PDA

View Full Version : gaming: AMD Opteron vs X2.


robertonumeruno
06-02-06, 03:42 PM
Which gives better performance in BF2, FEAR, COD2, Q4, GRAW, blah blah blah?

einstein_314
06-02-06, 03:50 PM
The only real different between opteron dual cores and X2's is the opterons use a lower voltage and therefore can be typically overclocked more. It all depends which model you get. An X2 4400+ is the equivalent of an opteron 175. Now, I have an opty 175 and it overclocks to 2.6 Ghz (from 2.2) which makes it the equivalent of a FX-60.

robertonumeruno
06-02-06, 03:52 PM
I've heard of people over clocking the X2 4400+ to 3.0, even 3.2 Ghz easy on a Silverstone 120mm fan/heatsink easy and stable. that's not even water cooled!

einstein_314
06-02-06, 04:46 PM
Really?!? :confused: That seems a little extreme for air cooling...

watever
06-02-06, 06:56 PM
i have a 3800 x2 and it hits 48c full load with a zalman 9500. And thats with it overclocked to 2.5 with 1.28v. when i had it at 2.8, it would be close to 60. I could probably get it to 3.0, but im afraid of the temps.

tacos4me
06-02-06, 07:33 PM
The X2s lately seem to overclock much better than the Opterons. At least from the forum posts I've read over at [H]. People seem to have better luck with the X2. My 3800+ is beast, too. :D

Mine is stable at 2.7ghz right now with stock HSF, (10x270, stock vcore, 55c load) and I'm still messing around with it. I really need to pick up a kit of better memory, though, as mine is limiting my overclock. :(

Dazz
06-03-06, 04:39 PM
My X2 4400+ does 2.66GHz at 1.43v slight bump in voltage. Won't do much more however no matter the voltage :( But this is the first X2's that hit the market so early revision.

jAkUp
06-03-06, 05:43 PM
3GHz on a 4400+? I haven't seen many do that except on phase.

ViN86
06-03-06, 08:42 PM
I've heard of people over clocking the X2 4400+ to 3.0, even 3.2 Ghz easy on a Silverstone 120mm fan/heatsink easy and stable. that's not even water cooled!
thats pretty extreme. ive seen some opty's do that, but never a 4400, maybe an FX-60 or 4800...

Xion X2
06-04-06, 04:34 AM
I'm running mine at 2.65gHz at 1.5v on crappy memory. OCZ Platinum 500 is on its way and I'll see how much further I can go. Right now I'm idling at 30C and 39C under full load. Prime95 stable 5 hours +.

I have talked to a guy who pushed his to 3.0gHz on air cooling and DDR 550 memory on the MSI Diamond Plus like I have. The CPU really doesn't run that hot if you have a good HSF on it and good airflow in your case. I'm using two Thermaltake 78cfm fans on each end--one for intake, one exhaust--and an Arctic Freezer and it stays very cool.

GreenWolf
06-11-06, 11:42 AM
If you understand the binning process, then understand that Opterons, because they are meant for workstations, are binned at a higher level than their equivalent Athlon64 or FX brethren. The price of Opterons dropped dramatically just before last XMAS because AMD wanted to take the lead in market share from Itel in the workstation market. Price is slightly higher now but not significantly higher than the equialent Ath64 and FX. That is not to say that every Opty will be better than every Ath64 or FX, but the odds are heavily in favor of the Opty being better in an aples to apples comparison.

Take the Opty 148 and Athlon64 3700+ San Diego (I have both) for instance, they are the equivalent CPU on paper but the 148 runs circles around the 3700+ San Diego, runs cooler and OC's higher.

Hope this helps.