PDA

View Full Version : Don't buy the Gainward 7900GT 512!


Pages : [1] 2

pault123
05-04-06, 06:42 PM
I paid an extra 50 after my EVGA 7900gt went faulty and thought the extra 256 memory would be useful for oblivion and future games.

Up to now in 3dmark05 its 1000 points behind my RMA'd EVGA :(

The Gainward Bliss factory clocks at 550/1400 the EVGA clocked at 500/1500

Here is the stock tests 1st with the 84.21

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8421.jpg

then the 84.25

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8425.jpg


the the 84.43

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8443.jpg


then my best score on the EVGA on was with 84.25 and I easily got >>>

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/evga8425.jpg



Now the above tests are all at the stock speeds. I would have hoped the bliss at 550 core as opposed to evga 500 core would have come out tops, as I understand core affects benchmarks more than memory?

So up to now the EVGA with 1000 more on the memory and 50 mhz slower on the core with 256 meg less memory AND slower speed memory chips, is beating the bliss.

Would you expect this?


..................

update ive just increased the memory to 1450 and gone with the 84.25's as they gave me the best overall score. My benchmark has gone down! >>

84.25 Bliss 550/1450>>

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8425memory725.jpg

I'm going to try the memory at 1500 next, but am very confused with my results up to now! :(

nutcrackr
05-04-06, 07:11 PM
I think something is wrong here, I've been looking at benchmarks using the same card on another forum (overlclockers.com.au) and a few people with the card are getting ~9300 in 3dmark05, ~5200 with 3dmark06 at stock clocks.

jAkUp
05-04-06, 07:14 PM
I think something is wrong here, I've been looking at benchmarks using the same card on another forum (overlclockers.com.au) and a few people with the card are getting ~9300 in 3dmark05, ~5200 with 3dmark06 at stock clocks.

Remember that 3DMark06 relys heavily on the CPU that you have. 05 does now as well since it is becoming CPU bottlenecked.

nutcrackr
05-04-06, 07:16 PM
Remember that 3DMark06 relys heavily on the CPU that you have. 05 does now as well since it is becoming CPU bottlenecked.
yeah but he is getting lower scores with the same system as his older card which makes absolutely no sense at all. Do you need to use driver cleaner when moving to different nvidia products?

Monnie Rock
05-05-06, 12:20 AM
Just shows how the speed of the memory really is. Bandwidth

eva2000
05-05-06, 01:03 AM
apparently 512mb gainy has 0mhz delta while eVGA has +20mhz delta so real clocks are

eVGA = 500 + 20 = 520mhz core / 1500mhz
Gainward = 550 + 0 = 550mhz core / 1400mhz

JMerrick
05-05-06, 01:14 AM
100 points is meaningless. There is at least as much natural variation between runs.

Lfctony
05-05-06, 01:49 AM
Something is definitely wrong with your GW score. I was scoring 8100 with a 3500+ and a 7800GTX OC, that's at 460/1300.

woz_mann
05-05-06, 02:20 AM
go play a game for christs sake.

100 pts is meaningless (as stated above)

crack up the AA + AF and see the difference of 512mb of RAM

MindBlank
05-05-06, 02:45 AM
What PSU do you have?

Did you thoroughly clean the drivers after removal?

K-1
05-05-06, 03:37 AM
One other thing to note: in the free edition of 3Dmark05, you're limited to 1024x768 resolution. The extra memory is only going to really be able to flex its muscle at much higher resolutions. Also, maybe 3D'05 simply doesnt have enough texture data to max out even a 256MB card.

pault123
05-05-06, 03:37 AM
Thanks for input guys!

I have a Sandy 3700, OCZ Platinum 2gb dual channel kit 2.5-2-3-5, OCZ Modstream 520w PSU, Hitachi Deskstar SATA2 HDD, Abit KN8 SLI mb, oh and 7 Sharkoon Silent Eagle fans cooling the case!

Nothing is overclocked. I am going to OC my CPU in the future but first want to figure why my EVGA beat the Gainward and why increased the memory clocks gave me a lower benchmark!

Ive used driver cleaner on each new driver install and am using coolbits registry edit to increase the memory clocks. :(

Lfctony
05-05-06, 04:00 AM
To the posters saying "Meaningless", we are not talking about 100 points, we are talking about 1000 points. With another 7900GT he was getting 8600, now he's getting 7600. He made a typo about the difference of 100 points, the screens show it to be 1000... That's hardly standard variation between tests...

pault123
05-05-06, 08:43 AM
To the posters saying "Meaningless", we are not talking about 100 points, we are talking about 1000 points. With another 7900GT he was getting 8600, now he's getting 7600. He made a typo about the difference of 100 points, the screens show it to be 1000... That's hardly standard variation between tests...

