PDA

View Full Version : F.E.A.R Retail 1.04 Patch


GlowStick
04-27-06, 03:39 PM
New FEAR patch is out

This patch updates F.E.A.R. from version 1.03 to version 1.04. Please note that this patch applies to all language versions. The changes are as follows:

* Code changes to allow the source code release.

F.E.A.R. 1.04 @ ShackSpace (http://glowstickinsightbb.shackspace.com/patch/fear_update_103_104.exe) *No Login/Waiting

F.E.A.R. 1.04 @ FileShack (http://www.fileshack.com/file.x?fid=8704)

Tygerwoody
04-27-06, 03:54 PM
can you show us what the patch includes? its blocked from my viewing at work.

Peoples-Agent
04-27-06, 04:38 PM
* Code changes to allow the source code release.

Is that IT? ...wtf lol

Time to head over to the VU forums me thinks.

Peoples-Agent
04-27-06, 04:42 PM
Right, here's the official word on it all and the whys....

As part of its continuing support for Sierra Entertainment's award-winning F.E.A.R. (First Encounter Assault Recon), Vivendi Universal Games' today announced the release of the V1.04 update. This update allows user created content built with the FEAR source code (also released today) to be compatible with the original F.E.A.R. product. In addition, Vivendi Games is pleased to announce that the forthcoming Version 1.05 update will include two brand new multiplayer game modes; Control and Capture All.

Control mode: Two teams compete for three Control Points. Teams earn points for each Control Point they hold. To win, one team must reach the score limit before their opposition or have the highest score when the time limit expires.

Capture All mode: Two teams compete for five Control Points. Team points are earned for neutralizing or capturing a Control Point as well as killing enemy players. To win, one team must capture all five Control Points, reach the score limit before opposing team does, or have the highest score when the time limit expires.

- prepares F.E.A.R. SP/MP for source-code modification
- upgrades the SDK Public Tools (heavy upgrade+documentation)

So basically, this means we should see a nice wave of mods coming out.

About time.

XDanger
05-01-06, 07:43 AM
after i installed the patch I was able to play fear in 2048 x 1536 mode ,it ran like a bit of a slideshow on minimum quality settings but it played .Now it seems this resolution does not exist in fear on my pc .I did not imagine this or make a mistake 2048 x 1536!! how can i get this screen mode back ??? All available screen modes my 800/400 pipeline unlocked agp 6800td does were available in the game, Whats goin on here. Please dont tell me fear cant play in 2048 x 1536 as I know differently :)

Peoples-Agent
05-01-06, 07:59 AM
after i installed the patch I was able to play fear in 2048 x 1536 mode ,it ran like a bit of a slideshow on minimum quality settings but it played .Now it seems this resolution does not exist in fear on my pc .I did not imagine this or make a mistake 2048 x 1536!! how can i get this screen mode back ??? All available screen modes my 800/400 pipeline unlocked agp 6800td does were available in the game, Whats goin on here. Please dont tell me fear cant play in 2048 x 1536 as I know differently :)

Why on earth would you want to play a slideshow on low settings? LOL

XDanger
05-01-06, 09:50 AM
when i say slideshow i mean 30fps, im upgrading soon so ...

XDanger
05-01-06, 09:51 AM
but beyond that , does this resolution exist officially in fear?

XDanger
05-01-06, 10:44 AM
thankyou :)

MaXThReAT
05-01-06, 07:07 PM
I'm not sure what you all are talking about but I've had the option of 2048x1536 for some time now. I think from the start. It would always give me a warning message as I passed it with 4xAA enabled. I have a monitor that supports it so I didn't think anything of it. I'll be trying it out more tonight as I'm getting my second 7900gtsc tonight. I can play 1920x1440 without issue softshadows off of course, 4x 16x with gamma and transparent ssAA. We'll see how 2048x1536 looks tonight.

XDanger
05-02-06, 03:48 PM
yes it would seem i am talking rubbish, only I didnt have the option of the hi res before the patch , 2048 1536 still doesnt work on my pc