoTheBlue_Cin_AVC file would skip and pause with 100% cpu usage.
Finally I tried the WMP and for Into The Blue_Cin_ASP file it never went above 30% usage and averaged about 22%. I tried the Into The Blue_Cin_AVC file and it spiked to 80% and averaged about 58%. This file seems to be the toughest on the cpu out of the bunch.

Morrow, on Microsoft's pages where you download the patches it states the files it replaces and what versions they are. Maybe you could check those same files on your computer and see if they are the versions Microsoft mentions.

DarkJedi664
05-05-06, 10:21 AM
i just registered because i'm having this same issue but with 84.56. and seriously, only 1 person in this entire thread even tried helping this guy, the rest just talked about off topic crap. so how about we get on topic and get this issue solved??? and the reinstall of directx didn't work for me.

betterdan
05-05-06, 06:13 PM
Sorry if this upsets our new member, but Morrow did you get your problem straightened out?

betterdan
05-09-06, 10:30 PM
My son reinstalled a game today that automatically reinstalled windows media player and that made the hardware acceleration quit working for HD files again. I ended up having to uninstall the KB888656 hot fix patch from Microsoft and then reinstalling it. Works fine again.
Had me sweating for a moment, I thought the acceleration was borked.