PDA

View Full Version : Bought a 7950GX2 eXtreme and got the 130 more expensive XXX version!!! :)


pault123
06-21-06, 03:18 PM
I have just bought a XFX 7950GX2 eXtreme version for 399.

Just run 3dmark06 the first thing that baffled and intrigued me is this >>>

(Keep in mind the XFX eXtreme version has clocks of 520 core 1300 memory)

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/3dmark067950gx2.jpg

When 3dmark06 starts the core jumps from 2d clock of 520mhz to 3d clock of 567 mhz!!

The memory jumps from 2d clock of 648 (1300) to 3d clock of 774 (1548)!!

Now I paid 399 for this card, and bought it as the 520/1300 eXtreme version

Theres a 527 version

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=408902

which has clocks of 570/1550, my eXtreme version runs at the XXX version clocks!

WOW

Can anyone steal my happyness and tell me this is a load of rubbish and Rivatuner is lying? / or a very very funny coincidence that it reports the EXACT clocks (give or take1-2mhz) of a 130 more expensive card?

Also the temps are quite sexy, peaking at 79 degrees which for 2 cards stuck together so close I was expecting 90 at least!

Next the score >>>

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c400/pault123/3dmark06breakdown.jpg

I know your thinking thats sh** right? I know I am, but the fps is very nice for 3dmark06 ive never got anywhere close to the averages above before AND I only have a 3700 San Diego at stock, that must be bottlenecking the beast known as the 7950GX2?

I was warned not to get the 7950 due to my sandy 3700, the shop told me you will need dual core minimum to see the benefit. Since I only just bought my Sandy i'm willing to OC the arse of it (carefully of course) if someone could advise me exactly how.

Hopefully with an OC'd sandy I should be able to hit 8000?

NOTE: I have not overclocked the card whatsoever. Simply left it at the factory OC'd setttings.

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 03:20 PM
That 3700 cpu is definately bottlenecking your pc.

Lfctony
06-21-06, 03:26 PM
Yep, I get 5500ish with my X1900XT and my 4200+... And yes, you probably did get the faster variant by mistake. :)

pault123
06-21-06, 03:31 PM
http://www.xfxforce.com/web/product/listConfigurations.jspa?seriesId=185563&productId=291587&categoryId=1&productConfigurationId=144833

I bought the middle one, it appears to be the bottom one ive got.

My box even says 520m extreme version on the front, they must have packed a XXX version in the box! (nana2) :) :D

Blasphemer
06-21-06, 04:02 PM
Nice one. Lucky git. But yeah that single core is pulling back your 06 scores, but 3dmarks dont really count for much. The fps in the graphics tests look fine. I have clocked mine up to those levels, but the advantages were negligible, so i have left it at stock. It gets quite warm so until better coolers become available i can keep it there.
Great card, congrats.

pault123
06-21-06, 04:27 PM
Nice one. Lucky git. But yeah that single core is pulling back your 06 scores, but 3dmarks dont really count for much. The fps in the graphics tests look fine. I have clocked mine up to those levels, but the advantages were negligible, so i have left it at stock. It gets quite warm so until better coolers become available i can keep it there.
Great card, congrats.

What was your score before and after the overclock?

Once I find out exactly how to OC my sandy that will hopefully ease some of the bottleneck

SH64
06-21-06, 04:32 PM
That 3700 cpu is definately bottlenecking your pc.
QFT.

pault123
06-21-06, 04:36 PM
QFT.

Quit Fu**ing Talking or Quoted For Truth? :o

einstein_314
06-21-06, 04:40 PM
Quit Fu**ing Talking or Quoted For Truth? :o
Around these parts QFT = Quoted For Truth :)

SH64
06-21-06, 04:40 PM
Quit Fu**ing Talking or Quoted For Truth? :o
Niether , its Quite Fu**in' True :p

Around these parts QFT = Quoted For Truth :)
What he said :)

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 04:46 PM
Niether , its Quite Fu**in' True :p


What he said :)
Ya if you were to get an higher end X2 or a FX chip your scores would be much better.

nippyjun
06-21-06, 05:07 PM
Ya if you were to get an higher end X2 or a FX chip your scores would be much better.

