PDA

View Full Version : X-Fi Fatal1ty vs X-Fi Xtreme Music


Peoples-Agent
07-16-06, 07:10 AM
Hi peeps....

Are there any real fundemental differences between the various X-Fi cards?

When I do my next build, I would like to get on the X-Fi wagon, so far haven't really seen the need but the hardware processing seems a little too much to pass up on.

The X-Fi Xtreme Music seems to be a great deal compared to the others, but would I really be missing out on anything much by going for this card?

PTK1982
07-16-06, 07:25 AM
no only x-ram and front bay but plus side you get creative patented crackling and popping sound only creative knows how to make these:D

OWA
07-16-06, 07:40 AM
I use both and so far there hasn't been much difference, if any. Supposedly, having the xram should help framerates in games that use it but there hasn't been many that take advantage of that yet.

retsam
07-16-06, 09:08 AM
its a crap shoot right now with creatives drivers.. i have gone to win32 with no problems to win64x win poping and cracking back to win32 with all sorts of crazy ass sounds.....i would really think hard before you buy an x-fi right now...you have to ask your self...are you feeling lucky...punk...:)

Riptide
07-16-06, 09:18 AM
Try something other than a Creative card. Who knows you might like the alternative(s).

retsam
07-16-06, 09:57 AM
/off topic ....rip your 9 away from 15k .....****ing post ***** :)

jAkUp
07-16-06, 10:21 AM
I use both and so far there hasn't been much difference, if any. Supposedly, having the xram should help framerates in games that use it but there hasn't been many that take advantage of that yet.

Prey and Quake4 supposly support X-Ram

Riptide
07-16-06, 10:32 AM
/off topic ....rip your 9 away from 15k .....****ing post ***** :)
lol thx for noticing. :)

jAkUp are there any reviews that you know of which show these performance differences with and w/o x-ram?

jAkUp
07-16-06, 10:39 AM
I have not seen any... I am curious to see how big a difference it is. In all honosty, I cannot how it can amount to more than a few fps.. but maybe I'm wrong...

Roadhog
07-16-06, 02:04 PM
dunno if theres any difference besides the x-ram... Mines been awesomeness to me :D

Lazaredz
07-17-06, 10:45 AM
Don't you also get a cool glowing X-Fi and Fata!iTy box .... thingy on the card???

Personally, I don't think X-Ram does squat and its not going to be well supported.

nekrosoft13
07-17-06, 11:01 AM
if you look at the boards all 3(except elite) are identical(x-ram is only difference), elite has totall different layout

extrememusic
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3232-c.JPG

platinum
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3230-c.JPG

fatality
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3228-d.JPG

elite
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3226-h.JPG

i personally would like to get Elite

J-Mag
07-17-06, 11:16 AM
jAkUp are there any reviews that you know of which show these performance differences with and w/o x-ram?

SO far performance variance is within margin of error.

http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q1/xfi-fatal1ty/index.x?pg=5

Neophyte
07-17-06, 11:16 AM
if you look at the boards all 3(except elite) are identical(x-ram is only difference), elite has totall different layout

extrememusic
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3232-c.JPG

platinum
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3230-c.JPG

fatality
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3228-d.JPG

elite
http://images.tigerdirect.com/SkuImages/gallery/large/C44-3226-h.JPG

i personally would like to get Elite I second that ^^ i love mine.

also as for game's (doesn't the UTk4 soundpack use x-ram ?)

http://tech.1000s.gr/catalog/images/X-Fi%20Elite%20PRO%20c.jpg Yumm Yumm :p

tweaked
07-17-06, 12:00 PM
as an Xfi convert:

when it works right, it sounds fantastic. BF2, quake4, prey and ut2k4 with the patch all sound fantastic.


in games that support it, its really nice.

if sound is VERY important to you and you are willing to take a risk, then the XFI is for you.

its really more about quality of sound than speed. I have no idea if the Xram is doing anything, i got the elite pro for the better DAC's.

