PDA

View Full Version : Memory/RAM Problems?


Bearclaw
05-01-06, 12:26 AM
I have 2, 1 Gig sticks of DDR 400 Mhz and it is only showing up at operating at 200 Mhz (each stick)on my PC Wizard. How would I go about getting it up to 400 Mhz like it says it should be? So shouldn't each stick be getting 400 Mhz or no?

|MaguS|
05-01-06, 12:50 AM
20Mhz? Thats not possible... that I know of.

If you ment 200Mhz then thats probably right, I don't know how the application displays the frequency of ram but DDR400 ram runs on two channel 200mhz frequency which is effective as 400mhz (2x200=400).

Basically each ram stick runs at 200mhz which in turn equals 400mhz, aka DDR400.

BashfulTux
05-01-06, 12:33 PM
20Mhz? Thats not possible... that I know of.

If you ment 200Mhz then thats probably right, I don't know how the application displays the frequency of ram but DDR400 ram runs on two channel 200mhz frequency which is effective as 400mhz (2x200=400).

Basically each ram stick runs at 200mhz which in turn equals 400mhz, aka DDR400.

It reads/writes on both ends of the clock cycle which being at 200 x 2 gives you the 400 for the speed it has nothing to do with two sticks. What the original poster is seeing is the actual FSB bus speed of 200 Mhz displayed in the program used which is what it should be, a screen shot of the program would be nice to see just to confirm this though ....

ViN86
05-01-06, 02:04 PM
It reads/writes on both ends of the clock cycle which being at 200 x 2 gives you the 400 for the speed it has nothing to do with two sticks. What the original poster is seeing is the actual FSB bus speed of 200 Mhz displayed in the program used which is what it should be, a screen shot of the program would be nice to see just to confirm this though ....
i agree, hard to tell what exactly what hes referring to (FSB or actual memory speed) without a screenshot.

also, id try CPU-Z, it makes it clear what speed the memory is running at. im sure you will then be able to see that your memory is indeed running at its recommended speeds. these mobos are pretty smart. unless you physically downclock the memory, the mobo wont sell you short ;)
CPUZ Download Link (http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-133.zip)

Bearclaw
05-01-06, 06:59 PM
Here is a screenshot:

http://www.brucebere.com/ss1.jpg

Rytr
05-01-06, 07:13 PM
Your PC3200 rated ram is running at 200MHz which is the correct default timing for that rating. Since the ram is DDR (double data rate) that effectively makes it 400MHz DDR.

Bearclaw
05-01-06, 09:35 PM
Your PC3200 rated ram is running at 200MHz which is the correct default timing for that rating. Since the ram is DDR (double data rate) that effectively makes it 400MHz DDR.

Ok, thanks for all your help.