PDA

View Full Version : Performance problems? Weird please take a look.


PeterJensen
05-24-06, 12:48 PM
Ok so i bought an Acer E360 computer.

Specs :

AMD x2 3800+
2 GB ram
And with my 7600GT card.

So the setup i had before :

Intel P4 3.2 ghz
1 gb ram
And with the 7600GT card scored :

About 13000 in 3dmark 03 and about 6200 in 05.

With the new system i get : 11500 in 3dmark 03 and 5100 in 05.

The Acer is totaly new formated with alle the drivers.

Anny one got some ide'as ?

http://www.acer.dk/acereuro/page9.do;jsessionid=8E12A6685D1647A6987886C187731A EA?dau34.oid=14811&UserCtxParam=0&GroupCtxParam=0&dctx1=5&CountryISOCtxParam=DK&LanguageISOCtxParam=da&crc=2016930404

PeterJensen
05-24-06, 01:21 PM
No one? :(.

schuey74
05-24-06, 02:31 PM
1. You're testing single threaded apps when using 3DMark '03 & '05. A 2.0 Ghz A64 is more or less equal to your old P4 in this case. Also, your X2 has only 512k of cache and your "old" P4 has 1 meg, unless it's a Northwood. So I would say that's it's pretty likely that your new rig may be slightly slower than your old one in single threaded apps.

2. Are the two gigs in your new system in two dimms or four? If it's four, you can knock a few more percentage points off of your performance.

3. When you say your new system is formatted do you mean you formatted it yourself upon buying it brand new? If you didn't format it yourself then it's very likely you've got plently of bloatware bogging it down.

4. And finally, are you sure your video card wasn't oc'ed when you ran the benches on your old rig?

PeterJensen
05-24-06, 04:35 PM
1. You're testing single threaded apps when using 3DMark '03 & '05. A 2.0 Ghz A64 is more or less equal to your old P4 in this case. Also, your X2 has only 512k of cache and your "old" P4 has 1 meg, unless it's a Northwood. So I would say that's it's pretty likely that your new rig may be slightly slower than your old one in single threaded apps.

2. Are the two gigs in your new system in two dimms or four? If it's four, you can knock a few more percentage points off of your performance.

3. When you say your new system is formatted do you mean you formatted it yourself upon buying it brand new? If you didn't format it yourself then it's very likely you've got plently of bloatware bogging it down.

4. And finally, are you sure your video card wasn't oc'ed when you ran the benches on your old rig?

both tests are with the gfx overclocked :) Maybe i should try 3dmark06?

Oh and i did a complete format, not running with pre installed.

AliceCooper
05-24-06, 05:00 PM
From memory the X2 3800+ is actually 2 A64 3200 cores running at 2gig.

Doesn't take a rocket scientist to realise that it might, in single apps, run at the same speed or slower than a P4 3.2. I moved from a P4 3.2 to an A64 3500 Venice and the speed increase was small and in most cases almost nil.

I moved for 64 bit and better gaming which I got. In other non gaming apps I definately lost out e.g. video editing. It's a compromise.

In synthetic benchmarks you will be slower but in real life this might not be the case. Also you have 2 physical cores as opposed to hyperthreading so this gives you an advantage in dual core apps.

TBH no one has ever said that X2's are as good as their single core counterparts for gaming (in your case anything above a 3200). Currently for gaming the higher single cores are still better value.

Cheers