PDA

View Full Version : Zalman CNPS9500 AT and Core 2?


Subtestube
08-18-06, 11:59 PM
Basically just wondering if there are any compatibility problems? There shouldn't be, right, seeing as the Core 2 is still Socket 775?

Roadhog
08-19-06, 12:13 AM
I have one on mine.

Rayman1968
08-19-06, 12:14 AM
Kinda wondering the same thing seeing as I have a CNSP9500 on my FX-53.

So, any 775 cooling system will work with C2D?

snowmanwithahat
08-19-06, 12:26 AM
Kinda wondering the same thing seeing as I have a CNSP9500 on my FX-53.

So, any 775 cooling system will work with C2D?

that should be correct, same retention mechanism, same socket, same dimensions, should work as long as the motherboard has been approved on Zalman's site

Darkoz
08-22-06, 05:58 AM
The Zalman 9500 will fit on any 965/975 core 2 duo board but there is one exception that you need to be aware of.
The Gigabyte DQ6 has a copper heatsink on the back of the board which will block the plastic backplate that's used to fit the Zalman 9500.

There is a workaround though, by cutting off the corners with the threaded screw holes of the plastic plate you can fit the 9500 without using the rest of the plastic back plate.

Subtestube
08-22-06, 06:05 AM
Hmm... is that problem likely to occur on the DS4 as well? I expect it might, as the DS4 has the same heatpipe cooling as the DQ6.... Can you show some kind of diagram of what needs to be done?

Darkoz
08-22-06, 06:43 AM
Hmm... is that problem likely to occur on the DS4 as well? I expect it might, as the DS4 has the same heatpipe cooling as the DQ6.... Can you show some kind of diagram of what needs to be done?

It's not really a problem at all, it took me less than a minute to cut off the corners of the plastic back plate with a hack saw.
Once cut off, you just use the four corner pieces which have the threaded holes that the small fixing bolts screw into.
Although I'm certain that the DS4 does not have the rear heatsink .

Here's the rear of the DQ6 with the copper heatsink, as you can see it'll get in the way of the Zalman plastic plate.......
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/4598/boardfj3.th.jpg (http://img201.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boardfj3.jpg)

Here's the un-modded Zalman plastic back plate which fits onto the rear of the motherboard.
Notice the threaded hole sections in each corner, that's the pieces you need to cut off and use to screw the heatsink mount into ........
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/3006/platewithholeswj0.th.jpg (http://img201.imageshack.us/my.php?image=platewithholeswj0.jpg)

And here's the back plate with the four corner hole pieces cut off, this piece you can't use so just throw away.........
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/9500/noholesyh3.th.jpg (http://img201.imageshack.us/my.php?image=noholesyh3.jpg)

And the Zalman fitted and running in the DQ6......
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/4471/zalmangb6.th.jpg (http://img209.imageshack.us/my.php?image=zalmangb6.jpg)

zodiaK
08-22-06, 08:42 AM
For those with the Zalman + E6600, what are your temps at?

Darkoz
08-22-06, 08:49 AM
For those with the Zalman + E6600, what are your temps at?

35C at idle with Zalman 9500 and around 46C under load.

http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/466/e6600tempzb4.th.jpg (http://img91.imageshack.us/my.php?image=e6600tempzb4.jpg)

Roadhog
08-22-06, 02:13 PM
35C at idle with Zalman 9500 and around 46C under load.

http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/466/e6600tempzb4.th.jpg (http://img91.imageshack.us/my.php?image=e6600tempzb4.jpg)


same.

Crazyick
08-22-06, 02:37 PM
I have one on my 6800 extreme. At idle around 35c under load low 40ís c.

Subtestube
08-22-06, 04:07 PM
Cheers for that Darkoz - does it all seem stable and well mounted on the board? Not having the one piece of plastic on the back doesn't cause any nasty bending or instability when you move the case? I guess that the board itself should be pretty stable, as it has a solid copper backplate - I'd only really be worried about the screws themselves, as they wouldn't have the plastic piece to distribute the weight as well... still, if it has to be done, it has to be done.

Tikiman44
08-22-06, 04:30 PM
I have one on my 6800 extreme. At idle around 35c under load low 40ís c.

Nice rig you have there by the way. :D

zodiaK
08-22-06, 06:47 PM
Thanks for the temp info guys. :thumbsup:

My E6600 just came in this morning, I'll check the stock temps and see if it'll be worth it to grab the Zalman.

Crazyick
08-22-06, 06:57 PM
Nice rig you have there by the way. :D

TY :)

ViN86
08-22-06, 07:10 PM
Basically just wondering if there are any compatibility problems? There shouldn't be, right, seeing as the Core 2 is still Socket 775?
isnt that the "recommended" HSF for the Core2 chip?

Subtestube
08-22-06, 07:47 PM
Is it? Where did you see that? (Just curious)

ViN86
08-22-06, 08:49 PM
Is it? Where did you see that? (Just curious)
sorry, could have just been a review site.

i found the link on these forums though. i think someone was asking which cooler they should use.

Darkoz
08-23-06, 02:57 AM
Cheers for that Darkoz - does it all seem stable and well mounted on the board? Not having the one piece of plastic on the back doesn't cause any nasty bending or instability when you move the case? I guess that the board itself should be pretty stable, as it has a solid copper backplate - I'd only really be worried about the screws themselves, as they wouldn't have the plastic piece to distribute the weight as well... still, if it has to be done, it has to be done.

No issues at all, it's securely fastened and stable, no different to having the stock cooler mounted with it's four pins which doesn't have a backplate either.

zodiaK
08-23-06, 07:03 AM
What kind of OC are you getting with the Zalman? I can't get over 3.0Ghz (333x9) without having Core Temp measure my temps up in the high 50's/low 60's.

Darkoz
08-23-06, 07:50 AM
What kind of OC are you getting with the Zalman? I can't get over 3.0Ghz (333x9) without having Core Temp measure my temps up in the high 50's/low 60's.

I don't overclock zodiaK, so I couldn't tell you.
But to be honest I was expecting lower temps with the Core 2 Duo chip, it doesn't run much cooler (if at all ) than the P4 660 3.6GHz that it replaced.

Subtestube
08-23-06, 04:04 PM
Just a note for any who are interested - just received my motherboard, and it _does not_ have the copper backplate that appears on the DQ6. It does have the same (or just 'a similar') heat pipe cooling apparatus on top though.