Well spotted, yeah 1000 points arghhhh!

I'm just about to up the memory clock to 1500 to match the EVGA and run 3dmark again. Could there be a chance ive got a faulty core? faulty memory?

I should get over it and start gaming but its not the point I spent the extra money for a reason and I would expect a GW Bliss 512 GT to outperform most normal 256 Gt's on the market.

Lfctony
05-05-06, 08:56 AM
You could try a Windows reinstall if all else fails, and then RMA if it's not fixed.

eva2000
05-05-06, 10:11 AM
been ages since i ran single core cpu but now i'm testing opteron 146 on DFI CFX3200-DR with my single 256MB BFG 7800GTX i see your 3dmark05 score is very low!

3dmark05 @473(525)/1350 = 9,083
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1998036

http://www.fileshosts.com/DFI/DFI_CFX3200results/Opteron146/CAB2E_0540FPMW/Corsair/XMS3500C2/2x512/2_1/417/LDT4x/10x/166/300-250-2225-7-14-2212_1.475-3.32-1.85-1.34_ds3dds2_5-5-5_highStrong_4708_300psdelay_8ns5ns/7800GTX/3dmark05_473-1350_9083_tnn.jpg (http://www.fileshosts.com/DFI/DFI_CFX3200results/Opteron146/CAB2E_0540FPMW/Corsair/XMS3500C2/2x512/2_1/417/LDT4x/10x/166/300-250-2225-7-14-2212_1.475-3.32-1.85-1.34_ds3dds2_5-5-5_highStrong_4708_300psdelay_8ns5ns/7800GTX/3dmark05_473-1350_9083.png)

pault123
05-05-06, 10:44 AM
You could try a Windows reinstall if all else fails, and then RMA if it's not fixed.

On what grounds would I RMA it? Would they accept "my 3dmark score is pants"?

Just increased my memory speed to 1500, so now I have a 550/1500 BLiss 512 compared to a evga which has 50mhz less core, 256 less memory and slower ns memory.

and my score.................................

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8425memory750.jpg

Do you think my cpu is bottlenecking? Its only scoring 2611, I know other people with a stock sandy 3700 who score 5000 in the cpu score on 3dmark05.

Heres the settings my cpu runs at> anything look untoward or wrong?

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/sandy3700.jpg

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/sandy3700breakdown.jpg

pault123
05-05-06, 11:11 AM
Just to confuse the matter even further. I reduced the memory down to 660.

Giving me 550/1320. 1320 being the default stock speeds for a lot of 7900gts.

How does this work?

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8425memory660.jpg

my best benchmark yet, exceeding that of the EVGA.

Any ideas?

MUYA
05-05-06, 11:13 AM
Just to confuse the matter even further. I reduced the memory down to 660.

Giving me 550/1320. 1320 being the default stock speeds for a lot of 7900gts.

How does this work?

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/bliss8425memory660.jpg

my best benchmark yet, exceeding that of the EVGA.

Any ideas?
Yeah the card maybe running too hot and the card is automatically throttling down. Do a temp study with differnt clocks ?

mg1973
05-05-06, 11:15 AM
i just ordered one of these cards for 267 delivered,i`ll let you know how i get on with mine.

pault123
05-05-06, 11:18 AM
i just ordered one of these cards for 267 delivered,i`ll let you know how i get on with mine.

Where the hell from?? Mine was 303! (pirate)

pault123
05-05-06, 11:21 AM
Yeah the card maybe running too hot and the card is automatically throttling down. Do a temp study with differnt clocks ?

I used to use Rivatuner but it no longer supports the latest chipsets, can you reccomend a good program to track it all?

So up to now

1320 memory = 8736
1450 memory = 7305
1500 memory = 6461

Should I lower the memory below 1320?

mg1973
05-05-06, 11:25 AM
Where the hell from?? Mine was 303! (pirate)

scan,not sure if its a pricing error or what waiting to see my email confirmation.

what have you got yours clocked to?

MUYA
05-05-06, 11:25 AM
I think you are experiencing throttle down phenomenom. Erm, try benching games witht those settings and default and see if it makes a difference.

pault123
05-05-06, 12:03 PM
I think you are experiencing throttle down phenomenom. Erm, try benching games witht those settings and default and see if it makes a difference.

i play a lot of oblivion, is there any easy way to bench a game? Ive tried saving a certain spot, then loading it with different settings and taking the fraps reading down. Is that accurate enough?