PDA

View Full Version : Help REALLY REALLY appreciated

blunthawk
06-01-06, 07:05 PM
Im setting up a computer I used to use for a few simple commands downstairs. Im not an expert at computers and I never have taken one apart but I think im close to doing it.

I put the harddisk back in and the ribbon cables are 20 pins for the CDROM and the HardDisk, there is primary and secondary slots there and one above it for the floppy.

Well the hard disk would never shake or spin inside of it when I put it into the primary/secondary 20 pin slots. It turns on when I wedge it into the 17 pin slot but the screen tells me to put in the system disk and press enter.

help>

to add to this one of the pieces of the mother board is metal, and I took metal from the engine thing and put it to the mother board metal and it turned off. It still turns on but I dont know if I fried the motherboard and shouldnt even bother.

supra
06-01-06, 07:27 PM
judging from your description I dont think you should be touching the inside of a computer ;)

einstein_314
06-01-06, 07:50 PM
well, first off, ribbon cables for hard drives and optical drives are 40 pin...so I don't know where you got the 20 pins from...unless you only counted half of them :p.

So what you're saying is that the hard drive is not even spinning up when you plug it in and turn on the computer? Try just plugging in the molex power connector (it has 4 pins). Leave the ribbon cable unplugged. And turn on the computer. The hard drive should start spinning. If it does, turn off the computer and plug in the ribbon cable again. If you only have one hard drive on the ribbon cable, plug it into the end plug, not the middle one. And plug the other end in the motherboard. (into either the primary or secondary ide connector). The plugs on the ribbon cable should have a tab on one side to ensure you plug the cable in the correct way. Make sure you are doing that right.