PDA

View Full Version : Those who play WoW, what drivers are you using?


Roliath
05-31-06, 01:42 PM
I am using 84.56 and for some reason, while i'm in Raids be it MC or Onyxia I can almost guarantee a lock up.
It doesn't happen in any other games i play (Graw, and the new hitman), i've done complete reformat and am up to date on all updates, patches, and all that jazz. I've also tried older drivers up to the 66 series, but it makes my other games play like crap. So, my question remains; What drivers are you currently using for WoW?

JamesDax
05-31-06, 02:27 PM
I was fine with version 84.21 but then I decided to try the new 90.xx beta drivers and was getting hard crashes left and right. So I went back to the 84.21 drivers. Unfortunetly I'm still getting a crash every now and then.

Roliath
05-31-06, 02:43 PM
i'm starting to think this is on WoW's side, and it won't matter what drivers I use

garikfox
05-31-06, 03:06 PM
WoW is pretty intense on a system. The reason its locking up isnt the drivers. Its memory.

Reason being is when u load up WoW your computer opens up FuLL Blast !! sorta speak. My WoW does the same thing when I try to use fixed memory timmings. So I just put all timmings to AUTO and I can now play WoW for 10+ hrs. if I want even in SLI :)

BTW: Forceware 91.28 x64

tacos4me
05-31-06, 03:26 PM
I'm using 84.25. I tried out the 91.28 x64, and WoW ran like crap. I was getting a drop in FPS (went down to around 40) whenever I switched to look in a different direction. 84.25 are great though, FPS stays maxed at 64.1.

Does anyone else with an X2 have their frame rate go no higher than around 64? With my old 3500+ it would get up much higher.

Tr1cK
05-31-06, 03:36 PM
I used to crash pretty often regardless of what was happening in the game. It turns out that overclocking my memory was the culprit. IMO this game is the best complete system stress test. I notice a lot of you overclock as well, you should set all your clocks/voltages/timings to default and try the game again.

My system was stable in any other application or game, but when it came to WoW I would randomly bomb out, now it's perfect. I'm using FW 91.28 x32 and it's running better than it ever has. My frames are capped around 64.1, though I do see an occasional 66.2 pop up. The cap is a known issue.

Trust me, make sure your RAM is set right and not faulty.

saweetnesstrev
06-01-06, 04:50 AM
Ram set right?? my ram suppose to be set at 2 2 2 6 but when auto is clicked its at 2 2 2 8 what gives?

K007
06-01-06, 05:31 AM
I am using the 9x.xx ones. Works fine. 1280x960 4xaa setting, bloom..blah blah blah.

All i can say is its gotta be the memory. When i was grinding my guy to Rank 14 in pvp i had a crap load of 132 crit errors etc, was annoying as hell as it gives me deserter debuff/queue times gone etc..i just replaced the ram, no O/C on anything apart from the GPU and it runs fine now.

This is comming from a 20-24 hours a day player for about 3 months...great to see ex-rank 14 players getting screwed by blizzard btw. After i saw that comment from Blizzard i cancel my account/uninstall WoW and broke the discs and threw it in the trash.

Roliath
06-01-06, 04:40 PM
Gone through 2 sets of ram, first was Crucial Ballistix PC4000 2x1GB, and now i'm on G.Skill.
It doesn't happen alot anymore, but usually when i'm in raids..It sucks locking up in Onyxia, and MC..I'm a pally and am usually on the east whelps during phase 2 so when I lock up, it sucks..

rclenhardt
06-01-06, 07:23 PM
I have settled on the 84.43's. Runs WOW, Oblivion and all my games without any problems.

jaws
06-02-06, 11:45 AM
91.28 fine here

garikfox
06-02-06, 01:47 PM
Confucius once said, "All nVidia drivers will work !, The user is the one bugged."

squall_leonhart
06-02-06, 02:13 PM
Confucius once said, "All nVidia drivers will work !, The user is the one bugged."

and i passed confuscius the peace pipe and said, aye. is true old friend.

Roliath
06-02-06, 03:07 PM
Confucius once said, "All nVidia drivers will work !, The user is the one bugged."
Thanks for your advice.

Buio
06-02-06, 07:56 PM
I also use 84.56 and they work fine for me.

Perhaps check your NIC drivers and/or settings.

There are some tips here:
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww0785p

Backup the folders that is told to delete so you can go back if needed.

K007
06-03-06, 01:20 AM
I also use 84.56 and they work fine for me.

Perhaps check your NIC drivers and/or settings.

There are some tips here:
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww0785p

Backup the folders that is told to delete so you can go back if needed.

lol

garikfox
06-03-06, 01:24 AM
Little miss muffit sat on her tuffit....Ohh oops Hi guyz lol

Roliath
06-03-06, 03:03 AM
well i got it fixed...reinstalled windows + wow...

Buio
06-04-06, 04:43 AM
lol

If you lol:ed the backup thing, its just that Blizzard dont care if you got alot of mods that save data in the savedvariables folder.


Roliath:
Good to hear you fixed it now. =)

Roliath
06-04-06, 06:38 AM
Thanks buio, and all the others who gave me "good" advice.
The problem I was having seems to be fixed for now. Next thing is to down rag!

The guild i'm in progressed through MC pretty fast, and we're now just stuck at ragnaros..the orange hammer will drop soon though.

www.prestigeguild.net

K007
06-04-06, 09:54 AM
If you lol:ed the backup thing, its just that Blizzard dont care if you got alot of mods that save data in the savedvariables folder.


Roliath:
Good to hear you fixed it now. =)

Next thing you know...

Blizzard Guy: "hmm not sure mate..to be safe format c:/q/s"