PDA

View Full Version : Looking at getting the Conroe E6700...but which mobo?


OrangeBlast
07-31-06, 02:41 PM
I plan on going with an Asus or Abit...I love those companies....however...

which one's? What is on the horizon? I know us Nvidia SLI users need to wait for the Nforce 5 series right? the 590 chip i think it is?

Will the 7950GX2's work on those new NF5 boards?

which RAM for hi-end performance would be a good choice? 2 gigs.

thanks.

shungokusatsu
07-31-06, 02:57 PM
Yes get either the Asus or DFI 590 chipset boards, they work insanely good with SLI. The real reason to ge tthe 590 boards is becuase they suport EPP memory which can o/c to 1300MHz! Which is insane for PC 6400 memory, only Corsair sells epp memory right now but its well worth the money.

OrangeBlast
07-31-06, 03:15 PM
Ah...I came across an article...very small but it shows a pic of an Asus Ref. board.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2006/06/09/nvidia_nforce_590_sli_intel_edition_pictured/

This is the board we are all waiting for:

Asus 590 Intel Versin Board

anyone want to guess what the name of it will be?

also, please correct me if i'm wrong about the whole "this is the board we are waiting for."

shungokusatsu
07-31-06, 03:21 PM
That's actually jus tan Nvidia reference board, not the Asus board. The Asus everyone wants is the P5N32-SLI SE 590 Chipset board.

Rumor has it they redesigned it from the nf4 version fixing the molex plug, sata ports, and better pci spacing, but it's only a rumor.

http://www.matbe.com/images/biblio/computex_2006/000000040302.jpg

Here's the DFI everyone is waiting for

http://img.hexus.net/v2/internationalevents/computex2006/Tarinder/MotherboardB.jpg

lee63
07-31-06, 06:45 PM
Heres the SE but it says NF4 at the bottom and no Conroe support http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=202009467&SearchEngine=Froogle&SearchTerm=202009467&Type=PE&Category=Comp&dcaid=17379 now Im realy confused :(
Tiger Direct says its a 570 http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2371839 WTF IS THIS BOARD ??????

shungokusatsu
07-31-06, 06:55 PM
Heres the SE but it says NF4 at the bottom and no Conroe support http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=202009467&SearchEngine=Froogle&SearchTerm=202009467&Type=PE&Category=Comp&dcaid=17379 now Im realy confused :(
Tiger Direct says its a 570 http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2371839 WTF IS THIS BOARD ??????
There's two types, the one with the NF4 chipset which is available now, and the 590 chipset board comes out the 1st. Something I noticed, everyone was all for the DFI board due to pci slots, so they could use a phsyx card or sound card. If you look carefuly, after SLI it just like the Asus board, only has 1 pci slot left available.

lee63
07-31-06, 07:00 PM
There's two types, the one with the NF4 chipset which is available now, and the 590 chipset board comes out the 1st. Something I noticed, everyone was all for the DFI board due to pci slots, so they could use a phsyx card or sound card. If you look carefuly, after SLI it just like the Asus board, only has 1 pci slot left available.Well I guess we will see tomorrow (nana2) Im not gonna buy anything that doesn't say 570 or 590, I almost jumped on that one thinking it was a 590:banghead:

jAkUp
07-31-06, 07:38 PM
There's two types, the one with the NF4 chipset which is available now, and the 590 chipset board comes out the 1st. Something I noticed, everyone was all for the DFI board due to pci slots, so they could use a phsyx card or sound card. If you look carefuly, after SLI it just like the Asus board, only has 1 pci slot left available.

The DFI has 2 PCI slots available, the layout is the same as the board I have now, the Asus only has one :(

Blacklash
07-31-06, 10:15 PM
The 590 could rock and if you are interested in a very large FSB I'd wait for it to be reviewed to see how it does.

sabersix1
07-31-06, 11:00 PM
Heres the SE but it says NF4 at the bottom and no Conroe support http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=202009467&SearchEngine=Froogle&SearchTerm=202009467&Type=PE&Category=Comp&dcaid=17379 now Im realy confused :(
Tiger Direct says its a 570 http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2371839 WTF IS THIS BOARD ??????


All right, the board at Tiger is the ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe SE (Special Edition). It is the NForce4 SLI Dual x16 Board and has been Hardmodded for Conroe Core 2 Duo Processors. I have its older brother which can only run up to a Pressler EE. Jakup, is right, ASUS will be releasing its version of the NF5 590 SLI IE and so will DFI. I heard that the ASUS board will be a Special "REPUBLIC OF GAMERS" Edition, and the DFI model will be its famous LAN PARTY.

BTW, My X6800 arrived today, take a look:
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010363.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010365.jpg

Also here are some pic's of my new EVGA 7950 GX2 with My Dell 24" and My new Side Window Panel with the 25CM FAN for my Tt Kandalf Case.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010354.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010358.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010360.jpg

K007
08-01-06, 12:10 AM
Will you be able to get some benchmarks on games out ><..would love to see the 7950 in action on the intel chip :D

Tikiman44
08-01-06, 12:38 AM
.

BTW, My X6800 arrived today, take a look:
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010363.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y221/SaberSix/P1010365.jpg

:drooling::drooling::drooling:

sirplayalot
08-01-06, 12:47 AM
Hey Tikman, YGPM. :)

McDrek
08-01-06, 02:33 AM
its good to see you keep your medicine handy... I'd pop a few of those too if i was putting that thing together...:drooling:

anthonyl
08-01-06, 06:16 AM
Does anyone have a current Conroe board working with a 7950 or know which one will work with a 7950? PLEASE!!!

OrangeBlast
08-01-06, 02:04 PM
So far only the Asus P5N32-SLI SE 590 and the DFI are going to be working with SLI and the 7950gx2

shungokusatsu
08-01-06, 02:17 PM
So far only the Asus P5N32-SLI SE 590 and the DFI are going to be working with SLI and the 7950gx2
The P5N32 NF4 version does as well, but it sucks.

egyteam
08-02-06, 07:42 PM
if you want a good mobo that support 7950GX2 without problems and can do more than 400FSB, some hits +500FSB, then it is the gigabyte 965P DS3

shungokusatsu
08-02-06, 07:50 PM
if you want a good mobo that support 7950GX2 without problems and can do more than 400FSB, some hits +500FSB, then it is the gigabyte 965P DS3
No one wants anything but 570 or 590, mainly the 590 due to the many features it boasts.

lee63
08-02-06, 08:43 PM
I need a 590 for my EPP memory :D

anthonyl
08-03-06, 12:03 AM
I am happy to report that the INtel BADAXE motherboard and 7950 work fine so far...

I have E6400..Intel Badaxe board and a 7950 working so far so good...just installed Windows. Will report back when I have other stuff running.

Blacklash
08-03-06, 02:01 AM
I am happy to report that the INtel BADAXE motherboard and 7950 work fine so far...

I have E6400..Intel Badaxe board and a 7950 working so far so good...just installed Windows. Will report back when I have other stuff running.

I almost got a Bad axe myself. At the time I bought this mobo I couldn't locate a rev 304.

anthonyl
08-03-06, 02:04 AM
Mines a rev 304.


http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=413196

nV`andrew
08-03-06, 02:08 AM
Mines a rev 304.


http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=413196

WTF u only got 7k? or am i stupid and is that really high for the kind of pc?

EDIT: i see u have a E6400 but is that score because of your ram ro what? im comPfused

nekrosoft13
08-03-06, 06:33 AM
The DFI has 2 PCI slots available, the layout is the same as the board I have now, the Asus only has one :(

unless i'm missing something, i see 3 pci in the above picture