PDA

View Full Version : It is very difficult to set up RAID 0 with 2 drives?


Quick420
07-24-06, 12:25 PM
I am pondering setting up a raid 0 system with 2 250gb h/d's,my specs are in my sig.Does anyone have a link for an article or how-to on this subject? I'm hearing the performance increase would be worth it.

stncttr908
07-24-06, 01:30 PM
My Abit NF7-S 2.0 has a Silicon Image controller that made the setup very easy. I just pressed the keystroke, went through a few menu options and I was good to go. For advanced configuring (cluster sizes, etc.) you'll have to do a little research.

nekrosoft13
07-24-06, 01:33 PM
off topic
neowin? what you doing here ;) haha

DataMatrix
07-24-06, 06:13 PM
The smaller the cluster sizes the better it is for gaming, the bigger the clusters the better it is for programs, or so I've heard. Since writing smaller clusters takes less time I can see why it's better for gaming.

Quick420
07-26-06, 08:36 PM
I'm a liitle confused about my board options.It has a Promise sata raid/ide controller.Am I to understand I can only set up raid using this controller if I use sata drives?If anyone could have a look at the A8V specs and advise me what to do.

crainger
07-27-06, 02:40 AM
You are correct. You can only set up RAID using SATA drives for that motherboard. This is the case for most if not all PCI-E motherboards that support RAID.

Quick420
07-27-06, 09:49 AM
Ok thnx for that revelation,guess that kinda puts a halt on my raid experiment :-(

crainger
07-27-06, 06:57 PM
Well you might be able to find a cheap or 2nd hand RAID contoller card for IDE drives. I'm not sure how tricky they are (New to RAID myself). You'd probably be better of waiting till you have 2 SATA drives though.