PDA

View Full Version : BFG 7900GTX, Sentinel saying insufficient power, Bogus!


Redeemer007
05-24-06, 08:57 AM
My system is fine, I have checked all the voltages. Running a Enermax Liberty 600 watt, two seperate 12v rails. My rig is not stressing the PSU at all. Can't figure out whats going on, its not freeezing or anything. Sentinel says that it has lower the performance of my card because the card is not being fed enough juice.

Would appreciate any help.

|MaguS|
05-24-06, 09:02 AM
It could be your PSU isn't up to stuff, Have you tried swapping it out?

I would never personally buy an Enermax PSU.

Redeemer007
05-24-06, 09:06 AM
It could be your PSU isn't up to stuff, Have you tried swapping it out?

I would never personally buy an Enermax PSU.


Yeah I have already checked the PSU its acting normally. I am coming from a X1900XTX, which had problems (artifacts). My rig ran the X1900XTX fine considering that XTX draws more juice. I think its a problem with the BFG bios.

nubbage
05-24-06, 09:38 AM
I think the problem is the buggy 7900 gtx. What a waste of my time and money.

Redeemer007
05-24-06, 01:05 PM
The card had a 7900GT bios on it WTF, I just flashed it to the BFG 7900GTX Bios what it should have been. The card is perfect now, man the quality of the 7900 has just gone to hell I tell ya. Add in board partners need to take QA seriouly.

|MaguS|
05-24-06, 01:12 PM
The card had a 7900GT bios on it WTF, I just flashed it to the BFG 7900GTX Bios what it should have been. The card is perfect now, man the quality of the 7900 has just gone to hell I tell ya. Add in board partners need to take QA seriouly.

Thats the issue, I don't know why you would blame the 7900 series at all. Nvidia developed a great chip, blame the company behind the board...

a12ctic
05-24-06, 06:23 PM
i havnt had a good experiance with them (bfg), xfx and evga always seem to ahve better quality

john19055
05-26-06, 06:13 AM
On my power supply when I have just one 7900GTX EGS installed it reads 12.140 and when I hooked up two to run in SLI it drops my 12v rail to 11.980.

lee63
05-26-06, 06:29 AM
Im getting the same problem , I went from a PCP&C 510 SLI ASL to a OCZ GameXStream 700w and I still get that message and I have the correct Bios :thumbdwn: Looks like theres another problem with these cards. Im a little pissed off I had to change out PSUs but I prolly need the 700w for Quad anyway :D

DJB
05-26-06, 09:28 AM
Just an FYI. In testing of powersupplies by Nvidia, it has been shown that for whatever reason, powersupplies with single 12v rails had fewer problems providing power to the graphics cards, even in SLI, than powersupplies with dual 12v rails. It seens that the oposite should be true, but it is not turning out that way.

DJB

lopri
05-26-06, 10:58 AM
It could be your PSU isn't up to stuff, Have you tried swapping it out?

I would never personally buy an Enermax PSU.

2nd that. Such a shady company.

lee63
05-26-06, 04:17 PM
2nd that. Such a shady company.But PCP&C and OCZ are not shady, I dont think this is PSU realated.

jAkUp
05-26-06, 04:18 PM
My guess is the card, I would recommend to get it replaced