PDA

View Full Version : Quad SLI on Quad cores


Pages : [1] 2 3

Venturi
06-06-06, 09:31 AM
Alright,
it took some effort and some "voodoo" but I got it working in 64-bit. Sorry jackup for posting late, but there were a few kinks to iron out (more about driver kinks on another post)

Quad SLI on Dual Dual Core Opteron 285s with 16GB Ram

Doom 3 @ 2560x1600, ultra quality, 4xAA, all eye candy:

timedemo demo1 usecache 202FPS

Lost Coast -64bit HDR @ 2560x1600, 16xAF, 4xAA, all eye candy, reflect all, high, high :

video Stress test: 189FPS

I realize that some may not think these are high scores but bear in mind that the resolution is 2560x1600 (on an Apple 30 Cinema LCD).


I will be trying FEAR next, how do I benchmark FEAR?



I have the XFX 570/1550 cards, I had to mod the bios of the cards. From XFX the cards stay at 570/1550 and DO NOT clock down in 2d. I had to change it to clock down but accelerate in 3d to 572/1556. Before I posted any benchies I had to first get comfy with temps and perf.

Hope this helps all those that were curious if it was possible on the tyan s2895 board and opties.

Jay V


http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/8026/sideboard4cs.th.jpg (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sideboard4cs.jpg)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/6826/board3pi.th.jpg (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=board3pi.jpg)

http://img49.imageshack.us/img49/5388/nofcase7rh.th.jpg (http://img49.imageshack.us/my.php?image=nofcase7rh.jpg)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/5794/flashcase0xe.th.jpg (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=flashcase0xe.jpg)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/9941/desk4pv.th.jpg (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=desk4pv.jpg)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/5614/lstudy1hk.th.jpg (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=lstudy1hk.jpg)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/2646/dstudy3ef.th.jpg (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dstudy3ef.jpg)

PeterJensen
06-06-06, 10:11 AM
omg...

AthlonXP1800
06-06-06, 10:27 AM
WOW amazing scores! :eek:

Venturi
06-06-06, 10:53 AM
No crashes so far, but I limit myself to certain games.

The Quake engine seems to run well, and I have not had any issues out of the H2 64 engine.

I will try Painkiller, FEAR, GRAW, far Cry 64, Riddick 64, and UT 64.

Venturi
06-06-06, 10:56 AM
Painkiller:

2560x1600 all eye candy maxed/

benchmark c5l1 : 313FPS
benchmark c5l2 : 264FPS


How do you benchmark Q4? With a standard benchmark, not a self recorded map?

OWA
06-06-06, 12:10 PM
nettimedemo id_demo001.netdemo I think is the command to benchmark Quake 4.

Edit: I was wrong, it's playnettimedemo id_demo001.netdemo

Wow, impressive results especially for that resolution!!

Marvel_us
06-06-06, 12:19 PM
That is one crazy system and resolution. Looking forward to seeing the results of FEAR, Q4 and CoD2.

Banko
06-06-06, 12:40 PM
:drooling:

einstein_314
06-06-06, 12:41 PM
Wow, and yet again, Venturi pops out of nowhere and blows us all away with his amazing rig. :D

Venturi
06-06-06, 01:14 PM
Some early observations:

It seems that AFR will let most games run with the quads without crashing.
SFR seems to be less of a performace king and less stable. I have had no OS lockups, but I have had tearing and currupt textures in SFR.

I am not sure what Lost Coast 64HDR uses set at predefined, but the image quality seems great and stable, high fps as well. Doom and Q4 seem best with AFR2.

With modded bios, the xfx cards run 47 idle and 66 under load. My case does have good venting and there are silent directional fans over the SLI area. My original problem was that the XFX cards do not clock down in 2d.

Now...if I could just get a 64-bit driver for my ageia card ...

J-Mag
06-06-06, 01:21 PM
what driver rev are you running?

Skinner
06-06-06, 01:43 PM
Huh, are you sure you ain't running two G80's? Did you bench Lost Coast in stead of the other regular stresstest?! 189 seems hard to believe.

These are überresults :eek:

Banko
06-06-06, 01:44 PM
I just want to see what his PC would get on PC Mark and 3dmark 06.

foodude2
06-08-06, 01:33 PM
http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/5646/bull5rt.jpg

Banko
06-08-06, 01:41 PM
http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/5646/bull5rt.jpg
Nice contribution to the thread, moron.

OWA
06-08-06, 02:12 PM
No kidding. Where do we get these people?

Poor Venturi, had to go through the same thing with his last uber system.

foodude2
06-08-06, 02:40 PM
Let's see some verifiable proof, then. 3Dmark/PCmark results, for example. Screenshots, even.

Have any of the rest of you tried running those games at those settings? I have.

einstein_314
06-08-06, 02:45 PM
Let's see some verifiable proof, then. 3Dmark/PCmark results, for example. Screenshots, even.

Have any of the rest of you tried running those games at those settings? I have.
Umm, no, because my 17" LCD doesn't support 2560x1600 ;) I have total faith that Venturi wouldn't lie about his results. He's been around for a while and always has an amazing rig. I don't see what's so unbelievable about his results. I mean, look at his rig!!! :bugeyes:

MikeC
06-08-06, 02:46 PM
Yes, I have the proof. Be quiet you're making a fool of yourself Foodude2.

pkirby11
06-08-06, 02:47 PM
http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/5646/bull5rt.jpg

Gee, smells like dumb ass to me and I'm not talking about the OP. Maybe he's making this up, maybe not, who knows? I will say one thing, other than to say "NVIDIA is the best, ATI sucks!" there would be no reason for him to post such findings if they weren't true. And I think he would have made the title and subject of this post completely different. I'm an ATI fan but even I was impressed by his system and if he doesn't want to post screen shots or pictures of his system fine by me. I don't find his scores that outrageous though, by having a system with 4 cores, 4 GPUS, and a boat load of memory you eraese some very big bottlenecks there. I see it as possible and you shouldn't be such a dick! :D

foodude2
06-08-06, 03:08 PM
Having quad cores and 16GB of ram will make zero difference to performance, especially at such high resolutions. None of those games support multi threading, anyway.

The bench I am most skeptical about is Lost Coast. I have SLI 7800GTX 512 and my result is about 30fps at those settings.

foodude2
06-08-06, 03:12 PM
Yes, I have the proof.

feel free to post it.

Banko
06-08-06, 03:25 PM
He just upgraded his rig to two 7950GX2's but if you look for what he has posted, he has posted his rig before.

foodude2
06-08-06, 03:42 PM
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/2560_1600_gaming_preview/page4.asp

Tygerwoody
06-08-06, 03:53 PM
can you benchmark Oblivion?