PDA

View Full Version : Kinda need help here


Firewarrior
07-27-06, 12:22 AM
Ive got my Packard bell imedia5094 for 5yrs now and its about time I upgraded im keeping the cyclops ATX case and the drivers and hdd just changing everything else oh im keeping the keyboard aswell seems its good reliable on FPS games and alike.
If you need to see my system to help me here: http://support.packardbell.com/uk/item/?m=home&sn=024519920371

Thats it above

Im changing it into a gaming rig but with a crappy case :D
Anyways here is what im buying: Source:www.Komplett.co.uk

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4GHz Socket 939, 512KB, BOXED w/fan

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=308954

Gainward GeForce 7600GS 256MB Silent FX, PCI-Express,DDRII, "BP7600GS-256-TV-DVI"

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=321070

MSI K8NGM2-FID, nForce430+GeForce 6150, Socket-939, m-ATX,GbLAN, Firew, PCI-Ex16

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=313875

OCZ Value DDR400 PC3200 2048MB Dual Pack w/two matched 1024MB PC3200 DIMM`s

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=315973

Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue, 2000dpi Laser Mouse, USB

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=314163

Samsung SpinPoint P120S 200GB SATA2 8MB 7200RPM

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=307912

XION Powersupply ATX 400W Retail SLI, SATA, Dimension mm(163x150x85) 20+4 pin

http://komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=320544

And maybe Battlefield 2 Deluxe From Play.com Im playing SWG atm crap but better than some MMO's:D


And back to topic all I want help with is just to see if it all will fit together with the case and the wattage required to power all and everything else I want to make sure that it all fits before I buy and I also Think that this forum got some really helpful and smart people :D

And if this helps my old HDD is IDE but thats all in the link I gave

Thank you if you help

Cant wait to get all done and play some battlefield 2 and soon battlefield future one 2104 something:D

Thank you again

crainger
07-27-06, 01:50 AM
Looking good so far. Except the motherboard you choose has onboard graphics, wouldn't be be better to get one without or even aim for a SLI board incase you want to sli that 7600GS?

Your IDE drives should be fine with any motherboard. Most support atleast two IDE channels.

I think its kinda cool your gonna have this pre-built aging PC case, but have a killer rig inside.

What are you doing for a monitor?

Firewarrior
07-27-06, 09:57 AM
Looking good so far. Except the motherboard you choose has onboard graphics, wouldn't be be better to get one without or even aim for a SLI board incase you want to sli that 7600GS?

Your IDE drives should be fine with any motherboard. Most support atleast two IDE channels.

I think its kinda cool your gonna have this pre-built aging PC case, but have a killer rig inside.

What are you doing for a monitor?

Im buying one from my mate some 19' CRT sony one can do 1600x1200 or something so thats done

Now All I need is a ESD Kit and Tool Kit to install the motherboard and its standoffs and screws kinda hard to find one if you can plz post it

Yes Im getting tired of lagging in my games lol so Im spending 500 Budget to upgrade

And im stuck on the Logitech G5 Mouse or the new Razer
Razer looks better though

And about the inboard graphics have asked nvidia and they say a the 6100Onboard graphics will help or support the 7600GS so that means two graphics card in one thats the reason why I chose the motherboard

Thanks for helping now I need the above I said the ESD Kit, Tool kit to install the components (PSU, MOBO, HDD)

Oh and Love this forums seems there are nice people here :clap:


Abou the ESD Kit and tool kit I would prefer if its from UK

crainger
07-27-06, 07:14 PM
I'd never heard of using Nvidia onbaord graphics to support and full addon card such as the 7600GS...

Has anyone else heard of this? I'm wondering whether they are feeding you a line just to sell the board.

As for the mouse. Either would be a great choice. It mainly depends on what feels best for you. I prefer the shape of Logitech. I'd recommend getting into a store and just see how your hand feels on them. If you like extra buttons, the G5 isn't to great.

saturnotaku
07-27-06, 07:19 PM
And about the inboard graphics have asked nvidia and they say a the 6100Onboard graphics will help or support the 7600GS so that means two graphics card in one thats the reason why I chose the motherboard

Whoever told you that is feeding you BS. As soon as you put in a discreet graphics card, the onboard one is automatically disabled.

