PDA

View Full Version : Far Cry Freezing


zyklon69
06-19-06, 03:51 PM
Anyone have know of any problems with far cry? Im using the 91.31 and the 91.28 drivers, both gave me the problem. They are big freeze up, one made my system crash. I got latest far cry patch too. Any ideas?

J-Mag
06-19-06, 04:21 PM
Frozen FaryCry = Crysis

HAHAH!

I was going to leave it at that, but just to be mildly helpful: Run the last 8X.XX whql, and make sure to uninstall the 9 series that you currently have. I am not sure if this will help, but it is the first thing I would try. ANyway what video card do you have?

einstein_314
06-19-06, 04:32 PM
Frozen FaryCry = Crysis

HAHAH!


:rofl

Yeah, a little more information about your computer would be helpful. I'd try as J-Mag said and try the last 8X.XX driver. The new 90's might have a problem with FarCry. You never know right?

Idoru
06-19-06, 04:43 PM
Is it a 7900 series card? Is it quite new? Could be a borked card, there are a lot around.

zyklon69
06-19-06, 05:09 PM
yea, oops, it's a evga 7900gt ko sc, going to try those drivers now.

squall_leonhart
06-19-06, 06:23 PM
Games just don't freeze.

its either due to a problem with the system (possibly power supply)
or drivers (page error=lockup)

are you using the latest FarCry patch? that could also be a problem as the original isntall version doesn't support Geforce6+

zyklon69
06-19-06, 06:49 PM
Turns out that i have a defective card, played quake4 for 20-30 minutes and had some ridiculous artifacting, i tried various drivers too. Not only quake4 though, 3dmark06.. aquamark, hitman 2,battlefield 2. Anyhow, im rma'ing this.

supra
06-19-06, 07:24 PM
Frozen FaryCry = Crysis

HAHAH!


*drum roll, cymbol hit

(nana2) :D