PDA

View Full Version : 7950GX2 Owners: I Need Your Feedback!


Pages : [1] 2

Noobified
06-18-06, 09:29 PM
I'm running my 7950GX2 card on a SuperMicro X7DAE, which has an x16 PCI-E slot. However, in 3DMark06, in System Details, it says that my PCI-E Rate is only 8x. When using an FX5750 card, 3DMark06 reports the rate at 16.

Are any of you seeing your rate at 8 as well, or at 16 with the 7950GX2? CPU-Z is also reporting that the link is x8. Can you fellow 7950GX2 owners check your results in 3DMark06 and CPU-Z as well? Thanks!

http://home.comcast.net/~noobified/3DMark06PCIE.GIF
http://home.comcast.net/~noobified/cpu-z.JPG

heatlesssun
06-18-06, 10:07 PM
CPU-Z is reporting the same thing for me, however this kinda makes sense in that if there are two cards in one X16 slot, then each card is at X8. Just a guess, but the nVidia CP system information tool reports an X16 slot, so I think its just a matter of how CPU-Z is getting its info.

wacky7
06-18-06, 10:10 PM
they have issue out on some motherboard update from Nvidia website that you could need an update for your motherboard because of useing the 7950GX2 video card. hope that help out.
My old Gigabyte motherboard was likes that on the CPU-Z from SLI it was an gigabyte GA-K8NPro SLI becuase its not a true 16x bus speed for PCI-E Graphic Interface Link. The gigabyte is PCI-E Graphic Interface Link wldth X8 and max Supported x16. When you put it in single PCI-E non SLI mode it x16. But you put SLI mode its x8 . but now when I got Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe it said X16 Link wldth and Max supported x16.. are you sure you not a SLI x8 x8 Bus speed type motherboard?or is it SLI or single Sloted motherboard PCI-E interface?



------------------------------
AMD64bit dualcore 4400+ 2x1MBcas
OCZ 4 x 1GB PC3500 2-3-2-5
XFX x2 7800 GTX 512 extreme editions 580MHzcore 1.730mhz memory
PSU 1000watts pcpower
Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe
Audigy Xfi plat
2x Liteon DVD_RW 16x
Gateway HD 21" Wide Screen LCD Monitor

Noobified
06-18-06, 10:13 PM
CPU-Z is reporting the same thing for me, however this kinda makes sense in that if there are two cards in one X16 slot, then each card is at X8. Just a guess, but the nVidia CP system information tool reports an X16 slot, so I think its just a matter of how CPU-Z is getting its info.

What is it showing in 3DMark06?

ViN86
06-18-06, 10:15 PM
did you try reinstalling the video drivers?

even with my 7800GTX, when i switched over it read as 8x. a simple driver reinstall correctly set it to 16x.

if not that, then id say you may need a bios update. tbh though, you wont notice the difference between 16x and 8x, but if youre like me, you like things to work the right way, and you want it at 16x ;)

shungokusatsu
06-18-06, 10:35 PM
Wow mine too says 8x, and my boards 16x. I have the latest drivers and bios.

heatlesssun
06-18-06, 10:44 PM
Yeah, 3DMark06 is reporting 8x as well, but my 3DMark06 score is running around 8400 for the XFX XXX 7950GX2. It was running about 8550 for my 7800 512 GTX SLI setup in the same platform. My BIOS is 1205, which is what you need for the 7950 for the A8N32-SLI.

As far as I can tell, the performance seems spot on for what I expected so I don't really see an issue.

I have a feeling this is just how the card gets examined. This has to be something to do with two cards in one slot. Each card is only at 8X, correct?

shungokusatsu
06-18-06, 10:48 PM
My 3DMark06 score is running around 8400 for the XFX XXX 7950GX2. It was running about 8550 for my 7800 512 GTX SLI setup in the same platform. My BIOS is 1205, which is what you need for the 7950 for the A8N32-SLI.

I have a feeling this is just how the card gets examined by CPU-ID. As far as I can tell, the performance seems spot on for what I expected so I don't really see an issue.
I agree but I'd like peace of mind. 16x scores are showing up the exact same as 8x so it's too early to tell for now. I think your right and it's just how cpu-z finds the cards, or maybe it's becasue it's dual gpus? Any other users with an Asus A8N32-SLI please see if cpu-z also detects 8x mode. So far it only seems to be happening to users with 7950's, and I tried reinstalling both pci drivers and video drivers, still shows up as 8x.

SH64
06-18-06, 10:56 PM
I think its normal .. since the 7950 consists actually of 2 boards with 2 GPUs that split the PCI-E x16 bandwidth in half .. so each would be x8.

heatlesssun
06-18-06, 11:01 PM
Yeah, there's something else. Did you notice your video memory. It's reading 1.0GB in 3DMark. Mine too. With my 7800 512 GTX SLI setup it read 512MB.

Is that right? There's obviosuly something not quite right with how these apps are doing things, or indeed, there's something a bit different about how SLI works with the 7950.

shungokusatsu
06-18-06, 11:07 PM
Yeah, there's something else. Did you notice your video memory. It's reading 1.0GB in 3DMark. Mine too. With my 7800 512 GTX SLI setup it read 512MB.

Is that right? There's obviosuly something not quite right with how these apps are doing things, or indeed, there's something a bit different about how SLI works with the 7950.

It's the 7950's, they show up as SLI automatically. All my results either say 1GB in cp or 2GB in 3dmark for memory. PCIE is capable of 16x lanes but only with 1 card at a time. The 7950 is has dual gpu's and shows up as SLI which are throwing off the readings.

