PDA

View Full Version : Just got dual core. Need list of games.


dwhjr77
07-29-06, 05:48 PM
Oh ya....I'm da man.

Anyways, what are some games that are "dual core" enabled? Doing tests now...Playing EQ2, while ripping a DVD...(nana2)

shungokusatsu
07-29-06, 05:53 PM
The only ones I know of that were fully optimized for it are Call of Duty 2 and Quake 4 and both require the latest patch to get that capability.

dwhjr77
07-29-06, 07:09 PM
The only ones I know of that were fully optimized for it are Call of Duty 2 and Quake 4 and both require the latest patch to get that capability.

I've just got to say...you've got a wicked PC there. Quad SLI is sick. Thinking of doing the 7950x2 myself. Right now I'm putting my x2 through the shiznit. Got picks of your rig? Benchmarks?

shungokusatsu
07-29-06, 08:02 PM
I've just got to say...you've got a wicked PC there. Quad SLI is sick. Thinking of doing the 7950x2 myself. Right now I'm putting my x2 through the shiznit. Got picks of your rig? Benchmarks?
Hold off on the Quad until they release the official drivers. It's actually underperforming majority of the time, and is slower then 7900 GTX SLI. Benches are decent, only hitting around mid 9000's in 3D06 with o/cing. My 7900 GTX SC SLI were hitting 11,000 with o/cing. But once the drivers arrive, I'm sure Quad will be well worth it.

jAkUp
07-29-06, 09:07 PM
Oblivion uses dual cores as well.

dwhjr77
07-29-06, 11:23 PM
Oblivion uses dual cores as well.

Ya, i tried it, and the game still runs like trash.

PaiN
07-30-06, 07:21 AM
believe it or not Titan Quest (http://www.ebgames.com/product.asp?product%5Fid=646593) is also optimized for multiple cores

msxyz
07-30-06, 08:29 AM
UnrealEd supports SMP since its debut back in 1998... for what is worth :lol:

nV`andrew
07-30-06, 01:19 PM
Ya, i tried it, and the game still runs like trash.

that sux :( i get wonderful performance in it on my comp all at high settings and some max

Knot3D
07-30-06, 01:24 PM
SplinterCell Double Agent will take advantage of dualcore and maybe Alan Wake too.

Nitz Walsh
07-30-06, 04:28 PM
Call of Duty 2 claims it "supports" Dual-core, and it probably does.

Problem is, it provides absolutely no performance benefit.

Quake4 is about the only game where you'll see an FPS boost, and that's only if you have a top-end GPU and don't play in extremely high resolutions.

shungokusatsu
07-30-06, 04:30 PM
Call of Duty 2 claims it "supports" Dual-core, and it probably does.

Problem is, it provides absolutely no performance benefit.

Quake4 is about the only game where you'll see an FPS boost, and that's only if you have a top-end GPU and don't play in extremely high resolutions.
I play at 2560x1600 all settings max using Ultra Quality and still locked at 60 fps.

dwhjr77
07-30-06, 06:18 PM
that sux :( i get wonderful performance in it on my comp all at high settings and some max

Ya, the game runs fine and is highly playable, but it's not smooth as I'd expect it to be a la HL2, Doom3 or even FEAR. Lots of "loading" it seems when I'm outdoors.