PDA

View Full Version : Quad Sli gaming thread....


Pages : [1] 2 3

nippyjun
06-18-06, 10:30 AM
I though it would be good to have a stickied thread about quad sli gaming.

Information about which games work and don't and the benefit gained would be good.


I'll start by listing the games i have tried and the results:

1. Quake 4 works
2. Doom3 works
3. Fear works

lee63
06-18-06, 10:33 AM
HL2E1 works :D Prey should work.

jAkUp
06-18-06, 10:41 AM
3DMark06 works :)

nippyjun
06-18-06, 10:50 AM
3DMark06 works :)

How much did your score go up with quad?

jAkUp
06-18-06, 10:54 AM
Actually it went down compared to my 7900GTX's. But it is working in quad mode.

Quad mode is more suited towards high resolutions with AA/AF... Thats good :D

nippyjun
06-18-06, 10:55 AM
Actually it went down compared to my 7900GTX's. But it is working in quad mode.

Quad mode is more suited towards high resolutions with AA/AF... Thats good :D

Did your score go up with quad enabled versus just using one 7950?

JimBobb
06-18-06, 11:58 AM
3DMark06 works :)

For me not its slower than my older 7900GTX@SLI...

ViN86
06-18-06, 02:18 PM
Actually it went down compared to my 7900GTX's. But it is working in quad mode.

Quad mode is more suited towards high resolutions with AA/AF... Thats good :D
im sure driver updates should increase it back to where it was before, if not beyond.

Despotes
06-18-06, 02:18 PM
Anyone try BF2? Is there an increase over a single 7950 GX2?

I'm considering getting another one, but not if FEAR is the only game that benefits, not just "works" with 2 GX2's.

Can we clarify if the game shows a performance increase with quad--not merely--"it works". ;)

Thanks

jAkUp
06-18-06, 03:02 PM
All these games show big increases with Quad SLI:
1. Fear
2. BF2
3. Quake 4
4. Doom 3
5. HL2 EP1

Look at Jacuzzi's pic, quad is working in BF2 :D

http://members.cox.net/travpetruzz/Quad1.jpg

Despotes
06-18-06, 03:18 PM
All these games show big increases with Quad SLI:
1. Fear
2. BF2
3. Quake 4
4. Doom 3
5. HL2 EP1

Look at Jacuzzi's pic, quad is working in BF2 :D



Oh great. Now I'm gonna have to spend more money! :D hehe

I hope my psu holds up :)

Thank you

shungokusatsu
06-18-06, 03:22 PM
You can add HL2 Lost Coast, and Sin Episodes to the list. Sin was hitting around 300fps in some places with 16x AA and 16x AF :D

SH64
06-18-06, 03:43 PM
So far :
1) Quake 4
2) FEAR
3) 3DMark06
4) BF2

dunno , but HL2 Ep1 isnt working with Quad for me.
remember that seeing the Quad SLI bars dosent mean the game is indeed taking advantage of it.

jAkUp
06-18-06, 03:45 PM
Well in the case of HL2, I see a nice boost going from a single card to dual. 8xAA becomes playable :D

SH64
06-18-06, 03:48 PM
Well in the case of HL2, I see a nice boost going from a single card to dual. 8xAA becomes playable :D
Yes i get that but with SLIAA , not the usual Quad SLI render modes like the 4-way SFR or SFR+AFR ..

kwynjunk
06-18-06, 04:08 PM
All these games show big increases with Quad SLI:
1. Fear
2. BF2
3. Quake 4
4. Doom 3
5. HL2 EP1

Look at Jacuzzi's pic, quad is working in BF2 :D



Does it really work better in BF2? What's going on in that pic?

jAkUp
06-18-06, 04:23 PM
Yes it is working in BF2. I know that for sure.

The screen is showing how quad SLI is diving the load between GPU's. 4 way SFR.

shungokusatsu
06-18-06, 06:33 PM
You can add Splinter Cell Chaos Theory to the list :D

kwynjunk
06-18-06, 06:48 PM
Yes it is working in BF2. I know that for sure.

The screen is showing how quad SLI is diving the load between GPU's. 4 way SFR.

Sorry, I'm a little new to SLI. What does diving the load mean? How is the screen showing that?

Thanks. Sorry for the noobness of my question.

FearMeAll
06-18-06, 06:57 PM
Sorry, I'm a little new to SLI. What does diving the load mean? How is the screen showing that?

Thanks. Sorry for the noobness of my question.
if you go into the control panel in the sli section you can have it show the load balancing bar in a checkbox. Then whenever a game loads a bar will be on the side measuring how effeciently the two cards are working. The green bar is for Alternate Frame Rendering. If Sli is splitting the work down the middle of the cards then a green line will show up going up and down showing which card is rendering which half of the screen. It is very handy when you are trying to create your own sli profiles because it lets you know which mode (AFR, AFR2, SFR) is doing the most work. Nhancer is a third party program for tweaking sli settings I recommend to everyone.

SH64
06-20-06, 07:26 PM
Apparently Serious Sam2 is taking advantage of QuadSLI. (AFR+SFR)
i'm talking about a day & night difference in some places .. for ex. in Price Chan's level start where i used to get 20fps @1280x960x2xAA , now i'm getting 70fps@1280x960x4xAA!! (i hope i'm not doing something wrong :D)
the game is surely much much smoother than my previous 2x7800GTXs (256MB) setup.

rudedog
06-20-06, 08:19 PM
Cool HL2/BF2

What drivers are everyone using?

SH64
06-20-06, 08:42 PM
91.31

HighTest
06-21-06, 12:43 AM
Actually it went down compared to my 7900GTX's. But it is working in quad mode.

Quad mode is more suited towards high resolutions with AA/AF... Thats good :D


jAkUp, I think I know why. The 7950GX2's divide the PCI-e channels between each GPU. So for example, an x16 PCI-e slot would provide x8 channel "per gpu" due to each being in SLI mode on the card. The physical interface is just extended up to GPU's rather than two cards in two physical slots.

I noticed that you have a DFI nF4 SLI-DR eXpert nForce4 SLI based motherboard. The SLI mode will result in x8 logical channels per slot, divide that by GPU and you'll get only x4 channels "per GPU".

Take a look at the "details" in 3dMark 06 to have it list the "channels" per GPU. What's it list?

If you have the GPU cores running at x4 channels, you'll not recieve the performance the card is really capable of providing due to the throttled bandwidth to the GPUs.

nVIDIA only "officially" supports Quad-SLI from system integrators because they want to ensure that the end-user has a motherboard based on either the nForce4 SLI X16 (has 38 channels total available to the PCI-e support versus the 20 in the nForce4 SLI chipset) or the newer nForce 590 SLI for the AM2 socket.

To truely experience the performance you should receive, you'll need to upgrade to the newer chipsets, either the nForce4 SLI X16 if you want to keep your socket 939 investment, or the nForce 590 if you want an AM2 AMD. See http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=K8N_Diamond_Plus&class=mb for MSI's nForce4 SLI X16 product, I couldn't find a listing for DFI's product yet. Note how there are two chips in the chipset joined by a heatpipe. If you don't see that on your motherboard, just a single chip with it's heatsink/fan, you don't have the newer chipset.

lowdog
06-21-06, 01:40 AM
A question?

Normal sli would tear/jitter through the middle of the screen in games (nice sli feature) ;)

So does quad sli tear/jitter 4 X as bad in games at quater space intervals on the screen just like normal sli tears/jitters in the middle of the screen in games???