PDA

View Full Version : Serious 7800GT question


Athena
06-13-06, 02:23 PM
OK when I bought my fancy new 7800GT I put it in my PC that has been using the same AMD64 3000+ since I had a FX5900. I got alot more eye candy in City of Heros but it is not as smooth as I think it should be. Infact I went to my brothers house whom I gave my old 6800 AGP to and COH runs w/ the same eye candy at a higher res and is smoother. We both have 1 gig of ram and his CPU is a P4 3.0Ghz.

So what is my PCs Problem? Is my 3000+ not powerful enough to drive my 7800GT?

jAkUp
06-13-06, 02:25 PM
How about other games?

Roadhog
06-13-06, 02:30 PM
drivers?

john19055
06-14-06, 02:24 AM
When I move up from a 6800ultra to a 7800GT ,I seen improvements in all my games and some were by a lot.Plus you should be able to overclock that that A64 3000 to at least 2.2gig and a extra gig of ram would'nt hurt.

mike686
06-14-06, 03:24 AM
You used a 7800GT on the same motherboard as a FX5900? Isn't the FX5900 AGP?

How many watts is your power supply?

Athena
06-14-06, 10:40 AM
All drivers up todate.

No had to get a new MOBO

This new MOBO has no OC'ng options. :(

The demos for Tomb Rader and Gost Recon run fairly well. but there are still the studdering from time to time. If I had money I would jump to an AMDX2 4200 and another gig of ram but I need other things like a working transmission in my car before that.

What would be a good program that would allow me to check what processes are running in t he backgroup I might be able to shut down?

Thanks

mike686
06-14-06, 08:19 PM
What power supply do you have? Do you have at least 1GB of ram?

- 7800GT's require a minimum 450 watt power supply.

- Use Ctrl+Alt+Del to see which proceeses you have going. With no startup programs you should not have more than 30 running.

- Anti-virus programs with background scanning will eat up CPU cycles. Try disabling the background scanning if needed.

- Disable all startup programs using msconfig. (If you use color correction don't disable NvCpl)

- If all else fails do a clean install of Windows XP.

grey_1
06-14-06, 08:31 PM
What kind of pc maintenance do you do regularly?
At least once a week I defrag, run crap cleaner (awesome prog!), run antivirus and spyware scans. You can also check your services through admin tools>services and disable what you don't need. Pretty good guide for that here, Black vipers old guide - http://majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=12.

I'd also consider the psu as mike686 mentioned. Good luck, they're awesome cards!

Athena
06-15-06, 12:43 PM
Thanks guys I will check out these things today after work. :D

I currently have the 1 gig of low lat ram and a Antec Smart Power 500 Watt.

I have one last question. It looks like the insurance company is going to help w/ some of the car damage my wife's car took. What would be the best processer speed to fully use a 7800GT KO CO core is stock at 470 Mhz.

I am guessing I would need about a Pentium 4 Ghz? Or is that going past the 7800? thanks again.

mike686
06-15-06, 05:42 PM
I would upgrade your Athlon 64 if anything. Athlon 64s a superior to Pentium 4s in gaming.

If it is Socket 754 it wouldn't be worth upgrading since the most you could get is a 3200+.

If it is Socket 939 you can get quite a big performance difference from a high end single core or pretty much any dual core processor.

If you can determine what socket your processor is and how much money you have to spend I can help you determine your upgrade path.

Tikiman44
06-15-06, 06:09 PM
I hate CPU bottelnecks and I hate my stupid Pentium D 940. Conroe can't come fast enough for me.:p This 7950 GX2 I have is starving for food right and needs a better server of information.

Maverickman
06-15-06, 06:34 PM
To me a Pentium D 940 is not exactly slow, especially since you have overclocked yours! It may not be the fastest CPU, but it is no slouch. It would give my Athlon X2 4200+ a run for its money and would probably turn out faster in most applications, except some games. We're all waiting for Conroe, but I tend to wait a little longer until the bugs are worked out!

Athena
06-16-06, 09:55 AM
Socket 754 :(

Looked at AM2 mobos on Newegg. I just do not have the movey right now.
Thanks for all the help guys.