PDA

View Full Version : What is an SLI bridge?


kwynjunk
06-08-06, 08:09 PM
Is this built into SLI motherboards or is it a separate piece of hardware you need when running SLI in addtion to the sli motherboard?

I have never run sli. Right now I have the 7950 but Im just curious what I'll need to do if I get another one.

THanks.

Sorry for the noobness

a12ctic
06-08-06, 08:10 PM
its a seperate peice of hardware that comes with ur mobo (if it can do sli)

nekrosoft13
06-08-06, 08:13 PM
http://images.google.com/images?q=sli%20bridge&sa=N&tab=fi

shungokusatsu
06-08-06, 08:14 PM
It came with your Asus A8N32-SLI, this is it here (http://www.gamepc.com/images/labs/rev-sli-955xslicableLG.jpg). It connects the cards together to perform the SLI. Also, remember that Quad SLI is still buggy and won't give you maximum yet.

kwynjunk
06-08-06, 08:16 PM
http://images.google.com/images?q=sli%20bridge&sa=N&tab=fi

Cool i have it with my mobo parts. Thanks

kwynjunk
06-08-06, 08:17 PM
It came with your Asus A8N32-SLI, this is it here (http://www.gamepc.com/images/labs/rev-sli-955xslicableLG.jpg). It connects the cards together to perform the SLI. Also, remember that Quad SLI is still buggy and won't give you maximum yet.

Yup. Plus i dont have the $$ right now.

Just wanted to be educated and make sure I'm ready if and when.

shungokusatsu
06-08-06, 08:17 PM
Cool i have it with my mobo parts. Thanks

Don't lose it, they're not exactly easy to get ahold of.

OWA
06-08-06, 09:29 PM
Yeah, I was panicking earlier this afternoon b/c I initially couldn't find mine.

OWA
06-08-06, 09:35 PM
I think it'll work but I believe performance will be reduced.

shungokusatsu
06-08-06, 10:26 PM
i have no sli bridge connector :(

but i'm glad i got my mobo for free :)

...mikec you are teh man! :D

If it's any help, you can find a few of them on ebay for around $15-$20 bucks.

weeds
06-08-06, 11:59 PM
i have no sli bridge connector :(

but i'm glad i got my mobo for free :)

...mikec you are teh man! :D


Screw ebay, you can get the bridge you need from Asus.

http://estore.asus.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=271&catid=136

The Pcb type bridge will also fit the A8N32 and the P5N32 (better than the laffy taffy one) I got one for my A8N32.

shungokusatsu
06-09-06, 12:11 AM
Screw ebay, you can get the bridge you need from Asus.

http://estore.asus.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=271&catid=136

The Pcb type bridge will also fit the A8N32 and the P5N32 (better than the laffy taffy one) I got one for my A8N32.

Awesome find, much cheaper. Most users prefer the thin model that ships with the A8N32-SLI because it's flexibility is much better in case the cards don't have a perfect fit.