PDA

View Full Version : Running In SLI Problems 2xAsus 7900GTX


jedismurf
06-05-06, 04:35 AM
I got an
Intel Pentium 4 Extreme Edition 3.46ghz Dual Core
Asus P5N32-sli deluxe motherboard
2x Asus Geforce 7900GTX
X-fi Fatality Soundcard
2 gigs in ram
Thermaltake Purepower 680W PSU

All Drivers are up to date
Forceware Version 84.21

I have problems running under SLI mode
When i do, it only lasts for a short time then
the game will freeze and the sound will loop
which then forces me to have to restart since i
cant do anything else. This happens with every game.

However if untick enable SLI mode and not use sli
with both cards still inside the computer the game will run perfectly
with no problems. I feel like one card is just sitting there
going to waste.

I cannot figuire what is wrong.
What would cause a game to do this while only in SLI mode?

retsam
06-05-06, 04:46 AM
did you run memtest on your ram when you built it?....give that a whirl. also try a new set of drivers from guru3d but this does sound like a heat related issue i would also try to make sure your heat sinks and your cpu and graphic is on properly.

Redeemed
06-05-06, 05:15 AM
Welcome to nVnews, jedismurf!

I would agree with retsam that it sounds like a heat issue. Make sure that your case is properly vented with good airflow. Also be sure to check that your processor and videocards aren't getting too hot during times of heavy load.

Normally I would also consider too weak a power supply- but the one you have should be more than sufficient. This leaves me considering heat to be the main culprit.

Peoples-Agent
06-05-06, 06:12 AM
Swap the two cards around, see if it still does it.
So putting the second card as your main one.

Maybe these are the culprit 2x Asus Geforce 7900GTX

Try some more upto date drivers dude.

jedismurf
06-05-06, 06:16 AM
ram seems fine
everything works fine
just when in sli mode it freezes and locks up :(

i was thinking it might be a heat issue
i just started monitoring the temperature of both cards while in sli mode
but the temperature seems fine since the first card was at around 60
and the second was at around 51

im starting to think it might be a power issue though
i also have 2 sony dvd burners installed
with the extreme edition processor and x-fi sound card, 2 heavy video cards
and burners maybe running in sli mode is using more then it can handle?
but if it was a power issue would it freeze and sound loop.
i figuired if it was a power issue the display and video would shut off to a
black screen.

another theory i might have is that the second card is sharing irq with the
x-fi soundcard on irq 18. i am not able to reassign irq since when i try
in device manager under resources in properties i cant change anything only
view it. and even though it says there is no conflict maybe that could be
what is causing it.

retsam
06-05-06, 06:22 AM
ram seems fine
everything works fine
just when in sli mode it freezes and locks up :(

i was thinking it might be a heat issue
i just started monitoring the temperature of both cards while in sli mode
but the temperature seems fine since the first card was at around 60
and the second was at around 51

im starting to think it might be a power issue though
i also have 2 sony dvd burners installed
with the extreme edition processor and x-fi sound card, 2 heavy video cards
and burners maybe running in sli mode is using more then it can handle?
but if it was a power issue would it freeze and sound loop.
i figuired if it was a power issue the display and video would shut off to a
black screen.

another theory i might have is that the second card is sharing irq with the
x-fi soundcard on irq 18. i am not able to reassign irq since when i try
in device manager under resources in properties i cant change anything only
view it. and even though it says there is no conflict maybe that could be
what is causing it.try what peoples-agent said. it could be a power issue try to unplug some unneeded devices like the rom drives and such, but i dont think you need a bigger power supply... i have 4 scsi 10k drives in my system with all sorts of add in cards and i dont get those problems....

jedismurf
06-05-06, 06:32 AM
ill try switching cards around.
if that doesnt work ill unplug certain devices and see what happens
and give an update.

john19055
06-05-06, 06:56 AM
My two 7900GTX worked fine for nearly three days ,they ran anything I threw at it and just all the sudden I would be playing Quake 4 and the picture would frezze but I till had the sound going and some times my screen would just go black like it was rebooting ,but the sound was still working fine ,and the picture would come back on for 5 or 10 minutes and then go black again but the sound was working just like it was playing the game fine,I never figured it out I tried different drivers ,different monitors and a different power supply.

jedismurf
06-05-06, 08:05 AM
Well i tryed switching the cards around. i ran 3d mark and it froze in the
first test segment.
i then decided to unplug both burners and tryed it again.
it ran all the way through the test but then i ran it again just to be sure
and towards the end of the test it froze. i decided to wait a minute to see
what would happen and about after a minute signal was lost and i got the
black screen.

Xion X2
06-05-06, 12:57 PM
It's likely one of three things:

1) Card issue. Some 7900GTX's have had random freezes and lock-ups due to possibly a faulty voltage regulator.

2) Driver issue. Try updating to some of the latest beta drivers like 91.28 and see if it fixes your problems. You can get the driver on www.guru3d.com

3) Power issue. I have seen the exact PSU you have run my buddy's single 1900XT system like total dog crap. One of those 12v rails on your PSU has 15A or less and it could be causing a conflict w/ your setup.

Then again, you have an Intel motherboard that should be more compatible w/ dual or triple-rail(such as you have) PSU's, so this might not be your problem.