PDA

View Full Version : GeForce4 MX440 & HLDM

Fat Tony
06-06-06, 10:30 AM
Hello everyone I am hoping you all can help a noob when it comes to this sort of thing.

I have a GeForce4 MX440 and I play Half life multiplayer online via Steam.

I have been playing for several years but I have never tweaked any settings in my video card. I really wouldnt know what to do.

I was told you all could help. My understanding is that my fps should be much higher. right now in game I see an fps of around 60 almost all the time. People keep saying that I should be able to tweak my Nvidia settings and get far better performance out of my GeForce card.

Now I realize that I am behind the times with my card but I would appreciate any help regarding what settings I should have or change to help my fps. I welcome any other suggestions regarding settings as well.

Thanks

nekrosoft13
06-06-06, 10:38 AM
60fps for geforce2 mx is good.

what is the rest of your system

Fat Tony
06-06-06, 10:44 AM
Its a Dell PC.

using windows XP.

512 meg of ram

120 gig hard drive

pentium 4 ( I think)

Im going off memory cuz Im at work right now. What other info would be helpful?

saturnotaku
06-06-06, 11:03 AM
People keep saying that I should be able to tweak my Nvidia settings and get far better performance out of my GeForce card.

They're probably assuming you have a much higher end system than you really do. For what you've listed here, 60 fps isn't at all bad, especially since your video card is 4 generations old and you're running on only 512 MB of system RAM.

Better performance is pretty much going to require you to have at least 1 GB of system memory and a video card that supports programmable shaders. Cards like the Geforce 6800 will offer you a world of better performance and not cost an arm and a leg.

Fat Tony
06-06-06, 11:45 AM