PDA

View Full Version : OMG - My E6600 ROCKS!!!


Pages : [1] 2 3

nrdstrm
07-31-06, 05:54 AM
Ok, I havn't done too much with my 6600 since I got it. I decided to encode a 2 Hour movie from XVid to DVD using Nero Vision. On my P4 3.0, 1GB DDR 400, 76GB raptor, it too a little over 2 hours.

My core 2 machine took 40 minutes!!!!!! (E6600, 2GB DDR800, 76GB Raptor) JEEEZ...Now that is a performance increase!!!! I couldn't be happier...I may do it again when I overclock this bad boy to see if it's even faster...Heh...

To top it off, while encoding, I was browsing the internet, and downloading a large file!

**EDIT** Forgot to mention, it is the exact same file that I am converting...

DataMatrix
07-31-06, 10:16 AM
Same encoding time of 40 minutes as my X2 4400 then....

Banko
07-31-06, 10:42 AM
Same encoding time of 40 minutes as my X2 4400 then....
Alright that is a dumb statement. Do you know what source video his was? What codecs his source video were? Also do you know what he was encoding to? The codecs, the bitrate, the audio format, audio bitrate and so forth?

Marvel_us
07-31-06, 11:02 AM
Alright that is a dumb statement. Do you know what source video his was? What codecs his source video were? Also do you know what he was encoding to? The codecs, the bitrate, the audio format, audio bitrate and so forth?

Rofl!owned:

That is one nice increase in performance. I'm assuming by your sig that it's still at stock. I'd like to see the results if you even decide to oc that badboy.:)

sirplayalot
07-31-06, 03:03 PM
Man...I really want my E6600. :(

Smokey
07-31-06, 03:14 PM
Any chance of taking out 1gb of ram to try and give a better idea of actual preformance increase from the e6600?

shungokusatsu
07-31-06, 03:20 PM
I hope it isn't at 2.4, bump her to 4+ where she's meant to be :D

DataMatrix
07-31-06, 07:37 PM
Alright that is a dumb statement. Do you know what source video his was? What codecs his source video were? Also do you know what he was encoding to? The codecs, the bitrate, the audio format, audio bitrate and so forth?

Ok how's this, I was encoding a DivX movie 700MB to a 5GB DVD in 40 mins... That enough for you?

Demon_82
07-31-06, 08:50 PM
Different movies can reach the same sizes and actually have a complete different level of complexity in the decodification process, due to the different contents of the image. It's a bit more complex to compare this things, it need to be the same file and the same encoding software to be a good comparative.

ViN86
07-31-06, 09:05 PM
Different movies can reach the same sizes and actually have a complete different level of complexity in the decodification process, due to the different contents of the image. It's a bit more complex to compare this things, it need to be the same file and the same encoding software to be a good comparative.
decodificat.... what? :confused:

i assume you mean "the decoding process" :lol:

(sorry i couldnt resist :o)

Clay
07-31-06, 09:17 PM
decodificat.... what? :confused:

i assume you mean "the decoding process" :lol:

(sorry i couldnt resist :o)You know, it's one of those words used on the Intrarweb. j/k Demon_82 :angel:

netviper13
07-31-06, 09:17 PM
decodificat.... what? :confused:

i assume you mean "the decoding process" :lol:

(sorry i couldnt resist :o)

Hey, if nuculer is an accepted word, I'm down with decodification :p

nrdstrm
08-01-06, 03:16 AM
Ok how's this, I was encoding a DivX movie 700MB to a 5GB DVD in 40 mins... That enough for you?

Well, the movie I encoded was a 1.4GB X-Vid to DVD using Nero Vision Express. The 40 Minutes time includes burning it to my hdd (as an ISO), not directly to a DVD. I hope that helps. Anyway, I don't see why your making such a big deal about this? I am happy with my chip, and I just wanted to give people an idea of the performance increase they would get going from a (very popular) P4 3.0 to a Conroe 2.4. I think the X2's are great chips and a great value at the moment as well...

Any chance of taking out 1gb of ram to try and give a better idea of actual preformance increase from the e6600?

I will do this sometime this week and update this thread...

Great. Is this with the stock 2.4GHz?

Yes, it's at stock. Jakup had it up to 3.6 I think on the Suckybyte GA 965P DS3, but I havn't tried to overclock yet on my Asus (time restraints and heat issues (no AC)). I might be taking Thursday off of work...If I do I'll try some OCing if it remains cool here in Socal...

By the way, I'm running a Hyper 48 cooler, and touching the base of the heatsink, it is COOL to the touch (not warm, but COOL!!!) Amazing!

DataMatrix
08-01-06, 05:31 AM
Well I've also encoded a 1.4GB movie it wasn't as fast as that but everything I encode goes to hard-drive first too. I usually get 700MB done in about 40-45 mins and 1.4GB done in maybe a bit longer.

nekrosoft13
08-01-06, 07:18 AM
Ok how's this, I was encoding a DivX movie 700MB to a 5GB DVD in 40 mins... That enough for you?

no its not enough

not every movie encodes at the same FPS, source type (hybrid, film or movie) what resolution, what audio source

there is allot of things that go into this calculation

snilloconator
08-01-06, 08:54 PM
Excellent results bro! I'm sure you're happy as all hell with the new chip. I'm looking as well to move to the core. If I see more post like yours I'll be pressured to move from my AMD platform....LOL

As for some of the people responding about AMD comparisons it makes absolutely no since. How can you even justify how well a 4400 compares to the core 6600? Dude didn't even make a comment about AMD? Just a comparison of his previous P4.

Anyways congrats on your new investment!:D

lukrad
08-01-06, 08:56 PM
I wish FX 60 cost around $400 :D

ViN86
08-01-06, 09:34 PM
I wish FX 60 cost around $400 :D
:werd:

jAkUp
08-01-06, 09:44 PM
Same encoding time of 40 minutes as my X2 4400 then....

LMAO!! YEA RIGHT!

Riptide
08-01-06, 10:02 PM
I wish FX 60 cost around $400 :D
Thirded. :)

Heinz68
08-01-06, 10:22 PM
I wish FX 60 cost around $400 :D
Brand New AMD Athlon 64 FX-60 CPU w/ Heatsink & Fan New Dual-Core FX Socket 939
Retail Box 3 Year Warranty
at eBay (http://cgi.ebay.com/AMD-Athlon-64-FX60-1st-Dual-Core-FX-Best-Gaming-FX-60_W0QQitemZ200013208929QQihZ010QQcategoryZ3672QQs sPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) - Buy It Now Approximately US $407.33

xbob
08-01-06, 10:41 PM
Same encoding time of 40 minutes as my X2 4400 then....

Just stop, there is way too much info showing the Conroe CPUs beating ALL current X2s. Don't take it personally and stop pissing on his parade, he got a nice CPU and he's happy about it.

Clay
08-01-06, 10:43 PM
Same encoding time on my 486 DX2 50...

CaptNKILL
08-01-06, 11:03 PM
Same encoding time on my 486 DX2 50...
:lol:

DataMatrix
08-01-06, 11:06 PM
LMAO!! YEA RIGHT!

Okay, I take screenshot for you :)