/happy elite pro owner.
//got it on sale at amazon for $280.

jAkUp
07-17-06, 12:03 PM
SO far performance variance is within margin of error.

http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q1/xfi-fatal1ty/index.x?pg=5

BF2 does not use X-Ram. AFAIK, UT2004 (with patch) Quake4 and Prey are the only games.

EDIT:
NM, I see they benched Quake4 as well

J-Mag
07-17-06, 12:05 PM
BF2 does not use X-Ram. AFAIK, UT2004 (with patch) Quake4 and Prey are the only games.

I was linking to the start of the review, if you go to the next page there is Quake4 results, which show the same thing.

Edit: Fast edit ;p\

Edit2: BF2 may not use the X-Ram but it definitely uses up to the 128 voice mark. I don't think any games prior to this do...

nekrosoft13
07-17-06, 12:27 PM
i was wondering how does x-fi (24bit) compare to intels HD audio (32bit)

does that mean creative will soon release 32bit sound blaster?

Neophyte
07-17-06, 01:31 PM
i was wondering how does x-fi (24bit) compare to intels HD audio (32bit)

does that mean creative will soon release 32bit sound blaster? Can you give some info about that, couse i think your missreading things ?

I whas thinking


16-bit to 24-bit recording sampling rates:
8, 11.025,
16, 22.05,
24, 32, 44.1, (24 / 32)
48 and 96kHz

?

ynnek
07-17-06, 01:57 PM
quake4 with the latest EAX/OpenAL support vs onboard sound differnce is like night and day.. I was actually pleasently suprised at the huge difference.. Not only better postional and "depth" feeling(its not just reverb!), but I believe the number of voices and clarity. I wish more games took the time to support the latest EAX/OpenAL like Q4.

In games that don't support all this, lilke CS SOurce, the X-Fi was so much more clearer and percise with positional placement with my 5.1 setup.. Its almost like having a "sound wallhack", Cause you can distinctly hear the people walk around you even behind walls and you can pinpoint where they are. Its almost unfair.

IMO, I say just get the Xtreme Music and save the extra $100-200 for cpu/ram/or mb.. or for better speakers.. Although computer speakers aren't really very good anyways.


On the flipside for my next HTPC, I will probably look to use just onboard sound, like Intel HD audio with a Conroe. Reason is for that applicaiton, I use my HT receiver anyways and send the audio straight over as digital, and let my reciever do the actual decoding and DAC work. But for games, I would definantly recommend a X-Fi.

nekrosoft13
07-17-06, 02:14 PM
Can you give some info about that, couse i think your missreading things ?

I whas thinking


16-bit to 24-bit recording sampling rates:
8, 11.025,
16, 22.05,
24, 32, 44.1, (24 / 32)
48 and 96kHz

?

i saw it mentioned on few websites

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_High_Definition_Audio
http://www.coolermaster.com/index.php?LT=english&Language_s=2&url_place=discovery_detail&serial=271

Neophyte
07-17-06, 02:44 PM
i saw it mentioned on few websites

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_High_Definition_Audio
http://www.coolermaster.com/index.php?LT=english&Language_s=2&url_place=discovery_detail&serial=271
Hmzzz anyone have any comment on this ? hahaha i might switch myself if this is true.

Buenamos
07-17-06, 03:09 PM
I've currently got an Audigy 2ZS, I've seen the Xtreme Music on sale from newegg for $82 shipped....for those of you that have upgraded between these 2; what do you think? Keep in mind I've got Z-640s, they're no Z-5500s.

|MaguS|
07-17-06, 06:49 PM
I will probably be picking up an X-FI Fatality this week... atleast I hope to.

nekrosoft13
07-17-06, 07:44 PM
Hmzzz anyone have any comment on this ? hahaha i might switch myself if this is true.

if you are going to switch, can i have your x-fi?