PDA

View Full Version : Which Zalman cooler for X2 3800+ (939)?


Mathas
07-31-06, 05:26 AM
I' going to OC my X2 3800+ (939), so I'm looking for the new cooler. I decided to get a Zalman CNPS9500 LED, but maybe it will be a better choice to add some money and get Zalman CNPS9500 AM2(when it fits to my 939 socket)? In that case I'll have a cooler for the upcoming K8L(which is going to my next purchase). If I'm not mistaken, AM3 cpus will be compatible with AM2 socket motherboards, so it seems that AM2 coolers should be compatible with AM3 cpus'. I'm thinking right or no?

Wolfhound
07-31-06, 10:06 AM
You canīt be wrong with Zalman 9500 but iīm afraid it isnīt compatiblņe with S939, in AM2 format and viceversa, look at my temps

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/6109/tempsfq4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

look that I have overclock from 2000Mhz to 2500Mhz

MUYA
07-31-06, 10:39 AM
S939 is different from AM2. So i you make an 9500 CU investment for the s939 it wiill remain an investment to cool yur s939 cpu. who knows maybe Zalman will come up with a s939 to am2 converter

Riptide
07-31-06, 10:42 AM
Wolfhound is that motherboard monitor you're using? I didn't know it supported the NForce4.

Mathas
07-31-06, 12:53 PM
Zalman CNPS9500 AM2 is compatible with socket 939 and AM2, but CNPS 9500 LED - not with socket AM2(only with 939).
I need to know if AM2 cooler will be compatible with AM3?

crainger
07-31-06, 05:50 PM
As its rumored that AM3 cpus will work in AM2 sockets there is a good chance an AM2 cooler will work in on an AM3 socket.

Mathas
08-01-06, 12:11 AM
As its rumored that AM3 cpus will work in AM2 sockets there is a good chance an AM2 cooler will work in on an AM3 socket.

I also think so. Thanks for the help.

Mathas
08-02-06, 07:14 AM
What about Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro?
From the review the difference between Zalman CNPS9500 AM2 and 64 Pro is only 3C.
http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTEwNSw5LCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==

Wolfhound
08-02-06, 07:34 AM
Wolfhound is that motherboard monitor you're using? I didn't know it supported the NForce4.

Yes, look here http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6798 it works flawlessly on DFI LanParty boards :) but on Asus A8N32 SLI Iīm afraid it doesnīt work :(

Riptide
08-02-06, 08:41 AM
Ah bummer. It's hard to find good monitoring software for the A8N32. :(

PC Probe II is OK except for the wave volume level bug it seems to have. Which I replicated on another person's computer a couple weeks back. Filed a bug report w/ASUS on that one already.

tieros
08-02-06, 08:58 AM
The stock cooler on the X2s is actually a pretty decent performer.

I have my 3800 OCed to 2400MHz (max the mobo supports) using the stock cooler and a fan controller to keep the fan at a constant 70% speed so it's inaudible. Temps are low, even in a cramped x-qpack case.

Good luck with your OC !

Mathas
08-03-06, 08:45 AM
Finally, I have decided to go with Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro. But have one question: in the red it is written 64 Pro standing position.
http://www.3dxtreme.org/index.php?id=acfreezer64pro3
Does it mean that I will need to put my case on the side?

nV`andrew
08-03-06, 12:01 PM
Finally, I have decided to go with Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro. But have one question: in the red it is written 64 Pro standing position.
http://www.3dxtreme.org/index.php?id=acfreezer64pro3
Does it mean that I will need to put my case on the side?

no. that would mean the same exact thing as standing upright