PDA

View Full Version : I Said I was Not Going To Do IT,BUT I Did


john19055
04-30-06, 10:46 PM
I said I was just going to keep my 7800GT CO SLI set up ,but I was offered a fair price for them ,So I just order the New EVGA 7900GT KO with the new larger heatsink and fan,It should get a little better FPS in my games with the extra pipes and faster clocks ,It has 1.4ns memory on it ,I wounder how well it will overclock ,The 2ns on my 7800GT did 220 over there rated speed.

jcniest5
04-30-06, 11:03 PM
Well, good luck and enjoy your two new cards. Hope them will bring you many hours of enjoyment.

Quijonsith
04-30-06, 11:04 PM
I take it that it had been too long to step up.

SLippe
05-01-06, 02:54 AM
Did you order two of them? Also, they should overclocked nicely, especially if you do the 1.55v mod. Enjoy.

john19055
05-02-06, 04:51 AM
Yes I order two of them ,I should have them on Thursday.

AliceCooper
05-02-06, 04:01 PM
I said I was just going to keep my 7800GT CO SLI set up ,but I was offered a fair price for them ,So I just order the New EVGA 7900GT KO with the new larger heatsink and fan,It should get a little better FPS in my games with the extra pipes and faster clocks ,It has 1.4ns memory on it ,I wounder how well it will overclock ,The 2ns on my 7800GT did 220 over there rated speed.

I've got a Gainward Bliss Goes Like Hell 7800GT that has 512mb of 1.2ns Ram (Same as 7900 series I think). Out of the box it runs at 450 core 1.3 memory and on stock cooling I can get it to run at 500 core, 1.4 memory without a sweat. Will prob go to 1.5 or above but I can't voltmod so I don't bother.

You should have a nice overclocker there!

:D

john19055
05-08-06, 04:01 AM
Well I got my two EVGA 7900GT KO's last week and put one in just see what one would do ,I got to windows and loaded the drivers and ran 3D05 and it was pauseing real bad and then all of the sudden everthing just went blank I was'nt even overclocking it heck I did'nt even get though one benchmark,so that card was DOA ,I put my other 7900GT KO in and so far it has worked perfect and the memory overclocks like cazy,I have not did no volt mods on it and I had it running at 570/950(1900),It has some good 1.4ns memory on it ,I hope when I get my other 7900GT KO back,the memory is as good as this one.I will have to do a volt mod if I want my core to go any higher.But the 1.3 and 1.4v or the 1.5v mod is real easy.If I do it I am just going for the 1.3v ,I would like to run them at 600/1800 at least.

DarkOneX
05-08-06, 02:24 PM
How you peeps get so lucky on overclocks? I generally can only get maybe 20Mhz overclocks on video cards and 100Mhz stable overclocks on CPU's. This card I have now (7900 GT CO Superclock but soon the Sig Series), and the last one I even had to underclock a tad because they were artifacting.

Also, you shoulda waited a bit and got 2 7900GT Signature Series, that woulda owned more.

SLippe
05-08-06, 07:08 PM
How you peeps get so lucky on overclocks? I generally can only get maybe 20Mhz overclocks on video cards and 100Mhz stable overclocks on CPU's. This card I have now (7900 GT CO Superclock but soon the Sig Series), and the last one I even had to underclock a tad because they were artifacting.

Also, you shoulda waited a bit and got 2 7900GT Signature Series, that woulda owned more.
You should be able to overclock the 7900 GT or any card for that matter more than just 20mhz. Something's not right there. As for your cpu, that is a whole other story.