PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding Xbox360 VGA output


XxDeadlyxX
08-12-06, 11:19 PM
I have a regular 17" LCD, and use the VGA output from the 360 @ 1280x1024 in the console settings. All of the games except two seem to output 1280x720, and the games have black bars on top and bottom, and it looks fantastic. Any game outputting like this seems to have good AA. This includes 15 demos and the full version of Burnout Revenge.

The only two exceptions are demos of PGR3 and Saints Row. They output at fullscreen (no letterboxing), yet it 'looks' like they are in fact running at a resolution closer to 800x600, and have no AA at all and are very blurred. I have searched for options to make them run in the same mode as 95% of the other games do, yet I cannot find it. Is this a limitation of the demos, do the full versions of PGR3 and Saints Row detect the resolution and render the 720p-like output? Or is this just laziness on the developer's part?

LycosV
08-13-06, 03:32 AM
I have a regular 17" LCD, and use the VGA output from the 360 @ 1280x1024 in the console settings. All of the games except two seem to output 1280x720, and the games have black bars on top and bottom, and it looks fantastic. Any game outputting like this seems to have good AA. This includes 15 demos and the full version of Burnout Revenge.

The only two exceptions are demos of PGR3 and Saints Row. They output at fullscreen (no letterboxing), yet it 'looks' like they are in fact running at a resolution closer to 800x600, and have no AA at all and are very blurred. I have searched for options to make them run in the same mode as 95% of the other games do, yet I cannot find it. Is this a limitation of the demos, do the full versions of PGR3 and Saints Row detect the resolution and render the 720p-like output? Or is this just laziness on the developer's part?

I read somewhere that PGR3 renders at one resolution no matter what you set it to then samples it to the one your screen is using. I have no idea about Saints Row. I just recently rented Tomb Raider: Legend and when running it through my VGA adaptor at 1280x1024 everything looked squashed. I had to manually tell the X-Box to render at 1280x760 and squish my picture image to make it look right, maybe that applys here as well.

Absu
08-13-06, 09:34 AM
A few 360 games stretch the image at 1280x1024. Bumping the res down to 1024x768 on the 360 will get them to display properly.

PGR3 and Oblivion are two that I know work at 1024x768, but stretch to "fullscreen" at 1280x1024.

Toss3
08-13-06, 12:13 PM
A few 360 games stretch the image at 1280x1024. Bumping the res down to 1024x768 on the 360 will get them to display properly.

PGR3 and Oblivion are two that I know work at 1024x768, but stretch to "fullscreen" at 1280x1024.
Yep change the res down to 1024x768; that should do it. :) I can't really understand why they can't make a tool that would automatically change the res if the current one in use isn't supported, especially now with so many people using their lcd screens.

Edge
08-13-06, 03:00 PM
They lowered the resolution of PGR3 (it renders internally at 1024x600) in order to enable 2xAA in the game, since the engine they built for it didn't support tiling which is required for higher quality AA in high definition. I think it somewhat backfired since it ends up looking worse than games that run at full 1280x720 even without AA, so they probably would've been better off to just go that route.

agentkay
08-17-06, 04:08 PM
I have a regular 17" LCD, and use the VGA output from the 360 @ 1280x1024 in the console settings.

Do you see a huge quality difference when you set 1024x768 or 1280x1024? Im asking because I got my Xbox today and use it on my 17" LCD and I barely notice a quality or resolution difference both in the menus and the first demo that I downloaded (Lost Planet). Either my LCD has a crappy VGA input (or Im used to sharp DVI images) or I should have bought Microsofts VGA cable instead of a 3rd party one (by Madrics).

XxDeadlyxX
08-17-06, 05:19 PM
Do you see a huge quality difference when you set 1024x768 or 1280x1024? Im asking because I got my Xbox today and use it on my 17" LCD and I barely notice a quality or resolution difference both in the menus and the first demo that I downloaded (Lost Planet). Either my LCD has a crappy VGA input (or Im used to sharp DVI images) or I should have bought Microsofts VGA cable instead of a 3rd party one (by Madrics).

Hmm its about the same as PC games at 1280 vs 1024.. except in widescreen. 1024 is acceptable but I can still notice the pixellation that I can with PC games in 1024. 1280 looks great, Lost Planet is one of the best in its 720p resolution when set to 1280, looks like it has 4xaa and af as well.. looks fantastic, and all look really good except pgr3 and saints row (of the demos I've tried sofar). I also think I'm using a third party VGA cable, so I'm not sure if that makes any difference.

Hmm the 1024x600 would explain the PGR3 fullscreen issue as it isnt outputting 1280x720 properly on the 1280x1024 setting. Funnily it does in the menus, but not when the race starts. I think Saints Row is just a poorly coded game lol (at least the demo). :D