Would an X2 chip that is run at the same speed as an FX chip give the same performance? Or is there some other difference?

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 05:09 PM
Would an X2 chip that is run at the same speed as an FX chip give the same performance? Or is there some other difference?
The X2, You'd see better performance because it's dual core, especially in 3DMark06's cpu marks. If you have the money, the FX 60 is the cream of the crop from AMD at the moment.

nippyjun
06-21-06, 05:13 PM
The X2, You'd see better performance because it's dual core, especially in 3DMark06's cpu marks. If you have the money, the FX 60 is the cream of the crop from AMD at the moment.


How about an FX62 that is dual core versus an X2 at the same speed?

pault123
06-21-06, 05:19 PM
Lets suppose I find a spare a 200ish! Which one

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=19392

or

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=18245

or

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=18246

I like to get good bang for my buck!

So would the 4200 be a good choice?

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 05:19 PM
How about an FX62 that is dual core versus an X2 at the same speed?

The FX 62 would be faster, but that's based off the new AM2 sockets, less heat consumption and it's 2.8 out the box. It also depends on the X2 chip, the FX 60 and 62 have 2 x 1 MB cache, only the 4400 and 4800 have 1MB cache.

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 05:21 PM
Lets suppose I find a spare a 200ish! Which one

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=19392

or

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=18245

or

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=18246

I like to get good bang for my buck!

So would the 4200 be a good choice?

If you can't get a FX 60, go with the 4400+, it's the only X2 besides the 4800 that features 2 x 1MB of cache, and it has plenty of room for o/cing.

nippyjun
06-21-06, 05:24 PM
The FX 62 would be faster, but that's based off the new AM2 sockets, less heat consumption and it's 2.8 out the box. It also depends on the X2 chip, the FX 60 and 62 have 2 x 1 MB cache, only the 4400 and 4800 have 1MB cache.

I've got an AM2 4800 chip that i can run at the 2.8 (actually now up to 3.0) ; can i consider that it should have the same performance as the FX62 when i run it at 2.8, or do the FX chips have other performance optomizations?



Also, sorry that this has gone off topic. Congrats to getting the faster card at the lower price!

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 05:29 PM
I've got an AM2 4800 chip that i can run at the 2.8 (actually now up to 3.0) ; can i consider that it should have the same performance as the FX62 when i run it at 2.8, or do the FX chips have other performance optomizations?



Also, sorry that this has gone off topic. Congrats to getting the faster card at the lower price!

The FX62 would be faster, but not overkill faster, plus with an FX62 you can always o/c even more.

nippyjun
06-21-06, 05:31 PM
The FX62 would be faster, but not overkill faster, plus with an FX62 you can always o/c even more.


What optomizations does the FX62 have that makes it faster?

shungokusatsu
06-21-06, 05:36 PM
What optomizations does the FX62 have that makes it faster?

Read this review: http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=252&type=expert&pid=3

Both the X2 and FX series take hits back and forth, it really all depends on what your preference is. When it comes to gaming/media with AMD, the FX series takes the cake. Also, the FX series offers unlocked multipliers. If you o/c your 4800 to 2.8 or higher, you won't see much of a difference between your processor and the FX62 at all. The only real gains of the 62 are the unlocked multipliers, 2.8 ready, more headroom for o/cing.

wacky7
06-24-06, 02:00 AM
better go with a 4400+ get a 2MB cas going.


------------------------------
AMD64bit dualcore 4400+ 2x1MBcas
OCZ 4 x 1GB PC3500 2-3-2-5
XFX x2 7800 GTX 512 extreme editions 580MHzcore 1.730mhz memory
PSU 1000watts pcpower
Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe
Audigy Xfi plat
2x Liteon DVD_RW 16x
Gateway HD 21" Wide Screen LCD Monitor