PDA

View Full Version : for those who wish to remove the new CP from forceware 91.28


squall_leonhart
05-27-06, 07:21 AM
copy these files from the driver into another directoy


Advanced.tv_
CAD.tv_
data1.cab
data1.hdr
data2.cab
DCC.tv_
default.tv_
engine32.cab
Finance.tv_
keystone.ex_
layout.bin
modes.txt
nv4_disp.dl_
nv4_disp.inf
nv4_mini.sy_
nvapi.dl_
nvappbar.ex_
NvApps.xm_
nvcod.dl_
NvColor.ex_
NvCpl.dl_
NVCPL.HL_
NVDisp.nvu
nvdspsch.ex_
NVEPClnt.ex_
nvhwvid.dl_
nview.dl_
nvmccs.dl_
nvmccsrs.dl_
NvMCTray.dl_
nvnt4cpl.dl_
nvoglnt.dl_
nvrseng.dl_
nvshell.dl_
nvsvc32.ex_
nvtuicpl.cp_
nvudisp.exe
nvwcplen.hl_
nvwddi.dl_
nvwdmcpl.dl_
nvwimg.dl_
nvwrseng.dl_
NvwsApps.xm_
nwiz.ex_
setup.bmp
setup.exe
setup.ibt
setup.ini
setup.inx
setup.iss
setup.skin


then download the following inf and replace the one in the new setup folder.

Gurra101
05-27-06, 07:43 AM
Why do you want to remove it? You can just change to the old one!

squall_leonhart
05-27-06, 07:49 AM
its buggy as hell.. to the point of breaking SLI profiles.

i believe removing it and using the old cp fom the start will prevent all the sli profiles from being set to SFR.

OWA
05-27-06, 11:27 AM
its buggy as hell.. to the point of breaking SLI profiles.

i believe removing it and using the old cp fom the start will prevent all the sli profiles from being set to SFR.
Hmm, that doesn't happen to me. The old CP works as fine for me with the new CP installed. I just have to click apply after setting AA and after setting AF. Otherwise, it gets set back to app control. The SLI modes work just fine though.

lee63
05-27-06, 11:29 AM
Does it suck that bad ??? I can get it with 64 bit :thumbdwn:

OWA
05-27-06, 11:36 AM
It's not that bad. I'm not sure why all the drama over it.

rewt
05-27-06, 03:54 PM
Yeah, really. Especially since it's so simple to revert back to the classic control panel. IMO its a waste of time copying/replacing files when all you need is a click of a button or simple reg tweak.

squall_leonhart
05-29-06, 07:20 AM
well for one, this installs only what is needed.

which means, that you don't waste 20mbs on useless code.

it cuts the size of the driver install in half. and it doesn't automatically set itself to the new cp.

i much prefer the old cp...

rewt
05-29-06, 07:48 AM
well for one, this installs only what is needed.

which means, that you don't waste 20mbs on useless code.



I've got pdf files bigger than 20mb.. Anyone worried about wasting 20mb of hard drive space seriously needs an upgrade IMO!


it cuts the size of the driver install in half. and it doesn't automatically set itself to the new cp.

i much prefer the old cp...

Again, easily done with a simple reg tweak. In fact I already posted it in The New Control Panel thread..

Just create .reg file in notepad. Save it as whatever.reg and double-click on it to enter it into the registry.


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"NvCplHideDesktopContextMenu"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NvCplApi\Policies]
"ContextUIPolicy"=dword:3
"TaskbarUIPolicy"=dword:3


Will actually give you menu for both control panels. If you only want the menu for the old cp then change the ContextUIPolicy and TaskbarUIPolicy values accordingly.

squall_leonhart
05-29-06, 07:53 AM
and your so special because?

there are people out there that will do this... so meh.

rewt
05-29-06, 08:11 AM
Fine by me :)

squall_leonhart
05-29-06, 08:12 AM
lol, sorry a bout my sarcasm.

nekrosoft13
06-05-06, 08:04 AM
i will try this today ;) when i get from work

i had problems with 91.28 before, but i will give it one more shot with out the new control panel