PDA

View Full Version : BFG 7800 Quit working

leppy
07-08-06, 01:12 PM
Ok guys, i'm not a complete Noob but i've been outa the tech for a while. I just bought a Bfg 7800gs Agp at the end of May. 2 weeks ago i exited out of CoD2 and my pc just froze. Upon a reset there were graphical annomalies all over. The bios , Windows and then a hard freeze again . Waiting a few min, reboot and managed to get into Windows untill it just went to hell again. Well i unplugged most of my componets leaving just 1 hd and the Graphics plugged in .. Actually managed to run Xp for about 20 min before it crashed. Now i'm running on an ati x1300 and haven't had a lock up since. My specs are as Follows ( i know i need a newer PSU )
Amd 2700xp
1gig ddr 3200
Abit Nf7s v.2
Xp Pro Corp..hehehe yeah it's legal
Powermax 400watt psu 16a on the +12v
I know now that i need at least a 20a psu However i'm just wondering why it ran fine for over a month and just now started to kick out. Is it possible to just get a new psu and my card still be ok , or underpowering it might have fried it. I don't have a lotta money , going through a divorce and all and just wondering what i might be able to do. Just buy a good psu ?? or will i have to get a replacement GPU as well.

stncttr908
07-08-06, 04:53 PM
It sounds to me like the card just died. Anomalies like that usually don't occur due to low power, at least in my experience. Generally you'd either have sluggish performance or you PC would randomly restart/reset itself.

This, of course, is where BFG's lifetime warranty comes in.

Airbrushkid
07-08-06, 05:12 PM
Running a card under powered can really hurt the card. You could get anither power supply rated for 20a 12v line. Try if nothing call BFG tech support. But I would not tell them that it was under powered.

Digital_Trans
07-08-06, 05:23 PM