PDA

View Full Version : AA at high res, who would do it


Pages : [1] 2

XMAN52373
05-20-06, 02:42 PM
High res is defined as 1600x1200 and up. AF is not added as it is given it shall be used to one degree or another.

Burpy
05-20-06, 02:47 PM
I use 4xAA/8AF on all my games at 1680x1050 already. :)

OWA
05-20-06, 02:53 PM
Yeah, I try to use 4xAA/16xAF at 1920x1200.

CaptNKILL
05-20-06, 03:03 PM
I dont really agree with the reasons for the choices in the poll, but I rarely if ever use AA. I cant stand the inconsistant performance it brings at high resolutions. Like in Battlefield 2, the game runs perfectly smooth at 1600x1200 with 4xTAA. But when I look at the leaves on trees or I go up to large plants (ie, sprites) the mouse lags by like a quarter of a second. AA has always been like this for me on every system I've ever had. The performance just isnt consistant enough for me to ever even bother using it.

myshkinbob
05-20-06, 03:17 PM
Where's the option for "Yes, because i have a decent display!" ;)

Even at 1600x1200, providing your CRT has a fine dot pitch, you get aliasing. Of course the same is even more true for any LCD with a native res of 1600-x-something.

The benefit of AA at 1600x1200 is obvious on my setup, so much so that the difference between 2xAA and 4xAA is still quite apparent. But on my other pc, that has a cheapo AOC 19", 1600x1200 res gives a very softened image, it wouldn't need any AA at all.

Essentially higher resolutions do not automatically provide less aliasing, if you move up display size and quality when you move up resolution. Ultimately it depends on how capable a display is to provide a sharp accurate image at a given res.

If you find you don't need any AA at high resolutions, buy a better display!

SH64
05-20-06, 04:30 PM
None of the above.
I use AA at high res (1600x1200) because i still need it & can notice the difference it makes ... i'm a graphics wh0re afterall!

FearMeAll
05-20-06, 06:02 PM
FSAA on everything I can at the highest resolution I can.

Marvel_us
05-20-06, 06:06 PM
I use AA at 1600x1200 because I can. Only if framerate is playable though.

smallSHEEP
05-20-06, 07:35 PM
I play battlefield 2 at 1800*1440 with 6x AA and 16x AF, any other games that can get there at 60fps will be played at those settings too.

jAkUp
05-20-06, 09:27 PM
I can't stand jaggies... I need my high res + AA :D

a12ctic
05-20-06, 09:30 PM
I rarly use it, even when i can (6600GT, i can usualy use it at 1024x768, even in oblivion)

walterman
05-20-06, 10:26 PM
I'm still @ 1280x1024 + 4xAA/16xAF, cause 56GB/s is the minimum for it :D

I'll buy a 1920x1024 screen when 100GB/s cards on sale.

GDDR4 @ 3.2 GHz & 512 bit bus !

Dr@Home
05-20-06, 10:30 PM
I usually leave "High Quality" 16xAF on all the time and then proceed to play at 2304x1440. Older games like UT2004 and Planetside, i'll add 4xAA to it.
Newer games like Q4 and Oblivion I won't simply because I can't with a single card. :p 7900GT is still a great card though!

.

Edge
05-21-06, 04:57 AM
I dont really agree with the reasons for the choices in the poll, but I rarely if ever use AA. I cant stand the inconsistant performance it brings at high resolutions. Like in Battlefield 2, the game runs perfectly smooth at 1600x1200 with 4xTAA. But when I look at the leaves on trees or I go up to large plants (ie, sprites) the mouse lags by like a quarter of a second. AA has always been like this for me on every system I've ever had. The performance just isnt consistant enough for me to ever even bother using it.

Have you tried lowering the prerender limit down to 1 or 0 through a utility like Rivatuner? Usually I find mouse lag will appear from time to time if it's kept at it's default of 3. You'll usually get a slightly lower framerate when you lower the prerender limit, but it helps response lag considerably.

nutball
05-21-06, 05:24 AM
FSAA is essential if you have an LCD. Note also that LCDs with larger pixel counts tend to be physically larger panels with the same dot pitch, so it's not immediately obvious that they should be regarded as "higher resolution". The jaggies are just as noticeable, because they are the same angular size (unless you choose to sit further away of course!).