Firewarrior
07-27-06, 08:17 PM
Whoever told you that is feeding you BS. As soon as you put in a discreet graphics card, the onboard one is automatically disabled.

Might seem so
But I swear I remember reading it somewhere and Nvidia telling me Wish I could find the email

Anyways can anyone help with the rig

EDIT: Seems I found it

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1898&page=3

Read the last paragraph its still on and helps the Videocard to support other stuff like Desktop screens
Damn Nvidia may have been right in that email I got 2months ago

crainger
07-27-06, 08:29 PM
So it seems it will help support 3 monitors??

If you plan on running 3 displays then get that board, otherwise your money is better spent on something else. Like SLI.

Firewarrior
07-27-06, 08:31 PM
Lol ill just keep the oboard graphics and still buy that 7600gs I want to play with max performance so its a nice feature or if my 7600GS ****s up I can use the onboard one :D

But I still require ESD Kit and tool kit
My rig is complete only need above stuff YAY!

crainger
07-27-06, 09:05 PM
In my entire time working on my own PC I have never used a ESD kit. I just use common sense and wear clothes and work in a spot that minimises static. I also always ground myself. usually by touching the case while the power cord is plaugged in. A metal table or chair leg also works well.

For the tool kit, just run down to your local dicky smith/tandy/radioshack and grab one with a few philips heads of different sizes, tweezers and needle nose pliers. You mightn't use them all. But it comes in handy. I have a toolset at home that came with an anti-static wrist band. If you find one, then that will net you a toolkit and ESD kit in one.

Hope it all goes smoothly for you. You know where we are if it doesn't (Or does and you wanna brag ;) )

Heinz68
07-27-06, 10:36 PM
I would go with Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, about $180 USD, it's faster than AMD 3800+
Overclocked the E6300 can beat anything AMD can offer, including the about $1000.00 USD "AMD Athlon 64 FX62"
You would need to spend more on motherboard and memory but sure it's worth it.
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802

If you really won't to stick it out with AMD till they come out with something better than at least you should get Socket AM2 system.
Socket AM2 is Forward Compatible with AM3 CPUs (K8L). AM2 has a long future for upgrading, not much to upgrade on socket 939.
So if you buy socket 939 now, next upgrade you will also have to buy new motherboard and memory.
http://dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=3169

I wish I had options like this when building new system last December plus who knew Conroe is going to be so good.

Firewarrior
07-27-06, 10:58 PM
In my entire time working on my own PC I have never used a ESD kit. I just use common sense and wear clothes and work in a spot that minimises static. I also always ground myself. usually by touching the case while the power cord is plaugged in. A metal table or chair leg also works well.

For the tool kit, just run down to your local dicky smith/tandy/radioshack and grab one with a few philips heads of different sizes, tweezers and needle nose pliers. You mightn't use them all. But it comes in handy. I have a toolset at home that came with an anti-static wrist band. If you find one, then that will net you a toolkit and ESD kit in one.

Hope it all goes smoothly for you. You know where we are if it doesn't (Or does and you wanna brag ;) )
Seems I do have a old Toolkit didnt know
And I dont trust myself so a ESD is preferably for me lol
Ive made some rigs in my school classes but crap ones so I have an idea of how to build a computer from scratch:D

Ok done Ill Be posting Pics soon
Not now 1-3Weeks due to saving up the money got 200 gonna get the other 300 soon and then getting a good memory stick for my sony handycamcorder :D
But beware my PC is located in my bedroom so its looks really cramped:(

Firewarrior
07-27-06, 11:00 PM
I would go with Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, about $180 USD, it's faster than AMD 3800+
Overclocked the E6300 can beat anything AMD can offer, including the about $1000.00 USD "AMD Athlon 64 FX62"
You would need to spend more on motherboard and memory but sure it's worth it.
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802

If you really won't to stick it out with AMD till they come out with something better than at least you should get Socket AM2 system.
Socket AM2 is Forward Compatible with AM3 CPUs (K8L). AM2 has a long future for upgrading, not much to upgrade on socket 939.
So if you buy socket 939 now, next upgrade you will also have to buy new motherboard and memory.
http://dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=3169

I wish I had options like this when building new system last December plus who knew Conroe is going to be so good.

True if I only lived in the USA:D