PDA

View Full Version : Overclockability limited in nForce 410 chipset?


fighterpilot
05-26-06, 07:56 PM
I recently "upgraded" my Shuttle SN95G5 small form factor for the Shuttle SN21G5 so I could have PCI-Express capability.

In my SN95G5 I was running my Opteron 175 @ 2.7GHz @ 1.55v, 2.6GHz @ 1.45v, 2.4GHz @ 1.35v (stock) with no issue. Stock speed is 2.2GHz for the record.

Since I updated to my SN21G5 that has an nForce 410 / 6100 chipset, it won't go past 220MHz FSB which puts my machine at 2.42GHz at stock voltage. Bumping voltage even won't allow me to go higher.

A Shuttle support rep that frequents Sudhian.com forums stated that:

"Chipset limtation prevents high overclocks."

To me this means that the nForce 410 chipset is limited to 220MHz FSB limitation. Is this true? Can anyone verify this? I find it hard to believe that nVidia's "latest and greatest" chipset would limit what was previously able to handle.

Thanks!

a12ctic
05-26-06, 08:32 PM
i have a 6100/410 board, i havnt oced it yet (its not mine, my sisters, built it for heR). I cant seem to find anything like what your saying though, try a bios update?

fighterpilot
05-26-06, 08:36 PM
That's the problem. I asked Shuttle if and when they would address it with a BIOS update, but they said they cannot because it is a limitation of the chipset. I find that hard to believe. Just wanted to get confirmation however.

GreenWolf
05-29-06, 09:36 PM
Seems the NF6100/NF4 chipset has a problem with 1T. I was having the same problem (could not get over 218) but I am well over 250 now (and going higher each test run) since changing to 2T.

a12ctic
05-29-06, 09:47 PM
ok, to answer your question (had some time with my 6100/410 today), mine overclocked fine, also the ram is definatly in 1T, btw, i got to 237 fsb on my 2600+ semp

fighterpilot
05-30-06, 04:21 PM
ok, to answer your question (had some time with my 6100/410 today), mine overclocked fine, also the ram is definatly in 1T, btw, i got to 237 fsb on my 2600+ semp

Thanks - What board do you have?

Also, I have DDR500 so that overclocking up to 250MHz wouldn't be an issue even at 1T.

I have tried everything, including settting all memory settings to "slowest", reducing HT multiplier to 3x, etc. Nothing seems to work. Apparantly it is an issue with the Shuttle design. I guess I'm screwed in that respect.

Thanks for the update though.

a12ctic
05-30-06, 05:47 PM
im pretty sure its a BIOSTAR Tforce6100 (m atx) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813138268), im using crossair value select 512x2