PDA

View Full Version : FS: AMD64 3700+, EPoX MB SLi, 2GIG Corsair RAM


Burpy
07-05-06, 08:13 PM
http://narish.home.comcast.net/PIC2.jpg

For Sale:

* AMD64 3700+ s754 OEM (no heatsink) [ CPUz (http://narish.home.comcast.net/CPU.jpg) ]

* EPoX EP-8NPA SLi s754 [ CPUz (http://narish.home.comcast.net/MB.jpg) ] [ EPoX Site (http://www.epox.com.tw/eng/products_content.php?ps=375) ]

* Corsair ValueSelect 2GIG (2x1GIG) [ CPUz (http://narish.home.comcast.net/MEM1.jpg) ] [ CPUz (http://narish.home.comcast.net/MEM2.jpg) ]

Asking $400.00 Shipped via PayPal non CC. Selling as a whole, not parting off.

Everything is run at stock speeds, so I can't give information on overclocking.
The only setting that I adjusted in the BIOS was the memory timing, so it would be set to Corsairs stock speed.
I have been running this setup with a single eVGA 7900GTX for about 6 Months without any problems.

Note 1: I added copper heatspreaders on both sticks of RAM.
Note 2: Remember this is a socket 754 motherboard with 2 PCI-Express for SLi.

Heatware: [ Burpy (http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=45494) ] :thumbsup:

OWA
07-07-06, 09:25 AM
Bump for the screenshot guy. :)

Burpy
07-07-06, 10:40 AM
heh, thanks OWA. :D

Tuork
07-08-06, 09:08 PM
What do you think of that motherboard?
I'm actually thinking of buying one for a cheap upgrade into PCIe without having to add DDR2 and a new processor.

gratzie!

Burpy
07-10-06, 12:05 PM
What do you think of that motherboard?
I'm actually thinking of buying one for a cheap upgrade into PCIe without having to add DDR2 and a new processor.

gratzie!

The board has been solid so far, no problems in the few months that I have had it. I haven't used SLi, so I can't comment on that.
It's a nice board if you plan on sticking with s754. If I'm not mistaken, its the only SLi s754.

The only problem I had was with my old Linksys 5 port hub not working with the onboard ethernet.
I replaced my hub with an linksys router hub & everything is working fine now.
It had more to do with the linksys hub being old & not being able to update it via firmware.

I'd recommend it for s754 users.

Redeemed
07-10-06, 01:05 PM
If I'm not mistaken, its the only SLi s754.

You are correct. That is why I purchased that exact board for my system. I also happen to have the 3700. Extremely fast processor. Do not be fooled by it being s754- this thing SCREAMS!

Besides, if your mobo will allow it and you have sufficient cooling it WILL hit 3Ghz without a problem. Should compare nicely to a s939 4000 if ran at 3GHz. Otherwise, it is right there with the s939 3700 at most times.

Obviously I'm not gonna' get this hardware as I already have it- but I will STRONGLY recommend it to any one who is stuck or wants to stick with s754 but doesn't want AGP graphics. Solid setup.

rage10
07-14-06, 05:40 PM
if the red pci-e slot was one slot closer...ARG!

Redeemed
07-20-06, 08:50 PM
if the red pci-e slot was one slot closer...ARG!


Don't see how this can be much of a problem. Should have plenty of room even if you aimed to go dual GTXs or GX2s. Granted, I have e-mail Epox about supporting dual GX2s and so for they don't aim to for this board. I might just have to try it for my self though. ;)

Burpy, got a question- I have this board AND the 3700 already, though I've not used either yet. Just how much of an OC could you get on that 3700 of yours? More directly, could you hit 3GHz with it?

Burpy
07-20-06, 11:07 PM
Burpy, got a question- I have this board AND the 3700 already, though I've not used either yet. Just how much of an OC could you get on that 3700 of yours? More directly, could you hit 3GHz with it?

I run everything stock & don't overclock at all, so I wont be of much help in that area. :)

Rytr
07-21-06, 12:29 AM
Bump!

Interesting that it is 754 and PCI-E SLI. I have the 9NPA+ SLI 939-pin board using a 3700+ SanDiego and 2 GB Mushkin ram. I ran this system in SLI for a couple of months with no problems. Excellent gaming rig. The highest overclock I used was 2.7GHz. It's now my backup gaming system running at default clocks which is still sufficient for gaming at 1280x1024.

j0j081
07-21-06, 09:06 AM
let me know if you decide to sell the ram seperately.

rage10
07-23-06, 12:37 AM
Don't see how this can be much of a problem. Should have plenty of room even if you aimed to go dual GTXs or GX2s. Granted, I have e-mail Epox about supporting dual GX2s and so for they don't aim to for this board. I might just have to try it for my self though. my case has 4 card slots and the red pci-e slot is not suported. (see the pics in my question on buying 7600 thred for the reson)

Redeemed
07-29-06, 01:30 PM
Well, I just noticed something about the motherboard. It has a 24 pin ATX connector, and then a 4 pin 12v connector. My psu has the 20 pin atx connector and the 4 pin 12v connector. Should that work just fine? Or do I need a new PSU that has both the 24 pin ATX and 4 pin 12v connector?

Rytr
07-29-06, 01:56 PM
Your PSU should work just fine. You will probably find the instructions in the manual. Just make sure you hook up the PSU's 20-pin connector to the correct 20 pin slots on the motherboard's 24-pin power connection. I still use my 20-pin 550W Enermax on one of my systems.

Redeemed
07-29-06, 03:57 PM
Your PSU should work just fine. You will probably find the instructions in the manual. Just make sure you hook up the PSU's 20-pin connector to the correct 20 pin slots on the motherboard's 24-pin power connection. I still use my 20-pin 550W Enermax on one of my systems.

Thanks. :D I asked because...

Before my previous post I decided to install the new mobo. Problem was I didn't have a PCI-e video card. Upon installing the mobo I noticed the ATX power connector on the new motherboard. I decided to install the motherboard anyway and just hope for the best.

Well, I got the mobo installed and I had 2 old PCI graphics cards lying around- one was an old Cirrus Logic based board from STB Systems, the other was a Diamond Stealth 2000 which used the S3 Virge GPU with 4MB of VRAM. I thought both cards worked. Well, I tried the Diamond video card first and the system wouldn't boot- it got stuck at 25 on the little LED display on the mobo. I tried the other video card and still no go.

So, I wondered if it might be due to the PSU. To cancel that out, I tried the two video cards in my mom's computer- and yet again neither worked. So, I have concluded that my computer is fine and my PSU will work just fine and that it was the video cards preventing it to boot.

Oh well, just means I'll have to wait till monday afternoon before I can use my computer. Order the MSI NX7600GT HD yesterday from newegg. Chose same day delivery so I SHOULD have it by monday. I just hate waiting. :( :(

Thanks for the reply though! :D :D