CaptNKILL
05-21-06, 01:36 PM
Have you tried lowering the prerender limit down to 1 or 0 through a utility like Rivatuner? Usually I find mouse lag will appear from time to time if it's kept at it's default of 3. You'll usually get a slightly lower framerate when you lower the prerender limit, but it helps response lag considerably.
Yeah I've always run games with it set to 1 or 0. It does make a difference, but not enough really.

My gripes with AA are mostly just from slow downs in certain areas. For example, smoke and dust has always and still does cause a significant slow down when AA is enabled (probably because things are being AA-ed through multiple layers of transparent sprites). When transparency AA is enabled on my new card I still get the slow downs even in the most basic and smooth running games when there are a lot of sprites. For example, when driving near a forest area in Crashday, the game runs at over 80fps constant on my system everywhere else, even with 4xTAA, but when I go near these forests I get probably 20-30. Without TAA, the framerates never change at all.

I know its pretty much just how it works, more sprites = more TAA, but it really sucks having performance fluctuate so much. AA does look very nice, but I prefer constant smooth framerates over anything.

|MaguS|
05-21-06, 02:35 PM
I run AA on whenever I can and am able to mantain a stable FPS. The lack of AA doesn't bother me much at all at High Resolutions (I play Oblivion @ 1920x1200).

mullet
05-21-06, 03:07 PM
I rarly use it, even when i can (6600GT, i can usualy use it at 1024x768, even in oblivion)

I have a 6800GT and yes im in the same boat as you man. I guess when I upgrade ill be able to use AA, im still stuck at 1024x768 for my games.:(

walterman
05-21-06, 03:30 PM
Usually, a good TFT looks much more sharper. That's why we care more about jaggies than CRT owners.

|MaguS|
05-21-06, 03:32 PM
Usually, a good TFT looks much more sharper. That's why we care more about jaggies than CRT owners.

HAHAHAHAHA

Belarnion
05-21-06, 04:41 PM
HAHAHAHAHA
That would probably be true. Because of how the two kinds of displays work. A DVI attached LCD is "pixel perfect" in the sense that every pixel has 4 *very* sharp corners and each pixel has exact digital information sent to it. A CRT has somewhat "blurred" edges because of the electron gun and some quantum related effects connected to electrons in motion. Combine that with analog input and you easily see why TFT is "sharper" than CRT.

Resolution and AA: I would use 4xAA if I could. All the way up to at least resolutions of 3200x2400 or so on a 20" display. Why? I hate jaggies with a passion. I can't stand them. If I don't use any AA, I easily spot jaggies in a fast moving FPS game running on a 1600x1200, 20" LCD monitor from a distance of 4 feet. I hate it.

john19055
05-23-06, 04:44 AM
there was no use in me getting two 7900GTX's if I was not going to use FSAA at high resolutions.But I have no streaking or ghosting with my heavy CRTs and I can use any resolution I want or at least to 2048x1536 ,I bought two 19inch LCD one was a viewsonic 8ms and one was a spector 8ms and when I went to play NFSMW the ghosting was real noticeable,I am sure they have some that do not ghost but I have the room and Good CRT are cheap and the picture looks good to me and thats all thats count.

MaXThReAT
05-23-06, 12:23 PM
I use AA whenever performance allows. I played Hitman for hours last night 2048x1536 4xAA 16xAF WOW.

stncttr908
05-23-06, 01:34 PM
I use it when it is allowed for. Sadly that's not very often anymore on my aging system, but I have an upgrade planned.

I'm limited to 1280x1024 until I get a new display anyway.

sillyeagle
05-23-06, 08:21 PM
I require 4xAA, even if it means running in 1024x768, which I find superior to 1600x1200 with no AA. Although I these days I use 1152x864 4xAA as my minimum, or 1280x960 4xAA/8xAA if I am able to.

I would use 1600x1200 4xAA if my monitor didn't run it at 60Hz.

My Diamondtron Aperture Grill has a far superior image to any LCD, and at 17", 1280x960 is sharper than 1600x1200 on a larger screen.

1152x864 4xAA in FEAR
1280x960 4xAA in Quake 4
1280x960 8xAA in Half Life 2