PDA

View Full Version : Why does my 7900GT report wrong ram speed?


Pixelsmack
05-18-06, 08:19 PM
I have the EVGA 7900GT CO and it's supposed to be 550 core and 1500 mem (effective)

Yet 3Dmark 2006 reports a big fat ZERO for both and when I installed COOLBITS 2.0 it shows my core speed correctly but reports ram speed as 750mhz (I realize 750 x 2 is 1500) Is this what they mean by 1500 effective? If so I find that confusing as the ram is DDR3, not DD2. So shouldn't it be tri-pumped?

I've seen so many reviews and they always refer to the ram speed in its effective state. I guess I find it confusing that COOLBITS doesn't display effective. If this is the case.

Oh and my fan always stays on for my card, it never spools down. I don't have FAN ALWAYS ON checked either.

K-1
05-18-06, 08:30 PM
I have the EVGA 7900GT CO and it's supposed to be 550 core and 1500 mem (effective)

Yet 3Dmark 2006 reports a big fat ZERO for both and when I installed COOLBITS 2.0 it shows my core speed correctly but reports ram speed as 750mhz (I realize 750 x 2 is 1500) Is this what they mean by 1500 effective? If so I find that confusing as the ram is DDR3, not DD2. So shouldn't it be tri-pumped?

I've seen so many reviews and they always refer to the ram speed in its effective state. I guess I find it confusing that COOLBITS doesn't display effective. If this is the case.

Oh and my fan always stays on for my card, it never spools down. I don't have FAN ALWAYS ON checked either.

use the online result browser included with 3DMark 06 and you'll see that all 7900GTs are reported as having 0 speeds. as you can guess, 3Dmark 06 doesn't properly recognize the 7900GT. As for why your RAM is being reported at half its speed, here is the direct quote from the sticky in this very forum:

This question gets asked alot around here, the reason why its showing 800 is because the memorry is ddr which equates to double the speed hence ddr(double data rate) i.e 800mhz ir 1600mhz ddr. Also there are 3 speeds at which a card runs at; 3d performance, 3d low power and 2d all of which are different.

As for your fan always being on, do you mean it never spins down from the speed it starts at when you first boot up?

Pixelsmack
05-19-06, 03:59 AM
Thx for the info.

Yes my GPU fans never spins down from first bootup speed. Like my old 7800GT did.

Richteralan
05-19-06, 10:06 AM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=67914

MadKent
05-21-06, 05:45 PM
If so I find that confusing as the ram is DDR3, not DD2. So shouldn't it be tri-pumped?

DDR3 is just a Double Data Rate (DDR) subcategory, it doesn't mean Triple Data Rate. That would be cool though :D

john19055
05-23-06, 02:09 PM
Coolbits2 at least shows what it is ,you just have to double the memory to get the actual clock rate you are running,with AtiTool you have to multiply by 4 to get your memory clock rate.