Jarodd
06-19-06, 10:57 AM
I'm getting confused here.
The motherboards that have 2x PCI, are working either as 1x16 or 2x8 in SLI, ok. But the 7950 is a 2gpus, but still on 1 PCI slot, so that would still be 16x, and you say it says 8x? But then if you use 2x 7950 in SLI, that kind of mb becomes 2x8, would that make 4x4 in our case? I think i'm missing a point somewhere :retard:.

Riptide
06-19-06, 12:36 PM
It's not normal.

I have one GX2. CPU-z shows 16x for me. A8N-SLI is the board.

shungokusatsu
06-19-06, 03:45 PM
It's not normal.

I have one GX2. CPU-z shows 16x for me. A8N-SLI is the board.

Isn't the A8N an 8x board?

Riptide
06-19-06, 04:34 PM
Isn't the A8N an 8x board?
Yes. However when using one slot you get all 16 lanes.

shungokusatsu
06-19-06, 05:05 PM
Now this is gonna bother me, let me tinker around and see if I can get it back to 16x.

pault123
06-19-06, 05:50 PM
Is anyone still using their shadow card? The one you put in when you DONT have SLI just one card?

I just installed my XFX 7950GX2 and not sure whether to leave it in or not?

With the shadow card in I would have thought the system would split the lanes?

heatlesssun
06-19-06, 07:50 PM
It's not normal.

I have one GX2. CPU-z shows 16x for me. A8N-SLI is the board.


Curious, what does 3DMark list as your GPU memory. I'm getting 1GB, which doesn't make sense to me. I thought it was two 512MB cards, not one 1GB card.

This has to be something to do with the BIOS patching that makes this card work. Whatever that patch is, its obviously different from BIOS to BIOS and so I guess A8N32-SLI mobo's are reading as x8 while the A8N-SLI is reading as x16.

shungokusatsu
06-19-06, 08:49 PM
Curious, what does 3DMark list as your GPU memory. I'm getting 1GB, which doesn't make sense to me. I thought it was two 512MB cards, not one 1GB card.

This has to be something to do with the BIOS patching that makes this card work. Whatever that patch is, its obviously different from BIOS to BIOS and so I guess A8N32-SLI mobo's are reading as x8 while the A8N-SLI is reading as x16.

3dmark is showing 2GB for me, cpu-z still 8x.

Riptide
06-19-06, 09:02 PM
Curious, what does 3DMark list as your GPU memory. I'm getting 1GB, which doesn't make sense to me. I thought it was two 512MB cards, not one 1GB card.3dmark05 lists it as 512MB.

Here's a CPUz screen.
http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/6133/cpuz9ka.th.jpg (http://img117.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cpuz9ka.jpg)

Later this weekend I'm going to be swapping this board out for a k8t890 pro so I'll be curious to see how it reads then. Should be 16x as well but we're apparently seeing some weirdness here so who knows.

Crazy Chuckster
06-19-06, 10:02 PM
My MSI K8N Diamond Plus is showing 8x as well with the 7950GX2 installed.

Noobified
06-20-06, 01:12 AM
I'm going to test on an A8N-SLI Deluxe tomorrow. I'll see if it reads 16x or 8x. I'll let you guys know.

Jarodd
06-20-06, 02:54 AM
My MSI K8N Diamond Plus is showing 8x as well with the 7950GX2 installed.


Though when you look on the motherboard, it's written 16x above each PCIE slot...raah can't wait to receive my GX2

Redeemed
06-20-06, 04:45 AM
Well, most NF4 SLi based motherboards only support PCI-E x8 per slot when in SLi mode.

Remember, there IS a difference between SLi and Quad SLi in regards to the PCI-e rate.

With the NF4 boards that can only do PCI-e x8 in SLi, each PCI-e slot IS running at x16 when not in SLi mode. As such, by inserting a single 7950 you are "enabling" SLi.

Now, let me try and break this down some more...

You have two GPUs on the 7950. These GPUs need atleast PCI-e x8. One PCI-e slot supports UP TO x16. As such, that ONE SLOT runs at PCI-e x16 but the GRAPHICS CARDS split the signal into two PCI- x8 signals. Thus, each card on the GX2 has a dedicated rate of x8. Yet the slot is still running at a rate of x16. Remember, even though only ONE SLOT is being used, SLi is STILL being implemented.

By adding yet another GX2 in the mix you get QUAD SLI, a whole other monster. As such, with a mother board that can only supply a rate of x8 to each slot when in SLi mode, each pair of GX2s would run at a rate of x8 YET EACH CARD PER GX2 WOULD ONLY BE CAPABLE OF UTILIZING A RATE OF x4. This is why nVidia highly recommends a motherboard that can offer a rate of x16 per card when running Quad SLi.

I hope that wasn't TOO confusing. I'll try and find some good articles to back this up. I read about it not that long ago. But I just got in from work and am kinda' tired. But later today (it is almost 2 AM :D ) when I wake up I'll do some searching to provide some helpfull articles.

OWA
06-20-06, 07:17 AM
Is anyone still using their shadow card? The one you put in when you DONT have SLI just one card?

I just installed my XFX 7950GX2 and not sure whether to leave it in or not?

With the shadow card in I would have thought the system would split the lanes?
I think I tried it both ways initially since I wasn't sure which way to do it either. Seems like you could just leave it at normal (single) since the 7950 works with non-SLI boards. I can't remember which way I ended up going with but I'm pretty sure it worked either way. I didn't compare performance between the two though.