PDA

View Full Version : Which is better Bilinear or Trilinear?


Digital_Trans
05-14-06, 07:26 PM
Which is better Bilinear or Trilinear? I'm running 7900's in SLI mode.

a12ctic
05-14-06, 07:37 PM
im not sure but if
bili=billion and
trili=trilion

do the math :)

CaptNKILL
05-14-06, 07:44 PM
im not sure but if
bili=billion and
trili=trilion

do the math :)
:lol:

close...

bi = two

tri = three

It has to do with texture filtering. Trilinear has smoother boundaries between mip map levels. Bilinear has sharp edged boundaries between mip map levels.

Trilinear will always look better, but it could give a performance hit over bilinear.

Heres a wiki:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trilinear_filtering

a12ctic
05-14-06, 08:07 PM
:lol:

close...

bi = two

tri = three

It has to do with texture filtering. Trilinear has smoother boundaries between mip map levels. Bilinear has sharp edged boundaries between mip map levels.

Trilinear will always look better, but it could give a performance hit over bilinear.

Heres a wiki:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trilinear_filtering
oh so the base is linear :) thx for the correction

Digital_Trans
05-14-06, 08:27 PM
I'm referring to the nVIDIA Forceware drivers. Trilinear is in my option better.
I'm not sure what this feature does. Never the less I've had great performance with this option inabled. :D

RejZoR
05-15-06, 01:44 AM
Anisotropic is even better :P

CaptNKILL
05-15-06, 01:58 AM
Anisotropic is even better :P
Anisotropic can be used with both bilinear and trilinear as far as I know...

RejZoR
05-15-06, 02:07 AM
Thats for mipmapping only.

fps_dean
05-15-06, 09:30 PM
Anisotropic is even better :P
Depends what we're talking about here.

hordaktheman
05-15-06, 09:50 PM
Trilinear will always look better, but it could give a performance hit over bilinear.:slap:

I'm running 7900's in SLI mode.

anthonyl
05-15-06, 10:13 PM
Well I can't say Im a "bi"linear kind a guy...give me a "Menage a trois" anyday!!

CaptNKILL
05-16-06, 12:23 AM
:slap:
It can still give a performance hit ;)

SLippe
05-16-06, 01:42 AM
Yup, it can CaptN.

However, I doubt he'll notice any with SLI 7900's. LOL

Are you talking about Force Mipmaps in the Control Panel? I don't even touch that.

CaptNKILL
05-16-06, 01:55 AM
Yup, it can CaptN.

However, I doubt he'll notice any with SLI 7900's. LOL

Are you talking about Force Mipmaps in the Control Panel? I don't even touch that.
Heh, yeah I didnt say itd be a big hit, but its still there :D

Greg
05-16-06, 05:01 AM
Digital_Trans asks a reasonable question, but you know what, we answer this all the time in this forum. I think we should make a FAQ or sticky that explains in simple english what all these wacky graphics terms are (with pictures of course!). I tried to find some good links for another forum post, but even Googling was a slow and tricky process.

JMerrick
05-16-06, 06:20 AM
You left out "brilinear".