PDA

View Full Version : VIA's KT400...


StealthHawk
08-14-02, 01:20 AM
will support DDR400 :p

this has been confirmed in a preview done at Tom's.

PCarr78
08-14-02, 01:24 AM
Who cares?

Hammer is coming soon.

StealthHawk
08-14-02, 02:31 AM
there was a post in this forum saying that it wouldn't.

don't count your Hammers before they're hatched, err built.

TheOneKEA
08-15-02, 08:15 AM
StealthHawk: Read about Abit's KD7-RAID; it has the KT400 chipset and it says right on the page: Supports 2GB registered DDR333/400 SDRAM.

MUYA
08-15-02, 10:02 AM
But are these kt400 mobos avialable? Or rather how soon? I would like one just coz of the ddr 400 and 8X AGP :) i know hammer is coming in q4 this year but NV30 which is also coming q4 apparently, with a nv30 you will probably not need a hammer to get 60+ fps in doom3 at 1024 by 768 and max fsaa and aniso! hammers will probably be priced out of the casual upgraders so, amd thoroughbreds and nv30 for me, with of course a kt400 mobo! :)

MUYA

volt
08-15-02, 01:13 PM
I don't know about you guys, but my next system will be based on nForce2 (hopefully without onboard VGA), Hammer at 2.6 GHz (if http://www.theinquirer.net/ is correct which I doubt) and NV30.

netviper13
08-15-02, 01:56 PM
Although it might not be called nForce2, because they will have to completely change the motherboard for the Hammer chips.

StealthHawk
08-15-02, 09:48 PM
Hammer isn't coming out this year. it was originally hoped by AMD that very small shipments in the thousands would be available in December. but that isn't the case now.

intercede007
08-16-02, 02:21 AM
The KT400 chipset is being unveiled at QuakeCon thats happening this weekend. VIA is one of the events sponsors. There is also rumors that the impending Barton core will appear as an XP 2800+ part with a 333mhz FSB. It will be interesting to see if the motherboard has any sort of official support for that kind of FSB speed. One can only hope. Personally, I'm kind of skeptical about the integrated northbridge on the Hammer. AMD has already had to go back to the drawing boards on it once. I'd be VERY interested in a 333MHZ XP system, considering that the Bartons are also going to have 512K of L2 cache. I could definatly hop onto that bandwagon until a year from now, when I have a little more confidence in the Hammer, or if Intel's Prescott core blows it out of the water. Hmm..kind of sounds like the R300, NV30 quandry all over again. Go with the goods now, or wait and see how it stacks up later? My $.02..cept for the K400 bit..thats fact :D

StealthHawk
08-16-02, 07:04 AM
KT400 supports 166FSB, as do many KT333 mobos.

TheOneKEA
08-16-02, 08:56 AM
Yes, but the KT333 did not officially support a 166MHz clock for the CPU FSB. It only supported 166MHz for the memory FSB. The KT400 is supposed to have official support for a 166MHz FSB clock for the CPU.

FastM
08-16-02, 10:14 AM
Ya know i totaly agree with intercede007, a couple months ago the only upgrade i was considering was the NV30 and the Hammer, But i think AMD is going to be a little late with the Hammer series and the speed increase from moving up to a 333Mhz FSB should be pretty impressive.

john19055
08-17-02, 10:59 AM
How does the A7V333 or the KT333 chipset don't support a 166bus if you unlock yhe XP it will easily do 333 for the proc and the memory runs at 333 .

TheOneKEA
08-17-02, 10:01 PM
I never said the KT333 couldn't run a 166MHz CPU FSB clock; it's just not official. Besides, I don't think any Athlon CPU except the 2x00+ would easily support a 166MHz FSB clock stably, IMO.

netviper13
08-17-02, 10:07 PM
Well we should at least see how the Hammer will perform, as the Opteron line IS expected to ship this year. Hammer performance might be 1-5% less due to smaller cache and such, but it should give a pretty good estimate.

Also, I don't really doubt the Northbridge-on-chip solution, as that Hammer chip running at 800mhz that we saw previewed certainly kicked some butt.

DaSnIpE
08-18-02, 09:13 PM
They might have to disable the northbridge on-chip, because of DDR-II coming out soon as well.

Cotita
08-20-02, 02:26 AM
I think VIA should skip a 333mhz bus and go for 400mhz.

Epox mobos can easily reach 200mhz (400 DDR) speeds even with the PCI/AGP overclocked.

Besides running the bus and memory asynchronously gives a neglible performance increase.

StealthHawk
08-20-02, 04:00 AM
you can overclock Athlon FSB's to 400?

PsychoSy
08-20-02, 03:03 PM
Here's another VIA embarrassment from Jasper of VIAHardware...

VIA officially announced their KT400 chipset for the AMD Athlon line of processors last week at QuakeCon. The live demo on the chipset was less then impressive however. Following up roughly 1000 people to watch John Carmack's speech, 15 people or so stuck around to watch what VIA had to show off. VIA had spent a lot of money to be at QuakeCon and to appeal to more of the gaming side of things, however the live demo of KT400 running Quake3 saw continued crashes. Overheating ram was blamed. Despite this embarrassing demo, VIA had great support from their motherboard partners who were showing off many KT400 boards as we showed you in our QuakeCon coverage.

So, let me get this straight: DDR 400 runs the Q3 and Doom 3 demos smoothly on Nforce, SiS, and Intel chipsets, but once its paired with the VIA KT400, the RAM suddenly and inexplicibly overheats resulting in crashes?!?

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Sounds more like VIA dropped the ball again with their chipset! :p